Old 14th February 2021, 13:06   #91

Re: Startup shenanigans

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
I actually found getting a like minded industrialist to invest a more sensible approach. They have a longer horizon, understand business and don't nit pik with spread sheets.
Will get in touch with you when the time is right
Red Liner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2021, 16:47   #92

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Did Mafia invest in non-profit making ideas or unproven ideas? Didn't think so. They wouldn't invest in loss making ventures. Money laundering firms are an exception though.
Man what does one have to do around here to get a joke noticed?!

You may be thinking about Tencent, Sequoia Capital or Softbank.
And why would you assume I was thinking that?

But there tons of investors who invest in $200K to $1M range per company, and never more than that.
Yes I would know. I have these people on my cap table.

I assume you posted the hot take on how VCs (and anyone else) invest and think of exit horizons for the forum's general knowledge. I plan my own investments with similar multiple goals and exit horizons, and I would think any investor does the same.

Congratulations on bootstrapping to profitability. It is a rare achievement and one that is worthy of admiration.
v1p3r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2021, 17:04   #93

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
I assume you posted the hot take on how VCs (and anyone else) invest and think of exit horizons for the forum's general knowledge. I plan my own investments with similar multiple goals and exit horizons, and I would think any investor does the same.
Then I will not argue with you. I might need you one day.

Congratulations on bootstrapping to profitability. It is a rare achievement and one that is worthy of admiration.
Thanks, the next challenge is to stability the cashflow. After that we have to address growth. It never ends.
Samurai is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2021, 17:20   #94

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Will get in touch with you when the time is right
Dil bada hai par jeb khali hai {the heart is big but the pocket is empty}
V.Narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th February 2021, 18:04   #95

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Dil bada hai par jeb khali hai {the heart is big but the pocket is empty}
Sir, experience dil mein hota hai, jeb mein nahi.

Then I will not argue with you. I might need you one day.
Me and my meagre monthly salary are always at your disposal, Samurai san.
v1p3r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 12:12   #96

Some products need capital to scale. Some do not. To tar all with the same brush in not advisable.
Agree broadly that its best not to generalize. A company like Tesla / SpaceX needs a lot of money to grow.

But we need to really review the general tendency of investors and entrepreneurs of investment led growth. It can really go wrong.

For instance, OYO is a car crash waiting to happen. It's original idea was brilliant - creating a market for the middle-income traveller which the likes of ITC were happy to ignore for a long while. But Softbank's mad money has now pushed it to go to USA, Japan and I believe EU as well.

Insanity is all I can say.
Spaced Out is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 10:02   #97

"More than just losing money, it's their brazenness that hurts. These guys have no moral compass and took us all for a ride,” said angel investor Doshi, Parekh’s friend, who works in Malaysia for tourism company Tui.

"Even today, I'm not sure why he (Vaibhav Jain) did it. He could have made the same money legally easily. He's a smooth talking cold blooded scamster,” he added.
Moneycontrol.com: Fake customers, dodgy deals, and angry investors—inside a startup’s shenanigans.
https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/bu...s-7143511.html
Red Liner is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2022, 17:50   #98

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/bu...h-8211161.html

Why do these founders think they have to be bad boys in order to be really successful?
Samurai is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th March 2022, 19:06   #99

Why do these founders think they have to be bad boys in order to be really successful?
I think two lines in the article sums it up

Some believe that only dynamic and belligerent leaders can grow fast and build large companies, and consider everything else worthy collateral damage.
Early on, we decided that we will play the high-risk, high-reward game. We will not be a ‘good company.’ Either it has to be a great company or it has to be an utter failure
That is what VC's want. Most of us want to build up a firm the sane, sustainable way, probably with self/3F(friends, family and fools equity)/debt funded growth. If you want to scale up crazy fast, you need to deal with the devil, and to meet their terms, you need to be crazy yourself.

The sad part is now this nonsense is going mainstream because larger firms have to play this same dirty game to compete.

Last edited by greenhorn : 18th March 2022 at 19:08.
greenhorn is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2022, 19:36   #100

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
The sad part is now this nonsense is going mainstream because larger firms have to play this same dirty game to compete.
Let him do whatever in his company. But bullying other companies, destroying those who don't yield to satiate his ego, gives me the Mogambo vibe.
Old 20th March 2022, 16:33   #101

Funny piece. Made me chuckle. In our startup consulting firm, I seek to avoid working with EdTech firms that are focused on individual coaching/teaching. We only have three EdTech clients and all follow some form of hybrid model. Each operates in a different category of EdTechs as well so are not competitors as well.

On a side note -

As our clients work closely with schools and in two cases focus on Tier 2/3/ regions, we have learnt a lot about the state of education in those regions. Very very depressing. We are heading for a major crisis in North India, decreasing government and private jobs and a growing mass of increasing and unemployable youth population.
Spaced Out is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2022, 23:09   #102

Originally Posted by Spaced Out View Post
Funny piece. Made me chuckle. In our startup consulting firm, I seek to avoid working with EdTech firms that are focused on individual coaching/teaching. We only have three EdTech clients and all follow some form of hybrid model. Each operates in a different category of EdTechs as well so are not competitors as well.

On a side note -

As our clients work closely with schools and in two cases focus on Tier 2/3/ regions, we have learnt a lot about the state of education in those regions. Very very depressing. We are heading for a major crisis in North India, decreasing government and private jobs and a growing mass of increasing and unemployable youth population.
When were fresh graduates in India ever employable straight outta school?
hothatchaway is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 21st March 2022, 01:27   #103

Originally Posted by hothatchaway View Post
When were fresh graduates in India ever employable straight outta school?
We have a long running thread on that topic!

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shift...graduates.html (IT Industry and Employability of Technical Graduates)
greenhorn is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2022, 20:37   #104

Just read this news about major layoffs as cost cutting exercise at Unacademy. It's time to deliver results/returns to VCs???
Old 19th April 2022, 19:03   #105

Originally Posted by thanixravindran View Post
Just read this news about major layoffs as cost cutting exercise at Unacademy. It's time to deliver results/returns to VCs???
Similar things are happening at Byjus.

https://www.deccanherald.com/busines...a-1101709.html

Finally some sanity is coming back to ed-tech world.