Old 11th September 2010, 14:01   #1

Yachts and boats !!!!

Yachts and boats found along the coastal line of India , being a boat/yacht enthusiast I thought of posting a thread here.

Mods I checked for the similar threads(I didn't find any with my limited knowledge) , please merge or append this with if any of the similar exists.
Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-16.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-15.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-14.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-13.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-12.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-11.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-10.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-9.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-8.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-7.jpg  

Old 11th September 2010, 14:36   #2

The photos were shot at Vizinjam fishing Harbor , I wonder to see 2 Yachts at the fishing harbor , those were German Yachts.
Mods feel free to relocate the thread if necessary. Thank you for co - operating.
Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-1.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-2.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-3.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-5.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-6.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-4.jpg  

Last edited by v12 : 11th September 2010 at 21:38.
Old 11th September 2010, 14:52   #3

The last one is a catamaran. The twin hulls, side by side, with the cabin on a platform above the hulls. This design adds to the stability and comfort.

The yachts have internal combustion engines, but the engines are used either during inclement weather, or while manouvering within ports. In the open sea, most of the time, they are powered by wind.

In my younger days, I used to wonder how very small hulls can accomodate -- and stay stable -- with such tall masts (and of course, the huge sails). Several used to dock at the Bolghatty Palace in Cochin backwaters.

Some yachts though look very small from outside, can be very spacious - mostly because of the space below the water line. These yachts can have very deep draft.

The ultimate adventure machine!!!
Old 11th September 2010, 21:21   #4

Foby, any detailed info on the police boats?

I guess these tooa re from Vizhinjam. I guess police specially sourced those to deal with frequent unrest amongst fisherfolk; and if that be the purpose, I am not sure that these are any suited for the objective.
Old 11th September 2010, 22:40   #5

Just like that ad. can I ask " Bhai kitna deta hai... Mileage"
Old 11th September 2010, 23:01   #6

Hi Foby,

Nice, in fact very nice thread & great pics.
My job takes me inside various ports on the western coast & such boats are my, every day, way of life.
Hope you wont mind me hijacking your thread..

My contibutions coming soon.

Raab Rakha-Sonu

Last edited by ariesonu : 11th September 2010 at 23:03.
Old 11th September 2010, 23:12   #7

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
Hi Foby,

Nice, in fact very nice thread & great pics.
My job takes me inside various ports on the western coast & such boats are my, every day, way of life.
Hope you wont mind me hijacking your thread..

My contibutions coming soon.

Raab Rakha-Sonu
You are always welcome buddy , I also had a set of good snaps from the Volvo ocean race held at Cochin Marina , but I misplaced it , I will find it soon and post it here.
Old 11th September 2010, 23:45   #8

Here are some boats used for various jobs in the ports:

A hopper barge.
Yachts and boats !!!!-apsarika-21.jpg

A service boat
Yachts and boats !!!!-bhadreshwar-8.jpg

Dredgers: Specialised ships used to "dig" channels in the waterways/ports/channels.
Yachts and boats !!!!-dharti-9-94.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-dharti-10.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-dharti-12-3.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-img_3437.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-kamal-xxx-10.jpg

Another hopper barge
Yachts and boats !!!!-polana-4.jpg

Raab Rakha-Sonu
Old 11th September 2010, 23:58   #9

These are a few set of snaps from middle east , a typical marina and the machines.

Last year when the Volvo ocean race visited Cochin , there was a marina constructed beyond the Cochin port trust(Wellington) , once the ocean race moves out the marina will be open to public , thats what the govt. announced , any status update from cochin members up on that ?

I middle east we can see a lot of Indians enjoying their water life.

One Thrissur based jeweler who is building a brand new home on the banks of the Aluva river , Is building a private marina and has got plans to bring a Yacht here !
Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-1.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-10.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-3.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-4.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-6.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-8.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-pumba-9.jpg  

Old 12th September 2010, 11:02   #10

Foby, the guy planning to build a marina at Aluva - is he sure of getting a clear draft from the port up to Aluva? Has he done any studies on this?

AFAIK, at least in some places, the draft would be as low as 3M (approx 10 ft), at high tide.

Yachts require deeper draft, if I remember right.
Old 22nd September 2010, 17:43   #11

Saw the volve penta engined boat on move at vizinjam fish landing harbor @ Trivandrum
Yachts and boats !!!!-boat.jpg  

Yachts and boats !!!!-boat-1.jpg  

Last edited by foby.sebastian : 22nd September 2010 at 17:50. Reason: spelling correcting
Old 27th March 2011, 12:11   #12

Re: Yachts and boats !!!!

Found this beauty at Panjim in 1st week of February, 2011.

Yachts and boats !!!!-yachtatpanjim.jpg

Yachts and boats !!!!-yachtatpanjimbetterpic.jpg

This one appears to be the new Ro-Ro ferry in Kochi. It was well past sunset when I spotted it from the walkway's bridge at Marine Drive (Kochi). Sorry for the poor pic quality; blame it on time of the day.

Yachts and boats !!!!-roro.jpg

All three snaps from Nokia X2.
Old 4th May 2011, 15:38   #13

A small ship under construction

Been real loooong that I posted something in this thread.
Well I was recently invited for survey of a hopper barge, which is presently under construction. Its in my authority to inspect them & pass them as sea-worthy so that they can be put out to sea for service.

There were actually two barges, side-by-side, under construction.
One is almost half done & another one is almost completed. What you see (completed structure) is in fact a dumb barge which will be first floated & then re-fitted with Engine & machinery to make it self-propelled at a suitable port in Gujarat.

I'm posting pics is such order of two barges that you can see how they look BEFORE & AFTER during construction. So here we go:

Yachts and boats !!!!-2.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-2.-sss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-1.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-3.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-4.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-5.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-6.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-7.-ss.jpg
Yachts and boats !!!!-8.-ss.jpg

I have many more pics & would be glad to put them here for your interest & would love to answer your queries.

Last edited by ariesonu : 4th May 2011 at 15:46.
Old 4th May 2011, 21:55   #14

Re: Im-Ports & Ex-Ports (Sightings inside ports)

@ ariesonu: Please do share some more pics of the barge in making. Would really like to know more about it.

any updates on the Millicento.
Old 5th May 2011, 11:17   #15

Re: Yachts and boats !!!!

@ Sam: Brownie Millecento is in Mumbai with me & running like devil. Of all that we have seen so far, she may just need proper service at most. Will plan resto after consulting Karl.
Will post more pics shortly.