Old 22nd February 2007, 18:44   #1

2 B or NOT 2 B

Story goes like this, have an iKON loved and cared for (occasionally abused also lol) which has been giving me good service for the last 7 years, having done 41.5 K kms in it till date.

7 years and the age is showing, though if I invest some money she will do fine for next 5 years also.

She gives an average of around 10 kmpl in city, mostly with AC (since I prefer to stay away from dust n smoke unless am the reason for smoke) :P and hovers around 15’ kmpl on a decent highway.

Till now the car was used during weekend and for occasional long drives out of town, now with wife in picture am contemplating on moving to the 4 wheeler for weekday commute also (till date 2 wheeler was preferred choice) reason being comfort, safety and yes the fairer sex are not so flexible in taking the hot/cold/dust/smoke scenario.

Realistically speaking I do approx 700-1000 kms in a month by road, mostly city.

Question is, should I keep the iKON, spend on some moolah (my guess estimate say 25 to 30 k including tires) and bear with the daily expense of petrol the costlier of fuel.

OR

Sell iKON, buy a spanking new Swift Vdi, big on mileage, less challenges wrt maintenance (atleast for next 2 years of usage), and yes I might get some tax saving done if I opt for a company car loan and also take up an offer of 2 lakh, market quotes 1.25 to 1.75 pathetic!! compared to this, for my iKON.

OR

Any other options?

Whatever choice if new car, I will use it for next 5 years and yes I can wait for another 3 months before I need to buy. Ideally wont want to add another car to my fleet, though idea of adding an MPFi 800 and retaining the iKON had come to mind.

To answer the Q before posting is this section, my replies are:

Cars short listed: Swift Vdi, Any other within 6 lakh on the road price Bangalore.

Price range: 5-6 lakhs

Maintenance & After Sales Service (A.S.S.) expectations: Don’t really care, coz all are equally good or bad, though will stay away from Tata and current fleet of FIATS and Benz he he.

Average distance traveled per month: 700-1000

Where car will be mostly used (city / highway / rough roads etc): City 90%, highway 10%

Chauffer driven / self driven: Self

Whether the vehicle will be shared by other members of family: Not really, occupant number will be 2 mostly, max of 4.

Any specific requirements from car (ex. Better luggage space, responsive engine, rear seat comfort): Good FE, responsive engine, more of a driver’s car.

How long you intend on keeping this car (and how important resale is to you): 5 years, resale value moderate importance.

What say bhp’ian’s, feel free to confuse me
Old 22nd February 2007, 19:08   #2

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
....Maintenance & After Sales Service (A.S.S.) expectations: Don’t really care, coz all are equally good or bad, though will stay away from Tata and current fleet of FIATS and Benz he he.

If you had not added that one name, my suggestion would immediately have been the Petra 1.9D. I have been driving the Petra 1.6 petrol and it moves like a dream. It is planted and solid on the highway, and lane changing is easy and steering is precise for comfortable city maneuvres.
While the Swift Vdi has been receiving great reviews, it may be a good idea to hold on for a while before you get it. I have begun to really like Fiat engines, so in that department it shall perhaps be very good.
I too drive about 1200km a month and occasionally go on long drives. So, our usage is similar. I took the Petra petrol because I wanted a car I could enjoy driving, and because I do not like diesels too much. If you are open to diesels, the Accent Crdi too is great.
Did I help in confusing you at least a little?
Old 22nd February 2007, 20:02   #3

If you can, wait for the Getz CRDi. Hyundai diesels are quite good and furgal too. Swift VDis are a good bet too. Have driven a few and WOW!!
IMHO, go for the basic version of either car and get a Pete's Tuning box .
Old 22nd February 2007, 21:12   #4

Jaggu,

I would suggest you wait for an year, spend a bit on the Josh Machine. We might see some good action in car launches this year , might make sense to wait and watch.

My 2p.

Old 22nd February 2007, 21:51   #5

The Ikon is a good car, and while your original plan of keeping it another 5 years is not recommended, you could keep the Ikon for another year/1.5 years max and take a call at that time.
Old 22nd February 2007, 22:10   #6

I would also advice you to wait a few more months without spending anything on your current ride. Check out the new launches & then decide.
Old 22nd February 2007, 22:46   #7

hey hi
instead of
keeping the ikon and buying an mpfi 800 as a spare car.. why dont u wait for another year.. buy a new car and make the ikon the spare car?

am pretty sure the maintance and other costs will decrease when u start using the ikon as a spare car.. wont be as low as the mpfi 800 but still u have the added benifits of two good and big cars (when compared to the 800)

hope this helps..

tc

Last edited by adya33 : 23rd February 2007 at 12:55.
Old 23rd February 2007, 10:03   #8

Why not try and see if the Old Baleno is still available
Old 23rd February 2007, 10:16   #9

Jaggu, from one Ikon owner to the other...

My advice is to keep the Ikon for a year or two, meanwhile keeping a lookout for new car launches during this period. I wudnt suggest selling off the Ikon altogether, as the pitiful amount u get in return might just break your heart. You can always use it as a spare car.

Am glad u dont seem to have any major grudges to the Ford A.$.$., which is usually what most people seem to rant about.
Old 23rd February 2007, 10:42   #10

you have fairly a decent car.. keep till diwali and then buy a car. You might have a few good car launches. Moreover with 1k of monthly run won't suggest diesel options but diesel lovers can go ahead.
Old 23rd February 2007, 12:32   #11

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra View Post
Why not try and see if the Old Baleno is still available
I am not too sure if a 1.6 Ikon owner will ever trade his Ikon for a Baleno.
Old 23rd February 2007, 13:13   #12

Originally Posted by RX135 View Post
I am not too sure if a 1.6 Ikon owner will ever trade his Ikon for a Baleno.
I agree, a Fiesta 1.6 would be more likely, but given the budget, only the Baleno would fall in.
Moreover, the Baleno provides as good performance, and better FE, and is a driver's car.
Old 23rd February 2007, 17:17   #13

Thank you guys for the options. Have really made me sit and think more and given some very new perspectives.

Suggestions so far:

Petra 1.9D:
Like the car but don’t want to shelve out on this and see the replacement on road in an year and again Fiat A S S am not very comfy

Getz CRDi:
hmm heart is not keen, but yes brain has kept this option open, hope I see a launch date soon

wait for an year, spend a bit on the Josh Machine:
yes but ill land up spending money on gas and maintenance loads more coz of usage is going to increase, then why not go for a diesel and put that money in for better use in the longer run

another year/1.5 years max and take a call at that time: New Palio, Punto, Fabia but again will they fall in my 6 lakhs? Yeah I might have better budget but my current needs are also annoying he he

wait a few more months:
I might if I cant decide

buy a new car and make the ikon the spare car?:
As I said don’t have the space to own two big cars, even a big car and small one will be cutting in close

Old model Baleno:
Naah doesn’t make sense, advantages will be that ill have a new set of wheels, great car but its not ringing my bells

for new car launches during this period:
wait wait wait but how long, and will there be enough options in my budget after the wait?

keep till diwali and then buy a car:
is it worth wait for a discount with existing options or just go ahead now?

ever trade his Ikon for a Baleno:
Yup, have driven both cars and no way I am considering this option, no offence to Baleno great car but from iKON it doesn’t make too much sense

Fiesta 1.6 would be more likely, but given the budget, only the Baleno would fall in:
Yup already deleted Fiesta option due to budget

So as someone rightly PM ed me there aint much options in the 6 lakh bracket for buyers like me, moved a lil fwd from Vdi to include Getz Crdi for time being

Vdi has waiting period working against coz if I need to go ahead then I have to hand iKON over in a month :( any idea to over ride this ???

Moral for the weekend:
Change job make more money!!! Maybe a good topic for open forum discussion, how many of you will change job for buying a car ??? Just kidding!!!

So overall decision is kinda stuck, let me see what fellow BHP ians can come out over weekend… Happy weekend to you all.
Old 23rd February 2007, 17:27   #14

Another option - how about the Fusion - another great performing drivers car, with decent FE. Doesnt have the handling of a sedan though, and has bad resale, besides heavenly costs of spares.

Will have to stretch ur budget by 50k though.
Old 23rd February 2007, 18:28   #15

Hi Jaggu

A couple of point first:

1. Your running of 700 - 1000 does not make the premium on a diesel worth it. The Swift VDi is out.

2. Dont even consider the 800; its days are gone. If anything, the Alto it is.

3. Considering that you may get 1.5 lacs for your Ikon (correct?) and that you new car budget after selling is 6 lakhs.....without selling the Ikon, your budget should be 4.5 lacs.

Keeping this in mind, I think the best option is to buy a petrol Swift and retain the Ikon. That gives you a sedan and a hatch, both of which are fun to drive and have good mod-potential. Plus : The Swift will keep the wife very happy.

I wont get into used cars since you mentioned tax savings.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com