Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 17th December 2008, 17:21   #1

Hyderabad - Hubli : Route Queries

I need advice for my trip next weekend from Hyderabad to Hubli. Is it advisable to do this stretch at night?

Should I travel via Raichur or via Sholapur?
Old 18th December 2008, 12:16   #2

Originally Posted by windsurfer View Post
I need advice for my trip next weekend from Hyderabad to Hubli. Is it advisable to do this stretch at night?

Should I travel via Raichur or via Sholapur?
I think Hyd - Raichur - Hubli is the better option. You can contact freakster who uses this route regularly.
Old 18th December 2008, 13:17   #3

Thanks Grish. I have PMed freakster.
Old 18th December 2008, 14:08   #4

Hyd- Hubli via Solapur is about 591 km.
Hyd-Hubli via Raichur is about 530 km.

Hyd - Solapur - Bijapur is good. But Bijapur -Bagalkot - Hubli is BAD. Avoid that section.

Raichur - Hubli should be better than the Bagalkot -Hubli. Not sure about Hyd-Raichur. Will update if I get more information.
Old 18th December 2008, 14:15   #5

Thanks Condor. I enquired with few guys here and it seems Hyd - Raichur is not bad.
Old 18th December 2008, 14:19   #6

Originally Posted by condor View Post
Hyd- Hubli via Solapur is about 591 km.
Hyd-Hubli via Raichur is about 530 km.

Hyd - Solapur - Bijapur is good. But Bijapur -Bagalkot - Hubli is BAD. Avoid that section.

Raichur - Hubli should be better than the Bagalkot -Hubli. Not sure about Hyd-Raichur. Will update if I get more information.
I did the Hyd-Raichur section last month.The road till Jadcherla is NH 7 and is good except the diversions..manageable.

From Jadcherla to Mahboobnahar is OK and thereafter till Richur one needs to be careful as the road has potholes on it.A few bad patches just before entering Raichur.
Old 18th December 2008, 17:47   #7

@windsurfer, i pmed you freaksters number. Call him for more details
Old 23rd December 2008, 12:13   #8

The Hyderabad - Hubli road thru Raichur is better option. There is less traffic till Koppal. Below are the directions and road conditions.

Hyderabad - Mahbubnagar - Most part of it is NH7 - Good roads

Mahbubnagar - Raichur via Shaktinagar - Ok roads - Potholes on right side of road. Need to careful while getting back. But should be ok as traffice is less

Raichur to Koppal via Manvi, Sindhnur, Gangavati - Great state highway -- Great roads except smaller road humps... Just 20 kms before Koppal the highway ends, all of sudden you will be travelling in a narrow lane for next 15 kms

Koppal to Hubli via Gadag - NH 63 - Ok roads - Don't drive after 10pm as it is filled with iron ore trucks .. Better to drive in the day as the traffic is very less

let me know it you need the map
Old 24th December 2008, 12:33   #9

nityanand.s.s : -- Great roads except smaller road humps...
That's Karnataka for you. Just remember to slow down at every village along the highway. A couple of 'pipes' across the road will not be out of the ordinary - one before the village, and one after.
Old 11th September 2009, 09:27   #10

Is Hubli-Hyd via NH218 a good option?Hubli-Bijapur-Gulbarga-Homnabad-Hyd.

Anybody with inputs,kindly advise as need to be travelling on Sunday.Sorry for the rush:(
Old 11th September 2009, 09:57   #11

Originally Posted by ranjitp1 View Post
Is Hubli-Hyd via NH218 a good option?Hubli-Bijapur-Gulbarga-Homnabad-Hyd.

Anybody with inputs,kindly advise as need to be travelling on Sunday.Sorry for the rush:(
Bijapur to Humnabad is heaven on road. One of the most beautiful stretches with some speed bumps but they are not the nasty types. A small stretch from Basavakalyan to Humnabad is not that great. After that until Hyderabad, roads are just superb
Old 11th September 2009, 10:20   #12

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Bijapur to Humnabad is heaven on road. One of the most beautiful stretches with some speed bumps but they are not the nasty types. A small stretch from Basavakalyan to Humnabad is not that great. After that until Hyderabad, roads are just superb
Avi Bhai, incase you are travelling from Hyderabad,Basavakalyan is after Humnabad while travelling to Solapur and beyond.While travelling from Gulbarga to Hyderabad you need not touch Basavakalyan as we need to take the right at the T junction on the Gulbarga road and NH9.
Old 11th September 2009, 14:55   #13

Originally Posted by zen91 View Post
Avi Bhai, incase you are travelling from Hyderabad,Basavakalyan is after Humnabad while travelling to Solapur and beyond.While travelling from Gulbarga to Hyderabad you need not touch Basavakalyan as we need to take the right at the T junction on the Gulbarga road and NH9.
Oh Yeah. I thought it came before the left towards Gulbarga when we go from Hyderabad. My bad
Old 11th September 2009, 17:27   #14

Thanx a lot guys,and any info on Hubli-Bijapur?
Old 21st June 2012, 22:49   #15

re: Hyderabad - Hubli : Route Queries

How is the road condition on Manvi - Sindhanur- Gangavati- Koppal - Gadag - Hubli? has anyone travelled lately?

Has anyone travelled on Mantralayam - Manvi road recently?