Old 31st May 2010, 01:37   #16

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Fiats for 3.5L??!!

What fiats are these if I might ask?!

Sorry for going here!

Well you would be even more shocked to hear that they are the Fiats of the late 1950's.
Old 31st May 2010, 10:45   #17

Red Flags:
  • Bonnet Scoop
  • Racing Strips
From whatever that can be made from the pics the above two non standard items stand out.

Old vehicles with such wannabe add-ons point to the fact that lot of other original details are either not cared for or there has been some jugaad going on.

Price is affected negatively.
Old 31st May 2010, 12:21   #18

@ spitfire

she also has mustang logos on the front grille and on the sides, certainly some jugaad
However, i have checked the engine and interiors, most of the things seem to be original
the seller had initially shown me some low qlty pics and i was super excited about seeing a mustang
Only when i actually saw her for the first time and took her for a spin, i realized it was a capri 1.6....a sheep in a wolves body
Old 31st May 2010, 12:55   #19

But what made you develop interest for this car. Why not look at getting the Mustang itself, certainly a better car anyday.

Since, it is for daily use, not quite sure how this came into your mind

Wuld be great if you can shed some light
Old 31st May 2010, 13:10   #20

@thedreamcatcher

I have been looking for a mustang since a while now without any luck
The prices that people are expecting for the 60s-70s are also way crazy beyond imagination
The 80s mustangs are totally undesirable

The reason I want to settle for a capri is :

1. It is a RHD, so much easier for daily use

2. Price is far more reasonable

3. If i get hold of a v6 3L capri or even a 2 / 2.5 L that would be decent enough power, i guess

4. I am not a collector of vintage cars or anythin...its just that i want to buy a new car and none of the current models impress me
I dont intend or expect to make a profit out of my investment

The 60s - 70s models with long bonnet short boot are very impressive and you can feel the engine roaring when you step on the gas

Those are the reasons my friend
I am a dreamer.......looking forward to being a dreamcatcher
Old 31st May 2010, 13:34   #21

Hey this is the same RJ registered capri with Acrylic windscreen which was offered to me for 4 Lacs. Its a 1.6L engine car. The dash is also not original. In my opinion this should not cost more than 2.5 lacs
Old 31st May 2010, 13:41   #22

Please find attached high quality files of the car. 8.5 lacs for this is foolishness.
Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-dsc01205.jpg  

Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-dsc01219.jpg  

Old 31st May 2010, 13:47   #23

@benson

dude....you the man
this is the same car i have been looking at

it looks awesome in these pics
cant understand the psyche of the person who put those racing stripes and spout on the hood

you sure the dash aint original, i thought it was and the engine too
not worth 8.5L huh
Old 31st May 2010, 16:41   #24

Ah! fiat:
Team-BHP Classifieds - 1966 Fiat 1500 - Powered by PhotoPost Classifieds

15,00,000 only. I dont know whether it really costs so much, but I was shocked(that smiley says it all) looking at its price!!
Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Fiats for 3.5L??!!

What fiats are these if I might ask?!

Sorry for going here!
yeah! sorry for continuing the OT!!
Old 31st May 2010, 19:32   #25

Note from the Team-BHP Support : Please avoid typing with excessive dots.........like................this.

I got couple pictures .......please don't ask me regarding the cars next to it...........even I don't have the details
Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-ford_capri_4.jpg  

Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-ford_capri_3.jpg  

Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-ford_capri_5.jpg  

Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-ford_capri_6.jpg  

Help wanted - Buying a Ford Capri Mk-1-ford_capri_7.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 3rd June 2010 at 16:35. Reason: Note from the Team-BHP Support : Please avoid typing with excessive dots.........like................this.
Old 31st May 2010, 19:38   #26

@girishpv

yup, this is it man....sellers asking for too much and that too after some freak put those racing stripes and spout on the hood

any onw has any info on any such vehicles for sale, pls advise

thanks
Old 31st May 2010, 21:44   #27

hi the fiat spider in the classified had an gypsy engine and not in good condition the guy mr R gopinath cousin of late s karivardhan exchanged it with another average VW karmanghia and of late to find a ford capri is quite difficult if there is any really good car the price also will be steep mr gopi was the previous owner of the spider

Last edited by imperial.s.a : 31st May 2010 at 21:47.
Old 31st May 2010, 22:41   #28

The Capri looks in fair condition and looks original. can't see and scoops or stripes. Based on cortina mechanicals, it is easy to repair.

3L at the most
Old 31st May 2010, 23:00   #29

Settle for anything between 2.75 to 3, as you may have to shell a bit to get it to a fairly decent, driveable, wanna-be-in-itable state

The colour looks amazing though. Would be best to retain the colour, or maybe change it to black
Old 31st May 2010, 23:07   #30

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
The Capri looks in fair condition and looks original. can't see and scoops or stripes. Based on cortina mechanicals, it is easy to repair.

3L at the most

I would say sir that we cannot judge the car by just seeing a few pics of it. Here we can only see the cosmetic aspect of the car but not the Mechanical aspect.So depending on the total work to be done the budget would change accordingly.