Old 12th February 2008, 08:40   #1

What car for fiddling around!!

@Mods : If you feel this needs to be moved to another forum, please lock this and let me know. I will create another thread.

Guyz, i am still thinking about this nothing is confirmed.
But your inputs would definitely help me.

I am planning to put aside around 1 Lakh to buy a car to fiddle around under the hood and learn more about cars.
Which car would you guyz suggest!!
If i can get something for around 50 K that would be even better.

I promise that i'll put a TBHP sticker on this car.

Thanks again guyz.
Old 12th February 2008, 09:56   #2

Cielo,ambassador,fiats,contessas,.. stretch your budet to about a lakh fifty and you will get a zen.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:03   #3

I'd say get a Premier Padmini, you should get one for 30k or so. The thing to keep in mind is, you'll be doing more than fiddling under the hood alone, because these cars are prone to body corrosion.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:03   #4

Buy yourself a Fiat. It's the simplest car to learn on. Believe you me, I learnt on it and I still use the same information on modern cars (what used to be tuned by turing a distributor is now tuned by feeding in the same information on a laptop.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 12th February 2008, 10:12   #5

Yes fiat it is. Cheap to buy, under 30k. you still have 70k to play with.

do some search on the BS Motoring website. You will come across some interesting articles on racing in india in 60s and 70s. I think the author of those articles is in T-BHP. i am not sure though.

raj.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:13   #6

If you are looking for fiddling around fiat is good, but than maruti 800 is also good [dirt cheap parts, and available everywhere]....or go in for a carburetter esteem...you should find one for around 50 to 70 grand outside of B'lore. and than you can use these cars on daily bases also, once you fix what you fiddled with......
Old 12th February 2008, 10:14   #7

you should be able to get a Zen in your budget, and it'll be a good car to do, what you want to do.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:20   #8

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
you should be able to get a Zen in your budget, and it'll be a good car to do, what you want to do.
What i want to do is...read thru the modification's forum and learn basically everything.
will i be able to get a Zen within a lac.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:23   #9

go for one ambasador -maybe 20-30k and a cielo or opel astra .this could help you in getting familiar with both the old and new technologies.best of luck for your learning.
ram
Old 12th February 2008, 10:24   #10

I'd say go for an early model Gypsy. It is simple enough to teach a novice about mechanicals, and yet offers a load of fun.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:30   #11

A carb zen. Lot of options for experimenting and you will get loads of help/info from Bangalore TBHPians and others.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:41   #12

I would say go for a used M800.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:48   #13

An old padmini should be available south of 10k. That would leave you with a bit of money for your experimentation as well. hey, do let us know when you get one, we will also have a look see under that hood.
Old 12th February 2008, 10:57   #14

My choices would be Fiat/Padmini/Amby/M800. You can fiddle around with these vehicles as much as you can.
Old 12th February 2008, 11:07   #15

The best bet would be a M800, its tried and tested for basic mods and the best machine to do all your learning as you drive along. I till have my dads 89 model M800 which was handed over to me when I was in college. You could easily find a late 80s or early 90s model well within your budget. It’s a fun ride in your experimenting days

Last edited by Rehaan : 12th February 2008 at 21:43. Reason: Formatting tags removed.