Team-BHP - Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

-   Shifting gears (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/)
-   -   Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/59432-suggestions-team-bhp-team-bhpians-96.html)

Do you purge threads after long periods of inactivity? Seems to me that there are too many posts to old threads, often by mistake, and the info and posts are out of date and the information is no longer correct. So, my suggestion, if you do not already do it, just automatically purge threads that have had no activity for some long period of time. Or, have somebody review them prior to purging.

DirtyDan

@GTO, Have you ever considered providing an option to tag the posts akin to the Gmail labels or delicio.us links. I believe searching for topics will become much easier if tagged correctly.

Originally Posted by lamborghini (Post 892602)
I don't know if anyone has brought this up or faced it, but at times, i feel that some of the Garages have rude comments left on them by members.
Can anything be done to delete those or warn the member?

Lambo, please PM us with links to the garages you speak of and action will be taken. Thanks.

Originally Posted by DirtyDan (Post 892727)
Do you purge threads after long periods of inactivity? Seems to me that there are too many posts to old threads, often by mistake, and the info and posts are out of date and the information is no longer correct. So, my suggestion, if you do not already do it, just automatically purge threads that have had no activity for some long period of time. Or, have somebody review them prior to purging.

DirtyDan

DD, at the moment, the only threads that get automatically locked are the Introduction threads. Sometimes digging up an old thread can be redundant - but it is usually pointed out fairly quickly by fellow members. However, most other times useful information is added and even though the late reply might not help the original poster, it definitely could help others reading those threads or searching for that info in the future.

Originally Posted by nemo (Post 892756)
@GTO, Have you ever considered providing an option to tag the posts akin to the Gmail labels or delicio.us links. I believe searching for topics will become much easier if tagged correctly.

One of the things we try to do at the moment is put the useful keywords in the thread title - that way searching for certain words "in the title only" (advanced search) helps narrow down search results. Searching specific sections only helps further.

cya
R

Would it not be a good idea to have a section where on road prices of cars in most cities is posted? It could be updated say every quarter.

Most mags give showroom prices. Dont know if this is already there and I am missing it.

Originally Posted by deepakvrao (Post 893326)
Would it not be a good idea to have a section where on road prices of cars in most cities is posted? It could be updated say every quarter.

Most mags give showroom prices. Dont know if this is already there and I am missing it.

I tried starting a thread for this once. One will need to have an excel sheet or so for this. Updating the excel sheet will be easy rather than people posting the OTR every other day.

Originally Posted by deepakvrao (Post 893326)

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 893364)
I tried starting a thread for this once. One will need to have an excel sheet or so for this. Updating the excel sheet will be easy rather than people posting the OTR every other day.

Updating it every quarter would not serve the purpose; car prices change far more frequently than that. I agree with jkdas that another format, probably a database that can be updated is required (vis a vis posts).

This could be a huge value-add for the forum. Thanks for the suggestion, Deepak. We will look at some options in the near future.

I have an excel sheet prepared for this. Where do you want me to upload it? Let me know. Shall do the needful.

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 893364)

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 893381)
I agree with jkdas that another format, probably a database that can be updated is required (vis a vis posts).

Originally Posted by magiceye (Post 893382)
I have an excel sheet prepared for this. Where do you want me to upload it? Let me know. Shall do the needful.

For that we need something like Google Docs :)

https://www.google.com/accounts/Serv...epage&rm=false

Hi Mods,

Just observed a small fault in the search engine. I tried typing out a brief heading of a post(more than 4 words) and then the full name of the post as well kept getting a error that I have not entered the minimum 3 words or something like that. Have copy pasted the exact message I got right now.

"The search term you specified (A) is under the minimum word length (3) and therefore will not be found. Please make this term longer.

If this term contains a wildcard, please make this term more specific."

Just though I would inform you guys.

Viper

Viper, from the message it seems the sentence had a single A somewhere, can you also post the search string? I believe all the words in the search should be atleast 3 characters long

@Viper, you will get that message even if one of the words you do a search for, is less than 3 characters.

Originally Posted by Technocrat (Post 895599)
....I believe all the words in the search should be atleast 3 characters long

Originally Posted by condor (Post 895650)
...even if one of the words you do a search for, is less than 3 characters.

Exactly.

Originally the search would just ignore the short words, but that had its negatives, for example if someone searched for "mercedes SL" they would get all the threads with the word mercedes in it (since search would ignore the SL part).

The behaviour has been changed since quite a while now, and definitely helps accuracy (or rather, unannounced innacuracy)

cya
R

Ok got it one of the words was a "A". Now is there a way around this. The thread I was looking for was my own "The Quest For Making A Sleeper Car". How do I search for this I tried using the first 4 words only as well.

Viper

search for 'sleeper' in the thread titles

or even easier, go to your profile & click on all threads started by me.

here is a link
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...eeper-car.html

Originally Posted by viper (Post 895862)

Ok got it one of the words was a "A". Now is there a way around this. The thread I was looking for was my own "The Quest For Making A Sleeper Car". How do I search for this I tried using the first 4 words only as well.

Viper

Jignesh bhai,
What I do in such cases is put the "thread title+team BHP" in Google and it usually gives near accurate result. I too faced this problem wherein either the word was less than 3 characters or I remembered the thread title partially. So I started using the above mentioned method.

See the attached screenshot
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-jiggy.jpg

BTW, here is your thread
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...tml#post445655

P.S. Sent you a PM. Plz reply soon!