Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 4th November 2014, 14:08   #16

Re: Navagraha temples route from Bangalore

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
You should have taken Salem-Namakkal-Trichy. Pondicherry option is way too long. (Or is it you had a vacation at Pondichery before your temple visit?)
If you go via Tanjore you get Trichy-Tanjore 4-lane.
I think he is referring to Thirunallar & Karaikal as Pondicherry as they belong to Pondy state and not truly the Pondy city per se.

-Ravi
Old 4th November 2014, 15:13   #17

You should have taken Salem-Namakkal-Trichy. Pondicherry option is way too long. (Or is it you had a vacation at Pondichery before your temple visit?)
If you go via Tanjore you get Trichy-Tanjore 4-lane.

Is the Kallanai road good? Around Thiruvaiyur it is way too congested with big trucks hogging all the road. Also good to hear Cauvery has water downstream, thanks to the rains. I saw Cauvery totally dry at Srirangam.

There is Kumbakonam bypass for Alangudi. Thats only problem. Did you face any traffic ?

By writing Pondicherry i meant the state crossed, not the the town.Its Karikal

No traffic and roads till Trichy is fine. Rest ok for a Bolero..

Alangudi road/traffic also ok.
Old 9th January 2017, 11:42   #18

Guys, looking for suggestions, please help:

1. Is it possible to cover all 9 temples in 36Hrs ? (4AM to 9PM next day)
2. Is there a particular order we need to visit the respective temples ?
3. Best route based on the current road conditions.

Pax: 1 Guy, 2 Ladies and 2 Kids.

Is the plan in this link doable in today's road conditions ?
http://kumbakonam.info/index.php?opt...658&Itemid=664

Rajesh

Last edited by 2500cc : 9th January 2017 at 11:44.
Old 9th January 2017, 12:04   #19

Originally Posted by 2500cc View Post
Is the plan in this link doable in today's road conditions ?

We, 14 members in 4 cars, did a Kumbakonam trip, in Dec 2015. But our's was a round about tour covering other places as well, starting from Madurai.
Road conditions upto Virudhaclam was A-class then. I remember that the road laying work was going on from Kumbakonam to Virudhachalam. Hence, consider that road till Virudhachalam is good.
Once you reach Kumbakonam, you can visit all the temples in, say, 4-5 hours, including the main Shiva temple.
Two things to be aware of(in case you are not) - The main Shiva temple closes at noon.
- Pooja will be performed at Rahu temple at "Rahu Kaala" which is the main thing to do, if you are doing a Navagraha temple visit. Hence you need to schedule your visit accordingly. There will be a considerable crowd for this. Buying a special entry ticket helps.
Hope this info helps you.Have a safe journey.
autospeaker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2017, 12:17   #20

Guys, looking for suggestions, please help:
1. Is it possible to cover all 9 temples in 36Hrs ? (4AM to 9PM next day)

Local travel people have clear plan to visit all 9 temples in one day. You can cover easily in two days. except one temple all others are very close enough.

2. Is there a particular order we need to visit the respective temples ?

I dont think so. Better to ask a experienced person or an astrologer. There are lot of rumors going on for such questions from ancient times. Lot of people advise without knowing the source of information.

3. Best route based on the current road conditions.

Road conditions are normal. There will not be much changes in those routes and road conditions. You can happily follow google maps or ask the local ppl.
EPMV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2017, 14:54   #21

Thanks autospeaker and EPMV, this is the route I came up with:
Navagraha temples route from Bangalore-capture.jpg

Any better suggestions ?

Rajesh
Old 23rd January 2017, 12:08   #22

Did the Navagraha temple trip over the weekend, here's brief trip log:

Day 1:

-Started from Bangalore Kalyan Nagar at 3:30AM-Salem at 6:15AM (including 2 smoke/tea breaks).
-Salem to Attur about 55Kms NH79 7:40AM
-Attur-Perambalur SH, decent roads. 8:40AM
-Perambalur-Thingalur 10:10AM (moon temple)
-Thingalur-Alangudi- 11:20AM (Guru Temple)
-Alangudi-Thirunageswaram 12:45(Rahu temple)

Lunch break at Aduthurai, Seetharama Vilas very nice veg lunch and well know place among the local crowd.

-Moved to Kanjanoor post lunch and took rest till 3:50PM, temple opens at 4:15 (Venus temple)
-Kanjanoor to Sun temple at 4:45PM
-Sun temple to Shani temple at Thirunallar via Myladuthurai: reached Thirunallar at 6:50PM, finished the rituals by 8M.

End of Day 1 at Karaikal. It was raining all through the day from Salem till Karaikal.

Stayed at Hotel Ramya on which is about 2kms from Shani temple on the Karaikal Rd. Nice hotel with parking, decent food, clean toilets and spacious rooms.

Day 2:

-Started at 8:00AM from Karaikal to Keezha Perumbalam @ 9AM (Kethu Temple)
-Kethu Temple to Thiruvengadu @ 9:30AM (Budha temple)
-Thiruvengadu to Vaidhyanatheswaran Kovil @10:15AM (Mars Temple).

After Vaidhyanatheswaran kovil on the way to Chidhambaram had Breakfast at Hotel Aryas.
-Passed Chidhambaram at 11AM.
-Chidhambharam bye-passt to Virudhachalam SH, around 45Kms, total stretch is WIP took about 90Mins to cover this distance.
- Virudhachalam - Attur SH in very good condition
- Attur -Salem NH again, reached Salem at 2:30PM, lunch @ Saravana Bhavan.
-Bangalore Kalyan Nagar 6:30PM

Total Distance 1020Kms

1. All the temples are closed between 1PM-4PM.
2. All the temples have decent and safe car park.
3. Apart from Bangalore-Salem-Attur, all other are state highways, road conditions decent, nothing to fret about.
4. Be careful about the goats and cows on road.
5. As usual 2-wheelers are idiots and give way to the buses else they'll go over you.

Rajesh
2500cc is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th February 2017, 20:19   #23

[
Rajesh
Nice summary. Few points to add.

a) Avoid Shani temple on Saturdays. You will encounter heavy rush.

b) You can comfortably cover all temples in two days unless you want to do any special pujas.

c) You guessed it correct! Rahu, Ketu and Shani temples always have heavy rush!

d) Temples are quite spread out. You need to plan well.

e) Don't fall prey to any middlemen who will encourage you to take some special pujas.
Fauji is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2017, 21:26   #24

Thanks for this note.

-Passed Chidhambaram at 11AM.
-Chidhambharam bye-passt to Virudhachalam SH, around 45Kms, total stretch is WIP took about 90Mins to cover this distance.
- Virudhachalam - Attur SH in very good condition
Chidambaram-Vridhachalam-Veppur-Thalaivasal is NH532. So looks like Chidambram-Vridhachalambypass is still work in progress. The rest is actually a belter; all the way till it meets the Salem-Ulundurpet 4-lane.

Also can you illustrate the road condition on : Ariyalur-Perumbalur-Ariyalur-Thingaloor?

What was the route you took from Thingaloor to Alangudi ? Was it via Papanasam or via Tanjore bypass and Nedamangalam?
Old 7th February 2017, 10:50   #25

Originally Posted by Fauji View Post
Don't fall prey to any middlemen who will encourage you to take some special pujas.
These guys are real pain, they just tag along with you while you walk. Real pain to get rid of these scums.

Also can you illustrate the road condition on : Ariyalur-Perumbalur-Ariyalur-Thingaloor?
From perambalur, we went in some small villages as per google maps and that took us to Paluvur - Thirumanur the roads are narrow though are in very good condition except in town/village limits. Watch out of cattle and goat/sheep.

What was the route you took from Thingaloor to Alangudi ? Was it via Papanasam or via Tanjore bypass and Nedamangalam?
We went via papanasam, again the whole stretch is good SH

Mod Note: Moved responses out of the quoted post. Makes it easier for the conversation to be carried forward.

Last edited by ampere : 7th February 2017 at 11:13.
2500cc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2022, 11:53   #26

Total Distance 1020Kms

1. All the temples are closed between 1PM-4PM.
2. All the temples have decent and safe car park.
3. Apart from Bangalore-Salem-Attur, all other are state highways, road conditions decent, nothing to fret about.
4. Be careful about the goats and cows on road.
5. As usual 2-wheelers are idiots and give way to the buses else they'll go over you.

Rajesh

Had done Navagraha temple trip in 2017 and am planning to visit all the temples again tomorrow.

Anyone has any updates on the route and anything else that has changed in the last 5years ?

Rajesh
Old 6th November 2022, 15:49   #27

Had done Navagraha temple trip in 2017 and am planning to visit all the temples again tomorrow.

Anyone has any updates on the route and anything else that has changed in the last 5years ?

Rajesh
Hi Rajesh,

Did you make this trip ?
If so can you please update on route and road conditions and also stay and food options.

Kind regards
Old 11th November 2022, 11:29   #28

Originally Posted by Capri89 View Post
Hi Rajesh,

Did you make this trip ?
If so can you please update on route and road conditions and also stay and food options.

Kind regards
Hi Capri,

Yes I did this trip. Route and road conditions remain more or less the same from my previous trip. This time it was bit tough to find accommodation at Thirunallar due to some rush at the temple. So stayed at Anandha Residency Karaikal (newly built), it was decent enough to spend a night with family.

For everything else please follow my earlier trip details.
Old 8th November 2023, 22:14   #29

Dear Tribe,
I am planning to do the Navagraha Circuit in December or January. Due to insufficient leaves I want to restrict it to 3 days - cannot rush it in 2 days since I am traveling with my wife and kid, more so, I cannot continuously drive for long distances in a single day.
I plan to keep my base Tanjore or Kumbakonam.
Kindly suggest the Route to be taken - starting from Ecity BLR - KUMBAKONAM/Thanjavur - Navagraha Circuit - ECITY BLR.
Kindly also suggest some good places to stay - budget but neat & clean and safe for family.

Any other words of wisdom that I should keep in mind is most welcome.

Kindly Help!
Thank You
Old 11th November 2023, 13:19   #30

Originally Posted by BIL2_HGi10 View Post
Dear Tribe,
I am planning to do the Navagraha Circuit in December or January. Due to insufficient leaves I want to restrict it to 3 days - cannot rush it in 2 days since I am traveling with my wife and kid, more so, I cannot continuously drive for long distances in a single day.
I plan to keep my base Tanjore or Kumbakonam.
Kindly suggest the Route to be taken - starting from Ecity BLR - KUMBAKONAM/Thanjavur - Navagraha Circuit - ECITY BLR.
Kindly also suggest some good places to stay - budget but neat & clean and safe for family.

Any other words of wisdom that I should keep in mind is most welcome.

Kindly Help!
Thank You
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route...ml#post5435688 (Bangalore to Kumbakonam : Route Queries)

The above post has some useful information about the Navagraha circuit.

Typically, my recommendation will be:
  • Drive to Kumbakonam, get into the room and freshen up.
  • Complete Alangudi and Thirunageswaram the same evening.
  • Start early the next morning and do Thirunallar->Keezhaperumpallam->Thiruvengadu->Vaitheeswaran kovil.
  • You can either visit the temple before or after depending upon the time you reach. (Note: Vaitheeswaran temple is open till 1pm). Have lunch at Vaitheeswaran Kovil and relax. You have to kill time here till 4pm as the temples open only after 4pm.
  • Visit Kanjanoor->Suriyanar Kovil and head back to hotel in Kumbakonam to relax.
  • Next morning, check out of the hotel and head to Thingalur and then return back to Bangalore.

Raya's Grand in Kumbakonam town is a decent place to stay. It is right across the Maamangam tank.

You will find the latest route updates and guidance in the Bangalore-Kumbakonam route thread.