Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Ride Safe
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd September 2019, 01:23   #1
BHPian

Bikers riding with the headlights OFF at night

Hello Bhpians!

I've been wondering - Am I the only one who is noticing more and more people purposely driving without their headlights ON at night? Mostly the two wheeler riders. I'm a resident of Bangalore, and on an average, I have been sighting at least 1 rider every kilometer I cover, who thinks that switching on their headlight is unnecessary.

This term this act of carefulness extremely dangerous for both the rider as well as others driving/riding on the roads at night.

Till date, I have lost count of near misses at junctions/cross roads when these guys suddenly pop-up without headlights, more dangerous when they are somewhere in the blind spot (e.g. A pillar). It's extremely difficult to spot them on both IRVMs & ORVMs.

Has anyone else noticed this new "menace"?

Last edited by Samurai : 4th September 2019 at 14:54. Reason: smiley limit
drive1987 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2019, 12:56   #2
Team-BHP Support

re: Bikers riding with the headlights OFF at night

Where education & common sense can't keep up, legislation must step in.

AHO (Always/Auto Headlamp On) on bikes should greatly reduce this problem in the coming years, as it's been in place on all new bikes since a while now.

Team-BHP discussion (Safety Measure: All bikes to have 'Auto Headlamps On' feature from April 2017)

Last edited by Rehaan : 3rd September 2019 at 13:10.
Rehaan is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 4th September 2019, 14:33   #3
Senior - BHPian

Re: Bikers riding with the headlights OFF at night

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
AHO (Always/Auto Headlamp On) on bikes should greatly reduce this problem in the coming years, as it's been in place on all new bikes since a while now.