Old 22nd May 2006, 00:59   #1

2004 Baleno Demo car .... URGENT !

Heard a lot about Baleno from team-bhp stable. I am too a baleno follower and now planning to own one.
A dealer offered me a scratchless 2004 Black Baleno Lxi 9000kms run for 4.4L with warranty (true value) but this is a demo car.
Please let me know if it’s a good deal and how about reliability of a demo car ?

Thanks guys
Old 22nd May 2006, 02:23   #2

Dude try not to get a demo car. They are thrashed from day one, without any proper running in.

There might be difficulties later on and the way i test drive cars i hope no one in tbhp ever buys the ones i've tried ;-)
Old 22nd May 2006, 02:33   #3

At around 20% sepriciation per year, this car should be 40% depriciated.
If a brand-new car costs 5.75 lakhs(on-road).This car should be worth around 3.45 lakhs.
Suit urself.
Old 22nd May 2006, 04:33   #4

Originally Posted by nitrous
At around 20% sepriciation per year, this car should be 40% depriciated.
If a brand-new car costs 5.75 lakhs(on-road).This car should be worth around 3.45 lakhs.
Suit urself.
With that sort of calculation, car should be sold for free after 5 years.

- Manish
Old 22nd May 2006, 07:59   #5

Too costly; and that too a 2yr old demo car. Imagine 1000's of people driving it; misuse of clutch, etc .

There was a thread abt this somewhere here at TBHP and all were against buying a demo(lished) car.
Old 22nd May 2006, 09:56   #6

dont go for the demo car. wud suggest u to take ny other true value car, in delhi i cud have god a 2004 baleno for 4.1 lacs true value price. i m sure this cud b a better buy. just PM me if u want help with a second hand baleno. i bought a 2002 Vxi fully loaded car for 3.2
Old 22nd May 2006, 14:40   #7

I agree with Fuelled and the rest of the members here you would be better off not buying a demo car since they are really badly abused not only by potential customers but also salesmen who drive them hard to show off to the customers.

And god forbid anyone gets to buy a demo car that has been through my hands!! What say aZa & Hellspawn??
Old 22nd May 2006, 16:27   #8

Didn't a T-BHPian in Faridabad recently get a brand new Lxi at 5.3 OTR ??
@kpzen was it you ?
Old 22nd May 2006, 16:52   #9

Yup, agree with everyone here. Don't go for the demo car. I bought the Lxi in April @ 5.40 OTR. The demo car's not worth it, esp @ this price. Better buy thru True Vale or Automart.
Old 22nd May 2006, 17:09   #10

Originally Posted by manish7
With that sort of calculation, car should be sold for free after 5 years.

- Manish
depreciation rate decreases each year, and thanks to the reducing balance method of depreciation value of any product can never be nil or negative.

manson.
Old 22nd May 2006, 17:56   #11

i guess the dealer is quite innocent and genuine.
coz who in the world will tell that car-for-sale is a demo car !

watever, the thumbrule says to avoid going for democars.
buttttt,
if you know some expert in cars, then take him with you and have a detailed look of the car.
if it seems fine enough then why'd one doesn't go for it?

haggle a bit for price though coz it is on higher side. no matter car has ran only 9K kms (if they are genuine!), it is quite an old model!

and better still, ask the dealer to get it certified from Maruti!

exercise utmost attention while dealing with such a car!
Old 22nd May 2006, 22:19   #12

i think its better to go for a new car. now i have already booked my black baleno lxi for 5.75 lakhs onroad with alloys(set of 5),14"tubeless, underbody coating with 5 yr warranty, teflon coating (4 times in a yr) with 1yr warranty, keyless entry (Nippon) and 3 yr extended warranty. i think this is a good deal. so its not worth spending that much on a 2 yr old demo car. Bargain hard on a new one.
Old 22nd May 2006, 22:22   #13
aZa

Originally Posted by iraghava
And god forbid anyone gets to buy a demo car that has been through my hands!! What say aZa & Hellspawn??
With u on the wheel ishan i'm sure "DI-CHOR" would be fun too hahaha
Old 22nd May 2006, 22:31   #14

Now the reasons why u shouldn't get it..
1. The speedo cable can always be disconnected so the trip meter won't work, so u can't be so sure if it has done only 9k kilometers.

2. Even if it really did 9k kms only, it would have been put to all kinds of punishment by true car enthusiasts like people from TBHP Hey thats how test drives are done!!

3. Can't be so sure if the parts in the car are in good condition. They can always swap parts from other cars.

In short...change ur mind. Get another used one or better still, go for a brand new one, so that u don't have any probs
Old 22nd May 2006, 22:37   #15

I totally agree with Karthik on all points...
Also the quoted price is too much....Better go for the new one when u are ready to spend 4.5lacs...

Originally Posted by shuvc
Didn't a T-BHPian in Faridabad recently get a brand new Lxi at 5.3 OTR ??
@kpzen was it you ?
Yup.. its me...