Old 29th July 2022, 19:10   #91

Re: Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
I will pm you the doctors name.
If you meant the VW microbus it was later acquired by another hospital in Thiruvalla itself and scrapped a few years later(hearsay)
I believe I can't read your PM, because my status is still that of a Newbie. But perhaps, this post will change that.
rohantn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 17:56   #92
KPS

Had to fuel up, as from KVCCC we were planning to do a small 160 kms trip for a breakfast meet.

Took the opportunity to stop by at one of my favourite photoshoot points

Built in 1912, the Book Society Building is a beautiful place to capture the good old times at Bangalore.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1.jpg

The place captures lot of Bangalore's nostalgia
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-2.jpg

Hard Rock Cafe and further back is the iconic Koshys.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-3.jpg

From KVCCC we had a breakfast meet at Hotel Highway Star, just past Kolar.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-4.jpg

The Tiranga was celebrated
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-5.jpg

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-6.jpg

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-7.jpg

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-8.jpg

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-9.jpg

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-10.jpg

The car ran beautifully. Love the sportiness and the car is a real pleasure to drive.

KPS
KPS is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2023, 19:20   #93
KPS

The Beetle over the last few months has been used regularly. My father enjoys this car as he is comfortable driving the same. The car drives well and the size makes it attractive for him.

Since I have not been attending any events for the past few months, my father has been doing the duty of attending KVCCC events. At 88 years, he is the senior most member in KVCCC and generally all the younger members look after him and ensures he is comfortable. He enjoys the adulation and he will trade anything to be around V&C cars.

This KVCCC event in association with Karnataka Golf Association (KGA) being an evening event, he request our friend Dr. Ramesh and his wife to accompany him. Dr. Ramesh had a blast driving the car and this being his first vintage and classic car event, had an memorable time.

Prithvinath K G, founder member and oldest surviving member of KVCCC at the KGA driving range, where all the cars were parked

The Germans were bunched together

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-2a.jpg

Dad and Dr. Ramesh check out the cars

Lot of Beetle enthusiasts wanted the see the car and i understand that Dad was in his elements!

Look what we found in the car boot!

The Rodricks Twins, watched over by their father, Chris!

KPS
KPS is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 8th April 2023, 07:01   #94
KPS

After a long time did a 100+ kms drive around the base of Nandi Hills

With the Tabebuia Rosea blooming in our Garden City, had to stop for a mandatory picture!

Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1a.jpg

Got this tree in full bloom, not many left blooming this late
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1b.jpg

Visited the
Bhoganandiswara Temple and Arunachaleswara Temple are a twin Hindu temples complex located in Nandi village in Chikkaballapur district of Karnataka, India. Ornate, beautifully carved and dedicated to Shiva, they have been variously dated between the 9th- to 10th-century CE.[1][2]

The Bhoganandiswara is the northern temple of the twin. It is the oldest surviving temple in Nolambavadi-style of Dravidian architecture in Karnataka. The Arunachaleswara temple was added to its south shortly thereafter. The complex underwent restorations and additions through the Vijayanagara Empire period.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1e.jpg

North Gate
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1c.jpg

The whole temple complex in barricaded, all around. Lot of youngsters visit the place for photo opportunities
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1d.jpg

Visited the Nandi Railway Station. Small and discreet station.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-2a.jpg

I particularly like this picture with the the Board "Nandi" in Kannada. The board reflects the condition on the station
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-2b.jpg

Some road development work in progress, hence could not park near the old main station
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-2c.jpg

KPS
KPS is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th April 2023, 08:03   #95

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
After a long time did a 100+ kms drive around the base of Nandi Hills

With the Tabebuia Rosea blooming in our Garden City, had to stop for a mandatory picture!

KPS
Dear KPS,

Thank you for continuing to thrill our hearts and feast our eyes on this immaculately well kept classic. I cannot even imagine the effort and labour of love that goes into keeping a 56-year old car in such pristine running order.

The moment I see your name come up I scramble to check it out like an 8-year old hearing the ting-ting of the ice cream wallah's bell.:-)

Look forward to many more photos of Kaizer. How about some of the interiors.

V.Narayan

Last edited by V.Narayan : 8th April 2023 at 08:04.
V.Narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th April 2023, 15:26   #96
KPS

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Dear KPS,

The moment I see your name come up I scramble to check it out like an 8-year old hearing the ting-ting of the ice cream wallah's bell.:-)
Thank you so much V.Narayan. It is such encouragement that keeps me me motivated. Thank you again

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Dear KPS,
Look forward to many more photos of Kaizer. How about some of the interiors.
Your wish is my command

When we opened the engine the original gasket was there. Clearly the engine was never opened for 80,000+ miles. But the engine was fatigued.

We completely overhauled the engine back to full stock. The engine runs like a brand new engine. The mechanic who did the engine, believes that this is the best and most original engine he has ever worked upon in his whole career!

Upgrades like Alternator, Bosch Blue Coil and Sealed Fuel Pump, was to make the car ready for long drives. Extra care was taken on the fuel lines considering these are just above the distributor.

The original tail light which came with the car. The previous owner had upgrade the tail lights to that of a later model. I have revert back to original

One year only engine hood, flat bottom. Reverse lights are accessories. I decided in two to keep the symmetry.

One year only hub caps

The original type foot board rubber makes an big difference in the fit and finish
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-7.jpg

The Dash. Subject to correction, 1967 was the first year of a fuel gauge
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-8.jpg

Quite modern. Panel lights can be adjusted for intensity, there is a head light flasher, self-cancelling indicators etc.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-9.jpg

First year of seat belts in a Beetle. Note the absence of a lap belt. The seat belt just clamps on the central clamp.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-10.jpg

Check the weight out!
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-11.jpg

Interiors. The seat covers are like the original basket weave. I had imported the same
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-12.jpg

Last year of internal fuel cap position. You have to open the trunk, to access the fuel cap.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-13.jpg

I found this very interesting and it was new to me. The windscreen washers are powered by the air from the spare tyre! How ingenious!
I have not connected the same, as the non-return valve is missing. Too much usage means that you will run out of air in the spare wheel!
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-14.jpg

KPS
KPS is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 9th April 2023, 11:18   #97

Originally Posted by KPS;5526687
The Dash. Subject to correction, [B
1967 was the first year of a fuel gauge[/b]KPS
The fuel gauge was first introduced in aircooled beetle in 1962, before that it was having a Fuel tap. The Fuel tap continues in most European beetle till 1967. The VW1200(Euro) had the fuel tap till1973
ajay99 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2023, 15:23   #98
KPS

The car attended a Independence Day Rally of KVCCC in association of Bangalore City Institute. I was not in town so Bulletboy took the car to the show.

Sporting stone guards to protect the headlights and give the car a more sporty look!

KPS
KPS is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th August 2023, 22:06   #99

"The windscreen washers are powered by the air from the spare tyre!"

I remembered that in my Amby, many decades ago, there was a little device which operated the windshield washer manually. You had to keep pressing a small bulb with your thumb, and it would push air into a container holding washing fluid, from where the air pressure would force a spray on to the windscreen via another tube.

Cheap and hand Indian Jugaad !!
benu9714 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2023, 19:32   #100
KPS

Decided to do a small run in the morning, as we have an upcoming KVCCC event. The car had gone for a small tune up and so wanted to put the few paces on the car. The glorious Bangalore weather was motivating too.

On Nandidurg Road the pace car for Kaizer was a Ferrari . With the multiple speed breakers, the poor Ferrari was forced to set the pace!

Mandatory stop at Vidhana Soudha. Few families wanted to take pictures and selfies and I always oblidge. The car brings much joy to everyone

She is sport new stone guards for the headlights. Just one of those things you do to irritate purists! I quite like it, as it gives the car a more sporty look. Protection for the glass headlights was important, as I want to do some long drives.

Jai Hind!

Getting small things right is always wonderful. The correct gear knob, with its perfect markings brings much joy, as one changes gears

KPS
KPS is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 5th September 2023, 19:25   #101

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
Getting small things right is always wonderful. The correct gear knob, with its perfect markings brings much joy, as one changes gearsAttachment 2498900
KPS
To the best of my info, the gear knob with shift markings came on post 1977 models only. The shift pattern was there on the ashtray cover on the dash.Please check it.
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-shift_original_400w.jpg  

ajay99 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th September 2023, 13:36   #102
KPS

To the best of my info, the gear knob with shift markings came on post 1977 models only. The shift pattern was there on the ashtray cover on the dash.Please check it.
Good question, had to go back to Bulletboy, who is the repository of VW knowledge.

The 1958-66. Ashtray had a knob, no sticker
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1966.jpg

1967, One year only ashtray with no knob, no sticker
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1967.jpg

1968/69 onwards, Ashtray with sticker
Kaizer - My 1967 Beetle VW1300-1968.jpg

Grear knob with gear pattern was probably a popular accessory

KPS
KPS is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th September 2023, 23:35   #103

Originally Posted by TechnoBloop View Post
The car that changed and revolutionized VW's future.
In the beginning, VW was the Beetle and vice-versa, there was actually no pre-existing entity or identity to change or revolutionize.

The Type-II vans came next. And then the bigger Type-IĶI's (dreamed as a youth of building a modded very rare notchback version), the Karmann-Ghia, and (relatively unpopular) 411/412's, Etc.

But whatever, the Beetles were and are great cars. My family in early childhood owned a 1967 my mom bought new, then a secondhand 1963 convertible. One of my earliest childhood memories would be waking up groggy in the rear package tray below the rear window (seems impossibly small now), to be carried into the house after long evenings out! Others were there among family/friends. They required extremely little maintenance, that had been a main goal in its conception. Power wasn't very adequate but didn't matter.

This '67-older body style is so much prettier than the later ones IMO. Indeed very fortunate to own and drive on in India.

Would love to have one, especially a sunroof model. 1835cc kits and twin downdraft Webers were one popular way to go with Vdubs back in the day. They could actually be quick.

Thanks for sharing.

-Eric

Last edited by ringoism : 8th September 2023 at 23:42.
ringoism is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2023, 08:38   #104

(mod please combine with previous, I couldn't stay up any later!)

It would have been great if you had opted for the VW bosch black coil, and genuine VW pierburg fuel pump also
Just what, in your opinion, would have been great about that? As I'd see it, nitpicking over originality / oem purity isn't very appropriate with respect to old cars actually being driven and enjoyed in modern day India. Shall those of us whose cars came equipped with (sometimes scary) cross-ply tyres make a "great" pick of those too? As owner has already responded... this is not a museum piece.

In general, fuel pumps and coils were weak points of many cars from that era, the aftermarket made millions off of better solutions, and even the OE"s eventually ended up raising coil voltages from ~20kv to 40 or nore for easier starting and better power/efficiency with no downsides, in the carb days "vapor lock" was there on the fuel system side, and there was nothing very great about the average diaphragm-driven OE mechanical fuel pump in the 1960's... the 20% ethanol blend being rolled out now will make things worse, having been shown unfriendly to a lot of old rubber.

For future reference, can the purists please try and understand that what might have seemed right to specify for a cheap "people's car" 55 years ago or more might not be the best thing for reliability, performance, serviceability in the here and now?

-Eric

Last edited by ringoism : 9th September 2023 at 08:48.
ringoism is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th September 2023, 14:38   #105

Originally Posted by ringoism View Post
(mod please combine with previous, I couldn't stay up any later!)

Just what, in your opinion, would have been great about that? As I'd see it, nitpicking over originality / oem purity isn't very appropriate with respect to old cars actually being driven and enjoyed in modern day India. Shall those of us whose cars came equipped with (sometimes scary) cross-ply tyres make a "great" pick of those too? As owner has already responded... this is not a museum piece.
For future reference, can the purists please try and understand that what might have seemed right to specify for a cheap "people's car" 55 years ago or more might not be the best thing for reliability, performance, serviceability in the here and now?
-Eric
There is no nitpicking involved in that statement and the owner knows it better .
There are many aircooled VW still running with these german black coils and the pierburg fuel pump which is much better reliable and durable than the cheap aftermarket stuff which is used in many vehicles.
Regarding cross ply tyres there are many vintage enthusiasts who pay 6 figure amounts just for those tyres(whitewall) for the cars and drive in many rallys. After all these cars are not meant to be daily commuter vehicles.