Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 1st November 2010, 15:59   #1

First Long Drive: Pune to Jaipur Nov2010

I am preparing for my first long drive from Pune to Jaipur on Nov 4,2010 and don't have any prior long drive experience of more than 150kms. I am the only driver and travelling with wife and 5 yr old son. The routes I have finalised is as below:

Day1:
Pune-Bombay: 100KM Expressway
Bombay-Ghorbunder: 50KM Western Expressway
Ghorbunder-Baroda: 407KM - NH8
Baroda-Ahmedabad: 112KM - Expressway

If I can reach Udaipur by 8 PM it is Day 1 else Day 2.
Ahmedabad-Udaipur: 252KM - NH8

Day 2:
Udaipur-Chittorgarh: 118KM - NH76
Chittorgarh-Bhilwara: 50KM - NH79
Bhilwara-Nasirabad: 175KM - NH79
Nasirabad-Jaipur: 120KM - NH8
Jaipur Bypass: 7KM Final stretch

Preparations:
Original Car registration, PUC, Insurance and Driving License
Spare car Key to be kept in my pocket
Stock toolkit
Tublesstyre puncture repair kit
Electric air pump
Torch
Spare type - need to purchase
Water and Snacks for the route

Car:
Fiat Punto 1.4E+
Nitrogen in all 5 tyres. (What should be the tyre pressure? I am planning to have 30psi)

Second servicing to be done tomorrow on Nov 2,2010.

Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated. I also need some information on hotels to stay in Ahmedabad, Udaipur, Chittorgarh and Bhilwara.

Last edited by daredeviljpr : 1st November 2010 at 16:03.
Old 1st November 2010, 16:35   #2

Originally Posted by daredeviljpr View Post
Day1:

Can be easily done with an early morning start of 3-4am.

Day 2:
Udaipur-Chittorgarh: 118KM - NH76
Chittorgarh-Bhilwara: 50KM - NH79
Bhilwara-Nasirabad: 175KM - NH79
Nasirabad-Jaipur: 120KM - NH8
Jaipur Bypass: 7KM Final stretch
This is an easy and excellent drive.You could plan to stop at Midway,Bhilwara for lunch.7-8 hours drive.It comes to your right after Bhilwara Bypass.

Nitrogen in all 5 tyres. (What should be the tyre pressure? I am planning to have 30psi)
I am not sure its a great idea to have nitrogen in all the tyres as there is no availability of nitrogen air on the highways,in case you have a flat or lose air then mixing up on normal air and nitrogen is definitely not reccomended,plus your electric compressor also does not fill nitrogen air.

Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated. I also need some information on hotels to stay in Ahmedabad, Udaipur, Chittorgarh and Bhilwara.
Platinum Inn in Ahmd or Country Inn,Amd are both good places.RTDC in Udaipur is conveniently located
Old 1st November 2010, 16:44   #3

Day1:

That makes a total of 921 Kms. Another 79 kms and you will be part of 1000 club.

But, don't force it. I can understand pride but safety come first. It is a great route with some classic roads and am sure you'll enjoy driving.
Old 1st November 2010, 18:46   #4

Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
That makes a total of 921 Kms. Another 79 kms and you will be part of 1000 club.

But, don't force it. I can understand pride but safety come first. It is a great route with some classic roads and am sure you'll enjoy driving.
>>>

akhilesh,
I will be doing a Bombay-Delhi -Uttarakhand run in Dec, in my Jetta. Hope to meet you if convenient for you then. Will also try to meet deky in Jaipur and Sam in Baroda.

Regards, drive safe
Old 1st November 2010, 18:54   #5
MX6

Hey there daredevil. Pune Ahd is doable. Don't push to Udaipur as you say that you've not driven over 150 kms at a stretch.

You will have to hit the e-way by 4 or 4:30 to ensure that with ample breaks you reach Ahd in the later part of evening. Guess you will have to rework that plan of yours taking in to account the Ahd - Udaipur leg falling in second day. My 2 cents.
Old 1st November 2010, 21:09   #6

I plan to start around 5am as starting early means feeling sleepy during the day for me.

@ranjitp1- Thanks for your inputs. For the first puncture I can manage with the spare tyre but if it happens again I guess I will have to change nitrogen to normal air in all tyres.

@akhilesh51 - Thanks. I won't be pushing myself to get into the 1000 km club, as there will more such chances in future. This drive will decide if I will be driving again to Jaipur or not

@MX6 - Thanks for your advice. I will not try Udaipur if I cannot. All depends on the time I reach Ahmedabad. If I have 4-5 hrs before dark then only will drive to Udaipur else stay in Ahmedabad. I will make an early start from Ahmd next day instead of pushing to Udaipur the same day.
Old 2nd November 2010, 00:42   #7

@daredeviljpr: Your travel plan looks reasonable. Since this is your first long drive, start early and stop by sun set. Don't drive after dark.

Originally Posted by ranjitp1 View Post

I am not sure its a great idea to have nitrogen in all the tyres as there is no availability of nitrogen air on the highways,in case you have a flat or lose air then mixing up on normal air and nitrogen is definitely not reccomended,plus your electric compressor also does not fill nitrogen air.

There is absolutely no problem filling normal air in a nitrogen filled tyre. No issues whatsoever.
Old 2nd November 2010, 02:53   #8

I did this stretch over the last weekend.
Day 1 left New Bombay at 10.00 am to Himatnagar arrived at 06.30 pm. 600 kms.
Day 2 left Himatnagar at 07.00 am & arrived in Dilli at 09.00 pm. 860 kms.

Look out for very heavy truck traffic all the way from Vapi to Bharuch. Average speed is 60 KMPH.

Massive Jam over the Narmada toll bridge stretching for nearly 4~5 kms. Cheat here is to stick to the left most lane and crawl to the actual bridge itself and then cross over. It still took me nearly 35 minutes to do this, if I were on the right/middle lane I might have been there for hours. Once you cross the bridge take the right most lane on the toll plaza, usually moves the fastest.

The best way to cross over is to leave the main highway as soon as you approach Ankleswar and go via the town over the old Iron bridge and through Bharuch town to rejoin the main NH after the GSFC plant. Fairly straightforward and easy to do plus you can stop to buy the famous peanuts from Bharuch market.

As for hotels, I would strongly recommend that you do not stay at either Baroda or Ahmedabad as in both these cities any decent hotel is deep inside and it is very frustrating to look for the same as none of the roads etc are clearly marked within both cities.

If you must, then stay at Baroda at Ginger in Fatehnagar. If you are carrying your laptop sit in the lobby and book online using the last minute deals. Usually available at 1499 +tax for single(do not remember the double occupancy rates) The lobby incharge may or may not match the rates but the difference is usually 200 bucks.

Best would be to drive on to Himatnagar 60 kms away from Ahmedabad and stay at Hotel Landmark which offers rooms with neat and clean toilets. This is right on the highway on your left just as you reach Himatnagar and the entire NH turn right just after the hotel over a roundabout towards Shamalji. Rates start at 800+tax for non ac and 1000, 1200 & 1500 for different category of AC rooms single occupancy again. The Amhedabad to Himatnagar stretch is populated and has a decent flow of traffic till about 10.00pm so it is safe to travel with family upto that time.

Another option is to stay at a resort that is a couple of kms on the old highway beyond the NH8/NE1 junction. For this do not enter the city but continue up to the above mentioned junction and take a left towards Anand. The resort is within a couple of kms to your right if I recall correctly. The straight takes you on to NE1 and there are no U turns. I cannot recall its name from another thread but will post as and when I do.

The stretch beyond that used to be fast but now the quick speeds (average of 100 kmph easy) are limited only up to the GUJ-RAJ border. The road beyond the border almost all the way to Udaipur is a dual carriageway but has quite a bit of its left lane reduced to longish stretches of ruts. As a result you will find a lot of trucks on the right lane and passing them is a problem as the car tyres refuse to come out of the ruts once you get into them and this is during daytime.

Staying in Chittaurgarh, RTDC is the only decent option. The town however is 8 kilometers from the actual NH. If you must then take the exit ramp which says KOTA and goes down slope to your right as you approach it, the bypass for Jaipur climbs up slope and hangs left.

You could plan to stay in Chittaurgarh on your trip to reach there late afternoon to visit the fort and catch the light and sound show which starts a little after sun down. The catch is that they must sell minimum 10 tickets, probability of which increases as the weather turns cold. As it is compared to my last fly-by in August, this time around I crossed umpteen taxis and tourist buses carrying foreign tourists from Udaipur and Jaipur was beginning to fill up too.

There are no decent hotels in Bhilwara. Here is a link for you that will give you phone numbers and names of the managers of all of RTDC hotels and motels
Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation Ltd.(Rajasthan Government Undertaking)

In Udaipur I will recommend hotel Paras Mahal. Current rate is 1800 including b/f and tax(on negotiation) for single occupancy. Hotel Paras Mahal

In Jaipur the best accommodation is at TBHP member deky's guest house. You can pm him for details etc. He is a very helpful and resourceful fellow and can help you in planning your Jaipur sojourn even if you choose to stay elsewhere.

What else do you need to know? refuelling stops etc ?? Let me know. For now I am attaching a map prepared by senior Tbhp member Ramkya1. A very useful guide that allows you to bypass Ahmedabad thus saving nearly an hour and a half. Keep a print out handy for your first drive through.

Remember to buy the ring road exit toll ticket on NE1 costing 71 bucks, the Ahmedabad one is 80 something. The exit is 4 kms before the end of NE1 and you need to take the second ramp which will essentially take you on a left loop ultimately going to the right hand side of the direction of your approach towards Ramol toll plaza (refer map).
File Type: pdf abadmap1-jan2010.pdf (26.9 KB, 473 views)
Old 2nd November 2010, 10:17   #9

khoj, what is the reason for the hold-up at the River Narmada bridge - repairs have resumed?

To get into Ankleshwar town, I guess you take the diagonal road going off to the left before the flyover in Ankleshwar bypass?
Old 2nd November 2010, 10:35   #10

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Day 1 left New Bombay at 10.00 am to Himatnagar arrived at 06.30 pm. 600 kms.
Day 2 left Himatnagar at 07.00 am & arrived in Dilli at 09.00 pm. 860 kms.
Thank you very much for the efforts and writing in detail about the route and hotels enroute. I am taking this writeup with me as a guide to Jaipur.
Old 2nd November 2010, 17:13   #11
J.Ravi

Massive Jam over the Narmada toll bridge stretching for nearly 4~5 kms. The best way to cross over is to leave the main highway as soon as you approach Ankleswar and go via the town over the old Iron bridge and through Bharuch town to rejoin the main NH after the GSFC plant.
Is it a regular affair? I will be travelling on this route on 20 November 2010. So, shall I drive through Bharuch town to be on the safer side? Kindly advise.

Old 2nd November 2010, 19:03   #12

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
khoj, what is the reason for the hold-up at the River Narmada bridge - repairs have resumed?
Hi hvkumar,
Must be, as only one carriageway of the bridge was carrying bidirectional traffic.

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
To get into Ankleshwar town, I guess you take the diagonal road going off to the left before the flyover in Ankleshwar bypass?
Yes, the NH forks into a Y with the left arm going in to Ankleswar town (and it is a straight road leading to the iron bridge approx 8 kms away), the right arm is the NH8 itself leading to the flyovers a couple of kilometers ahead.

Thank you very much for the efforts and writing in detail about the route and hotels enroute. I am taking this writeup with me as a guide to Jaipur.
I thought I would clarify regarding the NE1 exit to Sardar Patel ring road. It is the second ramp on the third exit. After the second exit you will see boards proclaiming "Your only exit now is Ahmedabad". Don't let that confuse you as the RR exit is definitely there 4 kilometers prior to the Ahmedabad toll gate.

Link to Landmark's contact details http://www.ehow.com/list_7233354_hot..._-gujarat.html

Originally Posted by J.Ravi View Post
Is it a regular affair? I will be travelling on this route on 20 November 2010. So, shall I drive through Bharuch town to be on the safer side? Kindly advise.
Seems like that. hvkumar had reported similar situation early in the Summers. However during my last drive in Aug & return in Sept I managed to do it in less than 10 minutes, both the times. So more like Russian Roulette.

Last edited by khoj : 2nd November 2010 at 19:09.
Old 2nd November 2010, 19:18   #13

Some general tips:
As you have family with you, take breaks every 200 KM or so in good petrol pumps with restaurants. Fresh tea/coffee,toilets etc gives a you energy back for next 200KM.
Do quick check up of vehicle on these breaks.

Add a knife,few old news paper sheets to your list of items.Its helpful on long journeys in many ways.

Don't run on low fuel.Sometimes in highways and deserted places, you won't get a decent filling station.
Old 2nd November 2010, 20:42   #14

Raah pe rahte hain*

>>>
khoj,

Thank you for a splendid brief on the Bombay -Baroda- Himmatnagar-Udaipur-Jaipur run.

So you are back to the only city to rival (and perhaps overwhelm) Rome?
Hope you had a pleasant drive.

[*There is a Kishore Kumar rendering of a Sampooran Singh lyric from Namkeen, which exemplifies road travel - listen if you can!]

As for me, I will certainly double check on the exit from the NE1 to bypass Ahmedabad for Himmatnagar during my run. The last time, I had to reverse a bit to turn left to exit the NE1.

Btw, I have booked my acco in Udaipur, Manesar, Ranikhet and Ramnagar. The only piece left is my acco in Delhi during my return trip.

Hope to meet up with you and fellow t-bhpians during my brief sojourn in Delhi. Hope Pindi's is in form then. Plan to meet up with t-bhpians in Baroda (for lunch) and Udaipur too.

Regards, drive safe

P.S. : The XF Diesel S has been launched today in the city of dreams - the torque - a mind boggling 600 Nm at 2000 revs.

Last edited by issigonis : 2nd November 2010 at 20:46. Reason: Corrected the title
Old 3rd November 2010, 01:27   #15

Originally Posted by issigonis View Post
>>>
khoj,

Thank you for a splendid brief on the Bombay -Baroda- Himmatnagar-Udaipur-Jaipur run.

So you are back to the only city to rival (and perhaps overwhelm) Rome?
Hope you had a pleasant drive.

[*There is a Kishore Kumar rendering of a Sampooran Singh lyric from Namkeen, which exemplifies road travel - listen if you can!]
Abhi to woh pehle wala bhi sunenaa baaki hai ! I will however ensure that I have listened to both before your trip.

Glad to note that my post has been of help and I had a great trip with some interesting tussles with other boy racers and an unexpected off roading episode. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/2125685-post40.html

As for me, I will certainly double check on the exit from the NE1 to bypass Ahmedabad for Himmatnagar during my run. The last time, I had to reverse a bit to turn left to exit the NE1.
What a coincidence, I have had to reverse too on my first drive in that direction.

Btw, I have booked my acco in Udaipur, Manesar, Ranikhet and Ramnagar. The only piece left is my acco in Delhi during my return trip.
Early next week I will collate all info regarding the various options for your stay here.

I am still not very comfortable with the idea of a night run from the Rajasthan border to Rishabdev, the stretch after that to Udaipur is in good nick (average of 90 kmph is easy). I would recommend that you drive up to the border and then stay at the RTDC motel. Sorry about this but just the way I feel.

In case you do decide to stay at the RTDC Ratanpur motel, it's approach or rather the driveway is right next to the ceremonial border gateway on the left side and I do mean immediately next to the gateway and not a meter further. In fact the boundary of the two states is the boundary of the motel.

Another advantage is that as you drive in towards Udaipur the next kilometer of road is peppered with very well maintained fuel bunks and you are spoiled for choice what with HPCL Club, Reliance, IOC, IBP (worst of the lot) and BPCL all being there and looking at their size and state of art vend machines they all seem to be company owned and operated (the key word is 'seem' ). Fuel is cheaper in Raj compared to both MH and GJ so makes sense to refuel here.

In case you do press on into Udaipur then refuel at XY MOR & sons. This BPCL pure for sure will appear to your left about 4 kilometers into the city. There is an IOC (run down) pump just before it. You will cross another nice looking BPCL vend a kilometer prior to the MOR & Sons and could try that too, I cannot recall whether it was a pure for sure or not. My Cedia gave its best performance on the MOR & Sons diet.

Prior to this after you cross Bharuch the NH sweeps right and you will cross a Reliance vend to your left, a few hundred meters down you have a BPCL COCO also used and recommended. There is a new Gurudwara with a white marble facade just opposite and across the NH from this BPCL.

After Udaipur another BPCL COCO also used and recommended is after the Chittaurgarh toll plaza. About 6~8 kilometers towards Bhilwara also to your left. This has a BPCL ghar/dhaba attached to it and has the cleanest toilets that I have seen at any fuel station in the country, Shell bunks included.

The next BPCL COCO also with the same Ghar/Dhaba is beyond the Kishangarh toll plaza at DUDU 40 kilometers shy of Jaipur.

The next HPCL Club company owned is on the Jaipur byepass on your right hand side just below the last ramp that actually brings you from Delhi side to Jaipur byepass. If I recall correctly there is a cut there for those travelling towards Delhi to come around to refuel.

While on the subject of the Jaipur Delhi stretch, I must warn you that all of the toll gates on this stretch will have humongous amount of vehicles trying to squeeze into the same spot. Again the left lane trick works most of the time.

Squeeze reminds me that if you are planning to take the iron bridge over the Narmada, be very careful as the bridge is narrow and it is a tight squeeze if you have a jeep or an equally wide car coming from the opposite side. Be very patient and slow as the locals have a tendency to not budge especially the jeeps.

Sorry about this hotchpotch post but I hope the info is found to be of use.

Hope to meet up with you and fellow t-bhpians during my brief sojourn in Delhi. Hope Pindi's is in form then. Plan to meet up with t-bhpians in Baroda (for lunch) and Udaipur too.

Regards, drive safe

P.S. : The XF Diesel S has been launched today in the city of dreams - the torque - a mind boggling 600 Nm at 2000 revs.
Pindi's and its cousin's are at their best in winters. We will surely have a meet or maybe two while you are here

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com