Old 10th May 2008, 23:42   #1

How can a newspaper feature be embarassing? Read on...

My car got prime location in todays Hindustan Times in the Delhi Police Advertorial (English and Hindi edition)..... pretty embarassing to get calls all morning haha!

Im sure the creative manager must have gone through loads of pics and thought, hey thats a cool car lets picture this!! GRRRRRRR.
How can a newspaper feature be embarassing? Read on...-newspaper.jpg  

Old 10th May 2008, 23:46   #2

free ad publicity for the car he he.....
Old 10th May 2008, 23:50   #3

Can't you sue them for using your car's picture without prior permission?
Old 11th May 2008, 00:07   #4

Amazing man!

Did you get a ticket for this at all or someone has just chosen the pic because they liked the car?
Old 11th May 2008, 00:14   #5

i saw the pic in the newspaper i was wondering if it was your car,LOL.
Old 11th May 2008, 01:04   #6

Did you actually jump the light??
JayD is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th May 2008, 01:14   #7

you shouldn't jump red lights .
So did the challan come in the Mail yet?
Old 11th May 2008, 01:16   #8

I dont know if i jumped it or if i was stopped ahead of the light, i pass by that intersection twice a day and there is a camera installed there. Which was that website where you can see your challans online? Ill see if it reflects there. The pic is atleast two to three months old though, coz i removed that sticker on the rear glass around that time.
Old 11th May 2008, 01:35   #9

tsk tsk tsk Arush, didnt expect this from you!! lol!!
Old 11th May 2008, 01:39   #10

Oi! stop poking funny comments at me, im a very safe and obidient driver you know
Old 11th May 2008, 02:19   #11

Originally Posted by autopsyche View Post
Oi! stop poking funny comments at me, im a very safe and obidient driver you know
Yeah Yeah .. we know how safe and obedient ! I mean talking on the mobile while driving , never wearing seat belts , darkest of dark tints on your cars , jumping red lights , dragging with auto wallas , etc etc ... really safe and obedient

PS -- And the above was mentioned by you to me ;-)
Old 11th May 2008, 04:18   #12

Hah, my first reaction when I saw this was, "hmm.. is this person on team-bhp?" Well done.

If you are actually in the habit of breaking red lights, please don't.

Originally Posted by SumitB View Post
Can't you sue them for using your car's picture without prior permission?
No. On what grounds? There's no such thing as needing to take 'prior permission' to take photos in a public place!! Try using that argument next time an interceptor takes a photo of you speeding?
Old 11th May 2008, 05:47   #13

Arush, that's bad. You know that the crime is not in doing the criminal thing. It's criminal only to get caught doing it. So next time, make sure that 0-100 happens in double fast time.
Old 11th May 2008, 07:16   #14

You definitely have a case of defamation against all three - Delhi Police, the advertising agency, and the news paper. You can file a suit for damages as well as a criminal complaint before the local court. In the suit you can implead all three as parties; but the same can take years before being finalised.

IMO you can start of by giving a legal notice and you have a good case if your no is visible on the paper ad.
Old 11th May 2008, 07:38   #15

lagee kya?

Tera vakil: mi lord yeh bekasur hai kyunki crime scene reconstruction se pata chalta hai ki... ..
1. from the camera angle it is not a picture taken from speed trap as most of them are on central verges.
2. AFAIK they take B&W pics as the readability on zoom is better (can techies confirm)
3. All use flash (day or night) and there is no flash shine in the pic
5. The guy in right lane is also going through so probability is low

Me lord pronounceth: So Arush you are likely to be in the clear but ........hhhmmmmmmm unless you can prove the light signal is photoshop job

Order order: You did jump the red light!!!

hai koi jawab???? ;-(