Old 9th August 2007, 13:55   #16

the optra should suit the bill. comfortible seating. the corolla is also really nice but i think it is more expensive then the optra.
Old 9th August 2007, 22:53   #17

He really did not like the SX4.

His choice is now veering between Corolla and Optra. The 3 lakh OTR difference is huge and I think takes care of any loss in resale or Fuel efficiency or any other percieved or real shortcomings.

300000 x 12% = 36000. and this is only the interest portion per year.

Now the extra he spends in avg. running of 15000 km/yr

Optra 15000/10 = 1500 ltr

Corolla 15000/12 = 1250ltr

250 ltr. x 47 = 11750

only on the interest portion he saves around 24000/- per year which over 5 years should work out to about 120000/-.

This 120000 added to the 300000 saved in the actual purchase price (total 420000) is I think enough to take care of any big drop in resale and some extra maintenance (Though my own Optra 1.6 in Mumbai has not given me any trouble in 3 years or so).

Any comments?
Old 10th August 2007, 07:34   #18

Should he consider the Cedia? What price and discounts?
Old 10th August 2007, 08:43   #19

Cedia doesnt have as good a back seat as the Optra. Being a Cedia owner, I'd discourage buying the car if it were chauffeur driven.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:07   #20

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Cedia doesnt have as good a back seat as the Optra. Being a Cedia owner, I'd discourage buying the car if it were chauffeur driven.

Thanks a lot.

But it does have safety features?

What discounts available for the base model of Cedia?
Old 10th August 2007, 15:28   #21

It has all safety features that exist in a car of its class. Discounts range from 25-35k depending on variant and bargaining power. There's really no base model as such. The cheapest model lacks leather seats and side skirts thats it. Otherwise its fully loaded.
Old 10th August 2007, 18:04   #22

Cedia Spirit non octroi Maharashtra OTR is 9.63. If you can negotiate hard they will give around 30K+ discount with some freebies. The models are Select, Spirit and Sports. As reign mentioned, Select has fabric seats, Spirit has leather and Sports has leather seats, rear spoiler and clear tail lamps. All other features and specs are same for all three variants.
Old 10th August 2007, 18:19   #23

Optra 1.6 is the best. The back seat leg space is really nice.
Old 10th August 2007, 18:45   #24

Why cant you go for magnum ?
Old 10th August 2007, 19:14   #25

Originally Posted by swathyd View Post
Why cant you go for magnum ?
Seems too costly. What rates for the Magnum 1.6 Petrol if introduced?

Diesel at that price is not cost effective in his driving requirements.
Old 11th August 2007, 00:04   #26

I would say it just has to be the Corolla. Aveo is too boxy and under-budget for someone who can afford 10L, and is one class under. City and SX4 (which is what I got) are also one class under when you can afford a Corolla. Between Optra and Corolla, it has to be the Corolla for its quality. I haven't been on an Optra (so I can't speak much about it, except that I'm a little biased against GM cars after seeing their brand values out of India).

I very recently traveled in a Corolla Taxi that had done 70K Kms and was rock solid. I asked the driver and he said they had to spend the likes of 3K every 10K kms and one major 10K expense after 50K and that's about it. The driver looked genuine, and I didn't see any incentive for him to lie. Trust me, the taxi felt like rock (for one that frequents Old Mahabalipuram Road in Chennai, if you know how pathetic it is), and I doubt if any car under 10L would have that kind of a build.
Old 11th August 2007, 07:23   #27

I agree that Corolla will be better, but at a price difference of 3 lakh from the Optra (for the H1) and 2 lakh (for the HE) model, is it still the same?
Old 11th August 2007, 10:37   #28

Originally Posted by alankarm@sancha View Post
Seems too costly. What rates for the Magnum 1.6 Petrol if introduced?

Diesel at that price is not cost effective in his driving requirements.

Magnum Petrol is available as per the website. It is only available in 1.6 variants ( 2 variants ). Prices vary between 8-9 ex-showroom.

Pl. check the website for exact prices for your location.
Old 21st August 2007, 13:02   #29

I own a corolla and evaluated the Optra as well before buying. I found the road noise to intrude a lot into the cabin in Optra. Corolla was pretty comfy inside. Rear seat comfort is pretty ok atleast with who ever I took. I dont have a chauffer and drive it myself, having all the fun.

Is the price different 300k between Corolla and Optra? thought the difference is less than a lac.
Old 25th August 2007, 20:05   #30

Originally Posted by anainar View Post
I own a corolla and evaluated the Optra as well before buying. I found the road noise to intrude a lot into the cabin in Optra. Corolla was pretty comfy inside. Rear seat comfort is pretty ok atleast with who ever I took. I dont have a chauffer and drive it myself, having all the fun.

Is the price different 300k between Corolla and Optra? thought the difference is less than a lac.
I have been quoted a price of 7.68 L OTR for the Elite model and that also with the MP3 system instead of Cassette player, at Jaipur.