Old 19th March 2008, 10:05   #1

'Hindi' for throttle body

The other day when i iasked my local mechanic to check and clean the throttle body, he had no clue!

Since I was in the very same boat and did not know where it is located i could not help hime either

Now, he asked me what is it called in 'Hindi' !! I did not know that either

So, please help me out with the 'Hindi'/'Bengali for Throttle body.
P.S Where is it located?
Old 19th March 2008, 10:41   #2

If both of you guys don't have a clue i'd say just leave it alone.

Take it to an authorised service center or some other workshop where they know what a throttle body is.
Old 19th March 2008, 10:56   #3

@dhiman, pm @BlackPearl if you want to do this at a non-Honda workshop. He can connect you to Joydeb-da's garage. IIRC, they can do this.
Old 19th March 2008, 11:04   #4

even you can get it done by Suman (Shazid @ Alok Automobiles, Marutibagan) - PM toiingg - he owns a OHC as well.
Old 19th March 2008, 11:15   #5

Originally Posted by dhiman View Post
The other day when i iasked my local mechanic to check and clean the throttle body, he had no clue!
Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
If both of you guys don't have a clue i'd say just leave it alone.
Honestly, I second Sankar.

Seriously, what kind of mechanic wouldn't know what a throttle body is !!??!!

Yaar, accelerator is accelerator and brake is brake, in English AND in Hindi
Old 19th March 2008, 11:17   #6

Planet_Rocker

This is the same place where Toiing gets his OHC serviced - I think he should be knowing about throttle body cleaning; only that he knows it by some other name maybe.
Old 19th March 2008, 13:24   #7

Sometimes what happens is that the local mechanic doesn't know the exact word but know a broken version of the part. In my native place I've seen that the mechanic won't understand if you say Shock-absorber but you need to say it as socket-jober . So there may be a local word for Throttle Body also.
Old 19th March 2008, 15:40   #8

Arre bhai seedha bolo na ki "air filter to hata kar uske neeche wali body ko saaf kar do"

Some mechanics also understand butterfly valve, so tell him to clean the butterfly valve assembly.

Last edited by dadu : 19th March 2008 at 15:41.
Old 19th March 2008, 15:57   #9

Many years ago, my brother in law bought a Maruti 800. He is a person deeply interested in how things work and he even had a Maruti service manual.

When he gave his car for regular repair, Wlson's man told him that his yoram was halfway spoiled and it would be safer to replace it.
Not wanting to show his ignorance, he nodded and left, saying he would return with the required parts the next day.

That evening he leafed through every page of the manual, looking for a Yoram. He even called me, but I knew even less about these things.

The next morning he went to Dhiraj motor stores and terrified of having people laugh at him, he winced said "Maruti 800 ka Yoram dena"

Promptly the salesman pulled out the lower arm from the shelf and made a bill. What fun.
Old 19th March 2008, 16:17   #10

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Many years ago, my brother in law bought a Maruti 800. He is a person deeply interested in how things work and he even had a Maruti service manual.

When he gave his car for regular repair, Wlson's man told him that his yoram was halfway spoiled and it would be safer to replace it.
Not wanting to show his ignorance, he nodded and left, saying he would return with the required parts the next day.

That evening he leafed through every page of the manual, looking for a Yoram. He even called me, but I knew even less about these things.

The next morning he went to Dhiraj motor stores and terrified of having people laugh at him, he winced said "Maruti 800 ka Yoram dena"

Promptly the salesman pulled out the lower arm from the shelf and made a bill. What fun.
Lolz..that was too hillarious Sam bhai..Yoram imagine what would throttle body be called in Hindi..!!
Old 19th March 2008, 16:31   #11

lol@Sam
I dont know what throttle body is called in hindi, but i do know what Mobil Oil is called in Hindi. Its "Mublail"
Old 19th March 2008, 16:41   #12

Originally Posted by kaushik_s View Post
Shock-absorber but you need to say it as socket-jober .
Here is what I've heard being used randomly for shock absorber

1) Chockup
2) Shocker
3) Jacob Sir (I am serious)

And more.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th March 2008, 16:55   #13

...said "Maruti 800 ka Yoram dena". Promptly the salesman pulled out the lower arm from the shelf and made a bill. What fun.
Hilarious, Sam .

Yoram sounds more like the name of some person from planet Krypton (Jor-el, Kal-el etc) !
Old 19th March 2008, 17:00   #14

3) Jacob Sir (I am serious)
I laughed quite a bit. Thanks Sam. Some more

1. Chase for chassis (rightly pronounced chassy)
2. edlight for headlight

i am sure there are quite a few more.
Old 19th March 2008, 17:15   #15

How about : Utkhand Shareer.

Last edited by Rehaan : 20th March 2008 at 07:37. Reason: 20