Old 9th March 2005, 11:30   #16

Originally Posted by Hackett
Read in Feb'05 Overdrive that City Exi's mileage is
with in city 16.75 km and highway 27Km.

Is it true ? .. Any current owners please confirm/convey the reality

i am getting 13 to 14 in city,the car has never been on the highways

the nhc driving has been minimal, it had done just 5,300 kms in 14 months and has been driven very carefully!
Old 9th March 2005, 12:23   #17

Originally Posted by johnjacob
Either that, or the Swift 1.5 JTD. Although the Swift JTD is even further off than the Getz CRDi is.

The Swift will be launched only with a 1.3L engine. Diesel is still doubtfull as Maruti's diesel aren't selling well
Old 9th March 2005, 13:45   #18

Originally Posted by Technocrat
The Swift will be launched only with a 1.3L engine. Diesel is still doubtfull as Maruti's diesel aren't selling well

the JTD engines on the maruti's and the fiat's should be good.
the reason present maruti diesels did not do very good is because it had a peugeot engine.the tud5 was a superb engine ,but somehow it did not go down really well with the light maruti chassis's.

but down here in the south,its really surprising to see a large number of zen,esteem and ikon diesels all of which have not done well in the metros.
Old 9th March 2005, 13:54   #19

hey dude i would strongly recommend the baleno its very good and not to forget its a maruti so service is always the best n cheap to maintain the indigo is not fun to drive although the bottom line tavera sounds good though....its ure call man so all the best
Old 9th March 2005, 16:00   #20

Go for the baleno buddy,
It has good FE, comes in your budget, awesome ride and is cheap to maintain..
Old 9th March 2005, 18:00   #21

Why is everyone suggesting a petrol...when the daily running is around 70 kms....which translated to Rs. 300 per day in fuel as another member said.

Is he ok with spending that kind of money? or have i missed something here?

Drifter
Old 9th March 2005, 20:35   #22

i was in the same trauma for quite a while , i was confused between the baleno and the ikon , and i finally booked an ikon flair as this car is just going to be meant for spare car use so fuel eff. was not a great issue as such ,
staying in your budget i would go in for a baleno or the ikon flair if i wanted a petrol ,and in the diesel there is nothing better than the indigo according to me due to the value for money it offers , infact if i 'm not mistaken an indigo diesel is faster than the ikon in a 0-100 run which was really surprising .

manson .
Old 10th March 2005, 00:27   #23

Originally Posted by v_s_natarajan
take a test drive in Palio disel.
if somebody says about FIAT AFTER SALES SERVICE, ask them whether they own a fiat.
Pailo D is a great car.
or evej a petra Disel
i agree man, the palio diesel at 5.4 lakhs on road mumbai - the petra diesel at6.5 L (or thereabouts). there's nothing that comes close - except if you up your budget and go for the accent crdi

are u driving the car yourself? then the palio d is a superb bet - please check it out before buying anything else - and as always - lets know what you choose
Old 10th March 2005, 14:55   #24

Well if you want diesel, the PalioD rules unless you can find a pristine condition adventure.
Old 17th March 2005, 17:22   #25

Originally Posted by Hackett
Dear Experts

Your expert views and guidance needed to decide a car within the following parameters. ( for Mumbai)

1. Budget between 5 - 6.25 lakhs
2. FE (Mostly city drive of 70Km per day)
3. Ride quality
4. Maintenance
5. Resale value

Will any vehicle steal the top number, if budget is streched say additional 10%.

Please guide.

My personal recommendation would be the Indigo Diesel, for the following reasons:

1. Budget - Buy a Pulsar 180 with the savings?

2. FE - Took my friends car for a trip recently and it gave about 18 kmpl on the highway.

3. Ride Quality - Is pretty good.

4. Maintenance - Apparantly the spares are dirty cheap.

5. Resale - Dunno about this, mate.

Its also got more than adequate power, though I hate that vague gearbox. Plenty of space, comfort.

Make it a point to talk to existing owners. Those who havent owned one are generally disparaging in their remarks.

Steer

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com