Old 27th January 2006, 05:57   #1

Used Car - Baleno or OHC 1.3

Hey all,

This is my first post on this forum. I am currently in the middle of making up my mind about which car to buy between a used Baleno (Still need to find one) or a OHC 1.3 2003 model which is owned by a recent colleague. This car seems to be in good condition, has done 40k on the odo (confirmed) and drives beautifully. This colleague is asking (Cant really say that cos I am actually prodding him into buying a new car because I want this one for myself) for about 4.0 Lacs for it. That a gud price ? My budget actually started with about 3.25-3.5 but I may spend about 4 if I get a good deal (which this sounds like)

Now, my considerations are as follows - (Not necessarily in the order of priorities)

1. Sedan
2. Performance
4. FE
5. Low Maintenance
6. No Diesel (I'm lazy and not very prompt about servicing etc.)

I dont know if a direct comparison has been done between these two cars in another post . I spent 2 days searching for it but could not find it (found a sh*t load of other good info though ).

Look forward to some suggestions from all u guys.
Old 27th January 2006, 06:23   #2
RJK

First of all, don't go for 1.3 OHC. Everyone here would advise the baleno over 1.3 & rightly so. Anyway, the price is too high for 1.3.
Old 27th January 2006, 08:24   #3

Originally Posted by RJK
First of all, don't go for 1.3 OHC. Everyone here would advise the baleno over 1.3 & rightly so. Anyway, the price is too high for 1.3.
Not everyone, I would strongly suggest the 1.3 OHC. Specially after my experience with it, my 1.3 OHC has done 1.2LAKH KMs! and is still running strong, same power delivery as the first day i drove it.Nothing has really changed over the past 8yrs, the FE(get 11kmpl in the city with AC) and ride quality r still the same too.Nor have i spent much on maintance apart from regular service. But 4 lakhs is steep for that car. I am sure u will find one within u r budget of 3.5 if u look around. Dont get too carried away by the 40,000Km reading on the ODO the engine is a true gem and will last a lifetime so if u find something cheaper with higher kms on the odo take it.

Last edited by Sahil : 27th January 2006 at 08:27.
Old 27th January 2006, 09:38   #4

Originally Posted by Andre

Now, my considerations are as follows - (Not necessarily in the order of priorities)

1. Sedan
2. Performance
4. FE
5. Low Maintenance

Look forward to some suggestions from all u guys.
Guess what? You just spelt B A L E N O.

The OHC 1.3 is a nice car all right, but not known for its performance. The OHC 1.5 is another matter altogether - choose between a OHC 1.5 and a Baleno instead.
Old 27th January 2006, 09:51   #5

Originally Posted by Andre

1. Sedan
2. Performance
4. FE
5. Low Maintenance

Why not the OHC 1.5 ???
I think you can get a 2001-2002 model for under 4L (if you look real hard - perhaps even an OHC VTEC)

And it will provide you with all the above ...

Of course, the Baleno should come cheaper - but then both are equally good cars.
Old 27th January 2006, 11:02   #6
RJK

Originally Posted by Sahil
Not everyone, I would strongly suggest the 1.3 OHC. Specially after my experience with it, my 1.3 OHC has done 1.2LAKH KMs!
I was talking more in terms of performance.
Old 27th January 2006, 11:03   #7

Originally Posted by airfoil
The OHC 1.3 is a nice car all right, but not known for its performance. The OHC 1.5 is another matter altogether - choose between a OHC 1.5 and a Baleno instead.
Have always wondered why .. Doesn't the 1.3 have 90bhp ? Should it not have similar performance compared to the Baleno ?
Old 27th January 2006, 13:22   #8

Originally Posted by shuvc
Have always wondered why .. Doesn't the 1.3 have 90bhp ? Should it not have similar performance compared to the Baleno ?
That is a debatable question for sure, assuming the 1.3 OHC does have a 90 bhp mill. The competition has always been between the 1.5 OHC and the Baleno (based on posts by members here on TBHP).
Old 27th January 2006, 13:28   #9

buy something thats still in production ..
Old 27th January 2006, 20:01   #10

The 1.3 i significantly slower to the Baleno. In my view, the performance order is :
1. OHC 1.5 VTec
2. Baleno
3. OHC 1.5
4. OHC 1.3

these are the figures that I remember from my Auto memory...
Old 28th January 2006, 12:54   #11

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra
Why not the OHC 1.5 ???
I think you can get a 2001-2002 model for under 4L (if you look real hard - perhaps even an OHC VTEC)

And it will provide you with all the above ...

Of course, the Baleno should come cheaper - but then both are equally good cars.
You can get a 2003 baleno in the range of 4 lakhs (excellent car with low mileage). Forget about Vtech and 1.5, even 1.3 (2002) is difficult to get at 4 lakhs range in Chennai
Old 28th January 2006, 14:16   #12

Originally Posted by Buffetfan
The 1.3 i significantly slower to the Baleno. In my view, the performance order is :
1. OHC 1.5 VTec
2. Baleno
3. OHC 1.5
4. OHC 1.3

these are the figures that I remember from my Auto memory...
In a straight line, the order should be :
1. OHC 1.5 VTec
2. OHC 1.5
3. Baleno
4. OHC 1.3
Old 28th January 2006, 14:19   #13

Originally Posted by Surprise
You can get a 2003 baleno in the range of 4 lakhs (excellent car with low mileage). Forget about Vtech and 1.5, even 1.3 (2002) is difficult to get at 4 lakhs range in Chennai
The price difference is very vast in Chennai and Delhi.
In the south , used car prices are too high compare to Bombay and Delhi.
So cant really comare.

I see that in South u dont get a 1.6 Palio for less than 2 laks where as in bombay, 2002 1.6 Palio(totally clean) are EASILY available for 1.5-1.6 laks.
Old 28th January 2006, 14:24   #14

Originally Posted by airfoil
That is a debatable question for sure, assuming the 1.3 OHC does have a 90 bhp mill. The competition has always been between the 1.5 OHC and the Baleno (based on posts by members here on TBHP).
The diff is in the torque figures : 11 or 11.5 for OHC 1.3
Baleno is 13 or 13.5
Old 29th January 2006, 02:14   #15

Originally Posted by dipen
In a straight line, the order should be :
1. OHC 1.5 VTec
2. OHC 1.5
3. Baleno
4. OHC 1.3
look at the Overdrive June 2000 comparo where they had compared OHC 1.5, Baleno, Astra, Lancer and Nexia...Baleno was the fastest and had the highest top speed...

Apart from the Overdrive..also look at this link...from BS motoring....
http://www.bsmotoring.com/2002/02apr18_3.htm

I am reproducing the relevant text below from BS motoring "[FONT=Arial][SIZE=1]But again, there is nothing to beat the Baleno for no-nonsense transportation and in the Indian context, well, it beat the City 1.5 in a straight drag in our comparison test"[/SIZE][/FONT]

Last edited by Buffetfan : 29th January 2006 at 02:31.