Old 24th July 2006, 22:28   #1

Ford Fiesta - Which Model?

I am back with a question... with my mind going towards CNG Lancer... but today i got lucky to have a call with Homzrad ( editor of Autocar India ), and guys my question will be aired on CNBC - TV 18 tomorrow 7 PM , so he has suggested Diesel is a safe bet for a passenger car... so i have now made up mind for Ford Fiesta... (also Homzrad told me Verna will come in October near Diwali with a petrol and Diesel will come in later)

Now my question, Fiesta comes in 3 models of Diesel - Exi, Zxi and Sxi...

First of all, is my decision right to go for this car?

Secondly, which variant is the best? Budget is upto 8 L (cant go above this)

Share thoughts please...

Udit
Old 24th July 2006, 22:40   #2

i am pretty sure the ford fiesta diesel comes in only one model. zxi and sxi are for the 1.6 petrol one.
Old 24th July 2006, 22:43   #3

Originally Posted by cheap_deal
i am pretty sure the ford fiesta diesel comes in only one model. zxi and sxi are for the 1.6 petrol one.
no you are wrong. It comes in that new E* somrhting model too here in Kerala. Donno abt other states.
Old 24th July 2006, 22:48   #4

well i just checked the website, which then appears to be outdated cause they have not mentioned any other fiesta diesel variants.
Old 24th July 2006, 23:02   #5

Originally Posted by cheap_deal
well i just checked the website, which then appears to be outdated cause they have not mentioned any other fiesta diesel variants.
it was launched last week and maybe cause of athat
Old 25th July 2006, 00:11   #6

Originally Posted by jkdas
it was launched last week and maybe cause of athat
yeah the diesel comes in 3 variants now e,z,&s i think the price for exi is 5.5lacs delhi thats the price given in the latest cnb telecast on ndtvpro..
Old 25th July 2006, 00:25   #7

5.5 lacs? it will be the petrol not the D at that price man !!
Old 25th July 2006, 09:37   #8

Yes 5.5 is the petrol base model... Diesel base model is at 6.85 (ex-showroom)...
Old 25th July 2006, 10:46   #9

Are the features in Petrol & Diesel Exi same? If yes, why are they charging more than one lakh for Diesel. I suppose, currently these engines are imported from Europe and Petrol engines are sourced locally.
Old 25th July 2006, 11:16   #10

Originally Posted by udit78
Yes 5.5 is the petrol base model... Diesel base model is at 6.85 (ex-showroom)...
think it was quoted at 6.3lac in Kerala
Old 25th July 2006, 13:09   #11

Bro,
go in for the TDCi EXi model if it has been launched as there is little difference in equipment.
Otherwise stick to the ZXi with ABS.
Old 25th July 2006, 16:54   #12

Originally Posted by windsurfer
Are the features in Petrol & Diesel Exi same? If yes, why are they charging more than one lakh for Diesel. I suppose, currently these engines are imported from Europe and Petrol engines are sourced locally.
at first, i was also confused.....i bought a fiesta Tdci Zxi (Non-ABS) in Feb for Rs.7 Lakhs (ex-showroom - kerala)....that was before the price hike.....

At the launch, the prices were
Petrol Exi - Rs.5.6 L
Petrol Zxi - Rs.6.3 L
Petrol Sxi - Rs.6.9 L
Diesel Zxi - Rs.7 L

these are for non-abs versions....add Rs.25,000/- for ABS

later when the price was hiked, it became
Petrol Exi - Rs.5.65L (Rs.5,000/- hike)
Petrol Zxi - Rs.6.4 L (Rs.10,000/- hike)
Petrol Sxi - Rs.7 L (Rs.10,000/- hike)
Diesel Zxi - Rs.7.1 L (Rs.10,000/- hike)

then the Diesel Sxi was launched for Rs.7.85 L and now the Diesel Exi is launched for Rs.6.85 L (solely for Kerala, they say)

now if i'm not wrong, i think the different variants of the Petrol & Diesel have the same trim, except of course the engines....

please note that the difference in price of the Zxi & Sxi variants of Petrol is Rs.60,000/- compared to that of the Diesel (a difference of Rs.75,000!!!)......no doubt, to protect its Petrol Sxi model

please also note that the difference in price of the Exi & Zxi variants of Petrol is Rs.75,000/- compared to that of the Diesel (a difference of Rs.25,000/-!!!) :WTF: ......but in this case, its a different scenario, its for protecting not the Petrol Exi, but Petrol Zxi!!!

because if the difference was Rs.75,000/-, the Diesel Exi would cost just Rs.6.35 L, which is too close to Petrol Zxi's price (Rs.6.4 L) for comfort!!!
Old 25th July 2006, 17:08   #13

Originally Posted by lamborghini
Bro,
go in for the TDCi EXi model if it has been launched as there is little difference in equipment.
Otherwise stick to the ZXi with ABS.
it makes sense in buying the Petrol Exi model, considering the difference of price with the Petrol Zxi model (Rs.75,000/-)......but when it comes to Diesel, the difference between the Exi & Zxi variants is just Rs.25,000/-.....so its better to buy the Diesel Zxi model, preferably with ABS
Old 25th July 2006, 17:19   #14

The main difference between the EXi and the ZXi variants is the chrome finish on the centre console, CD player and fog lights for the front and rear.
Not to mention the difference in upholstrey.
I personally prefer the more sober interiors of the EXi and the black headlamps looks hot with the black colour option.
There are better options for the ICE after market and overall, its better VFM to get the EXi variant.
That is what we would have done if given an option unless you really want ABS (which would be a smart move).
Let's not forget the the Petrol EXi is a 1.4 and the ZXi is a 1.6.
Old 25th July 2006, 17:36   #15

Originally Posted by jkdas
think it was quoted at 6.3lac in Kerala
no dude its 6.85 itself .