Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th October 2005, 18:05   #1

Advice For A New Car

I have been driving a Cielo for the last 5 years. Its time to change my car since getting spare parts is a major problem. I have scouted about but would prefer to hold my veiws so that I can get un biased veiws from all you fellow BHPians for a NEW car.

I really liked the Cielo. It has an amazing road grip (more noticable on mountain road from Jammu to Srinagar), good acceleration and amazing braking ( had very close shaves twice at speed in excess of 130. Slammed the brakes, tyres smoked but the car did not tail gate even a bit). I drive about 5 kms daily when in Jammu but I do go out on 2000 Kms trips twice a month.

Economy is not really of prime importance as much as road holding, braking and ride comfort.

My budget is Rs.5.25 - 5.75 lacs Ex-showroom road. I am not much of a buff for accessories other than a decent music system.

There is no Honda or Fiat dealership at Jammu so a no no to their cars.

All advice is welcome.
Old 12th October 2005, 18:09   #2
Senior - BHPian

Baleno it is, from the sound of it. I think you'll find that a majority of the replies concur...

PS: With the stock clearance offer, the Ikon 1.6 is a damn good candidate, too. Especially since you will have fun driving around on the winding roads of your state...

Last edited by Steeroid : 12th October 2005 at 18:19.
Old 12th October 2005, 18:17   #3
Senior - BHPian

Baleno baleno baleno......great ride comfort,brakes,power(low end torque..great for mountain roads)Grip is ok on stock tyres,went to ooty last week and the stock tyres(see my avataar) made no fuss on the hills
my 2 cents

binz

Last edited by binz : 12th October 2005 at 18:18.
Old 12th October 2005, 18:58   #4
BHPian