Old 27th July 2007, 15:36   #16

Looks more like a planned publicity stunt to me.

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
I can just see the underworld types rubbing their hands in glee!
That's a sure possibility.
Old 27th July 2007, 16:19   #17

has anyone tried calling it....the response is written below.

"Please check the number you have dial"

then Number error message comes.
Old 27th July 2007, 16:38   #18

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
has anyone tried calling it....the response is written below.

"Please check the number you have dial"

then Number error message comes.
You actually tried calling that number?
Old 27th July 2007, 16:43   #19

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
You actually tried calling that number?
I have a special private number. I thought to give it a try....
Old 27th July 2007, 16:52   #20

I thought to give it a try....
or to give a miss call.
Old 27th July 2007, 22:03   #21

Sheer waste of money!!! HUTCH should give a party to it's employees..
Old 27th July 2007, 22:07   #22

Heard about some rich guy spending over 8 million INR at a bar for 18 or 20 fiends in Uk yesterday, and now this.

manson.
Old 27th July 2007, 23:03   #23
SRK

Too much money can make people go crazy..

By the way if he can buy a 15L no. what cars must he be using?
They Only have to be exotics na??(hehehe)

I think this is Complete Show-off..If he really wanted to use that money why not do something good (like helping the needy).
Old 28th July 2007, 15:54   #24

This is exactly what he may have wanted = publicity! And he pretty much got it, didnt he? Top front page article on the Times of India, a thread on an automobile forum....people are obviously talking about him.

Then there is another chap on the TOI today who has spent close to a crore on VIP numbers for his 85 SIM cards. Sigh!
Old 28th July 2007, 16:40   #25

Absolutely useless stuff to spend 15L on !! I guess he will keep this number to be used for his circle of friends & family. So, if you or me call, definitely "check the number you have dialled". Otherwise, just think how many calls he will be getting, as the number was published in the front page of times of india.
Old 28th July 2007, 16:51   #26

this type of number is available for 50k...

99999999x9
9999999x99
999999x999

I think the above guy got ripped off....
id take that number with a 6 in between lol so its like 9999999969 wicked

never say india poor this is the proof
Old 28th July 2007, 17:01   #27

The first thing that came to my mind after reading this story here and seeing it on tv was what a waste of money. I wish I had 15 lakhs here to put up in my work!
Old 28th July 2007, 17:12   #28

A similar story appeared today of a guy who has 86 special numbers,
The amount he spent = 1.5cr!
Old 28th July 2007, 17:17   #29

"Punjab man owns 87 cell nos worth Rs 1.5 cr " - This is what i read in todays paper after getting over the fact that some 1 paid 15 Lakhs on a certain number .

I just wish these stupid people put the same amount of money in really really sweet cars .
Old 28th July 2007, 17:27   #30

I think the hutch guys must have played smart and put in a couple of thier own men in the bidding to dent the ego of Mr.Moneybags Nice strategy though. Arun Sarin is out to convince the vodafone shareholders that the India investment was well worth it