Old 4th February 2009, 00:53   #31

I am not sure but I think Magnum Optra does not have the equivalent name and status as enjoyed by Honda, Toyota and Skoda.
Old 4th February 2009, 01:00   #32

you will get a used, (preowned) c220 cdi (diesel) merc 'c' class from a merc showroom with full 1 year warrantee (in pristine touched up condition) with service history, etc , done around 25-30k kilometers for 15lakhs. This is mumbai price, will be lower in delhi.
Old 4th February 2009, 01:08   #33

you need to see the sonata transform. it fits the bill perfectly but might go a little bit over budget. a huge rear seat and a 150bhp diesel.
Old 4th February 2009, 03:00   #34

Simply go for the altis as it is comfortable and reliable.
Old 4th February 2009, 05:02   #35

I think the best bet is the Skoda Laura Ambiente version. It will be a tad more than 14 lac OTR, but according to me its the best car in the category. Loaded with features, safe, fast and Diesel.

AC
Old 4th February 2009, 05:30   #36

Specific requirements make it simple for the team to respond on. With most of the run being rear seat, you dont really seem to be looking towards too much of a performance car.

Here are some details on the choice you should have available to you:

>> Rear Seat Comfort Forte:
New Cars fitting budget:-
Toyota Altis, Chevrolet Optra Magnum, Hyundai Sonata Transform.

Used Cars fitting budget:-
Merc C class, Toyota Camry, Skoda Superb, Nissan Teana (Not sure if this will fit budget)

>> Fuel Economy Forte:
Petrol within budget:-
Toyota Altis, Toyota Camry 2nd hand (Within its class)

Diesel within budget:-
Chevrolet Optra Magnum, Skoda Superb, Hyundai Sonata Transform

>> Maintenance Cost Forte:
Petrol within budget:-
Toyota Altis, Toyota Camry (Within its class)

Diesel within budget:-
Chevrolet Optra Magnum, Skoda Superb

Hope BHPians agree with the above and help make a thought out choice. I personally would have gone for a good 2nd hand Camry if I can find one for sale at the price that is!!
Old 4th February 2009, 06:04   #37

Originally Posted by ahuja365 View Post
Simply go for the altis as it is comfortable and reliable.
+1. You should get the Altis. Will fit your bill
Old 4th February 2009, 08:15   #38

Don't go for the Hybrid.

It will ruin the biggest USP of the Civic - the crackin' engine. And you won't get much more mileage out of it either.
Old 4th February 2009, 09:10   #39

Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Don't go for the Hybrid.

It will ruin the biggest USP of the Civic - the crackin' engine. And you won't get much more mileage out of it either.
He doesn't care about the engine that much since he will be chauffeured around... Mileage is much better than the regular civics...
Old 4th February 2009, 10:12   #40

Originally Posted by goyalvimal View Post
I am having 5 yr old Skoda at present, want to replace. Considering Skoda, Toyota Altis and Honda Civic Hybrid. I have a driver, car runs about 2000-2500 kms. p.m. on an average. Rear seat comfort, Fuel efficiency and maintenance are my preferred considerations amongst others. Am open to 1-2 year used car also which may bring Skoda Laura within budget. Wud appreciate comments from experts to help me make choice.
Used cars: Low mileage Accords/Laura; C Class.

New Cars: Sonata Transform and Altis seem like the only good options unless you wanna Look at the new Innova

Elito

Last edited by Elito11 : 4th February 2009 at 10:14.
Old 4th February 2009, 10:23   #41

I don't think the Hybrid is available at the previously advertised price of 13 odd lakhs.

However, with such high running you def require a diesel. The Laura or Jetta would be idle.

Between the Civic and Altis, I'd recommend the Altis because it's higher seating makes it more comfy. The facelifted Innova would also be an excellent option if you are in the back seat always.

Last edited by Sahil : 4th February 2009 at 10:26.
Old 4th February 2009, 10:39   #42

I would recommend a new Sonata Diesel! Barring the brand image, its got everything that suits your requirement to a T
Old 4th February 2009, 11:27   #43

toyota altis - its the best package in the budget

only other alternative on account of its diesel variant would be the sonata transform diesel manual transmission
Old 4th February 2009, 11:47   #44

The Sonata Embera was a good car and with the new facelifted Transform I'd recommend it over the others now easily - Petrol is 13.9 ex, Diesel is 14.9 - spacious and comfortable over long drives!
Old 4th February 2009, 13:01   #45

If you have a more highway run, civic hybrid will not give more milage (as its engine stops during breaks.

Instead if you prefer a petrol car go for Altis. (think of CNG??)

In diesel, if you want to keep car for long (& not worrying about resale value) than Sonata diesel is the car for you.