Old 17th January 2007, 19:43   #1

which would be the best diesel car to buy

i have a running of 2000-3000 kms a month, i am lookout for a all rounder car with best safety features, i need to run it both in and out of city, it should have mimimum maintainence, and good resale value.

which car would you suggest, budget is around 10laks.

should i go in for a second hand skoda or toyota innova or verna diesel which would make a good choice.

is there a better option.

Hisham
Old 17th January 2007, 20:32   #2

If your budget is 10 lakhs then why do you wanna do in for a second hand car? You can get all the above mentioned cars around your budget itself.
If you are gonna self drive then i suggest the Skoda TDi, its a very safe car thanks for its german build and safety features.
Go for the innova if you are gonna be in the backseat.
Old 17th January 2007, 20:37   #3

Originally Posted by hishamkabir View Post
which car would you suggest, budget is around 10laks.
is 10 lakhs budget for OTR or Ex-showroom???
Old 17th January 2007, 22:05   #4

Originally Posted by hishamkabir View Post
should i go in for a second hand skoda or toyota innova or verna diesel which would make a good choice.

is there a better option.

Hisham
If you desire space and comfort over other parameters, nothing comes close to Innova and it is quite good to drive as well. Skoda a.s.s. is quite notorious.
Old 17th January 2007, 23:23   #5

10L budget...

Skoda will overshoot this budget, and will be high on the A.S.S too... if you can afford that, its a good car...

Innova diesel is another good option... I guess it makes more sense, if you are cheauffer driven...

If you enjoy your driving, Verna is for you... Thought status wise, Verna doesnt compare to the innova nor the skoda...
Old 17th January 2007, 23:52   #6

well out of the 3 cars...u could buy either skoda or toyota...both r a good vehicle in their own ways... verna is really powerful but handling is bad n interior quality is not that great...
Old 18th January 2007, 03:11   #7

Elantra CRDi with Pete's box.
Old 18th January 2007, 03:57   #8

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
Elantra CRDi with Pete's box.

Is it within 10L... anyways why dont you see the new Indigo XL that has recently been launched. I think the topend is around 8 something ex showroom..(not sure) but definately within 10L

Godfather
Old 18th January 2007, 04:14   #9

I would say choose between the Innova G4 spec & Verna CRDi. Both are good cars with good After Sales Service.
Old 18th January 2007, 05:18   #10

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I would say choose between the Innova G4 spec & Verna CRDi. Both are good cars with good After Sales Service.
but i dont think toyota offers airbags and abs as an option with the innova whereas you can get it with the verna diesel.
@hishamkabir:
verna diesel will fit your bill for being fuel efficient,superb in performance,good ride comfort,good a.s.s(being hyundai),spares will be relatively cheaper compared to the innova.
there is no other diesel under 10lacs which offers you good performance,ride comfort and f.e except the verna.you can even look at the ford fiesta diesel
i would advise you to not opt for a second hand diesel car.
Old 18th January 2007, 07:49   #11

Originally Posted by hellspawn View Post
but i dont think toyota offers airbags and abs as an option with the innova whereas you can get it with the verna diesel.
@hishamkabir:
verna diesel will fit your bill for being fuel efficient,superb in performance,good ride comfort,good a.s.s(being hyundai),spares will be relatively cheaper compared to the innova.
there is no other diesel under 10lacs which offers you good performance,ride comfort and f.e except the verna.you can even look at the ford fiesta diesel
i would advise you to not opt for a second hand diesel car.
Agreed they dont offer ABS and airbags...

However, Verna, though a good car is clearly a class below the innova...
Old 18th January 2007, 08:00   #12

Agreed they dont offer ABS and airbags...

However, Verna, though a good car is clearly a class below the innova...
in what context....
verna is more powerful,better efficiency,has safety equipment on offer.the only additional points that innova has in its favour is that it has more space and has the toyota logo in front.
Old 18th January 2007, 09:38   #13

Depends, If you are looking for a family vehicle. Go for Innova. Noting beats on quality, resale, space and the brand. Toyota's are well known for the overall package. Engines may not be as sharp as Honda's . But Honda hates Diesel.

Only problem in parking in narrow spaces in city if you are self driven.

Take a test drive on all the three. Believe me, Once you drive big vehicle like Innova, you will see cars are toys.

Good Luck.
Old 18th January 2007, 09:47   #14

Verna doesn't have airbags on any of the variants. The website says ABS is optional but the dealer told me they will have info about ABS in Verna by March 2007. I don't think till date any Verna is sold with ABS.

Go for Innova if you consistently carry more than 5 people. Otherwise go for Verna.

Last edited by msdivy : 18th January 2007 at 09:50.
Old 18th January 2007, 13:55   #15

Verna does not offer Airbags. It does offer ABS as an option at an extra cost of 20k but the cars are made to order & the waiting time is a minimum of 4weeks+. Innova offers both Airbags & ABS in their top-spec V-model which is around 11L OTR in Delhi.