Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th July 2009, 20:50   #1
BHPian

E commerce website - What does one need to know?

Hi

I know there are quite a few IT professionals and experts in here who can help me out in improving my knowledge. I am looking at partnering with a friend in an e-commerce venture. However, am a complete novice when it comes to understanding the technical aspects of developing and maintaining a website. My knowledge is zilch when it comes to aspects such as hosting services, software platforms, website technologies,payment gateways, shopping carts, data security, etc. that are important for such a venture.

On the operational aspects we want a website that allows us to easily and regularly update the product line up,prices, etc

We will shortly start the process of identifying a few vendors. However even before we start this process we would like to go well informed with what to look out for and not get shortchanged.

Would appreciate it if you all shared some of your knowledge and help me improve mine.

Thanks in advance
Old 20th July 2009, 20:58   #2
BHPian

Hi Pranava999,

Basic things required to start-up:
1. Website Design & Development
2. Shopping cart software/solution (readily available solution)
3. Hosting Provider - To host your ecommerce site (Here I can help you. PM me your contact details)

Regards,
Neeraj
Old 20th July 2009, 21:06   #3
BHPian

Hi Pranava
Difficult to give you a "everything you wanted to know about e-commerce sites" in a post. But hereare some basics.