Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 10th July 2006, 22:07   #1
GTS
BHPian

Doctor in dire emergency ;)

Hello fine folks. I am planning to buy a new car in the near future and I want all you knowledgeable peeps to help me out. Before that let me give you some details about me, my profession and my driving requirements.

1) I am a Physician doing private practice in Chennai. I practice in my house (my study is the clinic) so there is no need for me to commute to my workplace. The car is going to be entirely for leisure travel.

2) I also do house calls in my area, but I use my battered old bike (KB100 RTZ) to do so. It is quicker, easier to park anywhere and more efficient in terms of money so that I dont have to overcharge the patient whom I am attending.

3) I currently own an old Maruti 800 (which my best friend teases saying its a Baleno

4) I am not interested in hatchbacks or diesel cars.

5) Which is the right time to buy a car (meaning when will the dealers usually offer discounts)

6) Though I plan to go with SBI finance (I am an account holder) for the vehicle, do you suggest any other good finance options.

7) My proposed driving requirements:
----once a week leisure trip within the city but only between 10pm and 12
-----four 200km (to and fro) trips a year
----two 1500km (to and fro) trips a year

8) Most importantly, the budget is between 5 and 6 lakhs. I am not one of those nauseatingly rich docs )))

Thanks in advance, hope I am not asking much!
Old 10th July 2006, 22:24   #2
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTS
I am not one of those nauseatingly rich docs )))
Since you're not one of those nauseatingly rich..suggest go through What car section. You'll find your answer for sure.
Old 11th July 2006, 07:32   #3
Senior - BHPian

Doc, Welcome to TBHP.