Old 29th June 2007, 20:58   #1

Idiot bangs his door in my swift

I have just got my swift's C pillar damaged. An Idiot servant in a stationary alto opened up the door while I was passing and BANG! . I immediately got down and was amazed to see the extent of damage. I didn't expect anything like it as I was moving at 10-15 km/h.

I was shocked to say anything to anyone present there as nothing could have been done. Sat in my car I moved. I have learned a lesson that there are very few people who use their mind and don't ever expect a servant to use his commensense coz years of taking orders makes them completely forget that they have something up their in their head. So its better to peak inside people's car and watch if any idiot is trying to open up a door while you are passing.

I am too disturbed to write more as it is a new car( Not Anymore). Will be giving it to Apra Motors,Gurgaon for repair first thing in the morning' It will take around 4-5 days for it to be delivered.

I need some advice guys.

As you can see in the first picture the red rectangle marks the small dent on the door. If I want I can get it removed and get the door painted. But I think it is too small and, I don't want to get the whole door painted for such a small dent. Say what guys?

Last edited by horsepower : 29th June 2007 at 21:03.
Old 29th June 2007, 21:01   #2

oouuucchh!! thats bad!.. Hope it gets fixed, and goes easy on the pocket.

I remember my 1998 Opel Astra getting hit. Dad was driving out of office, and a stationary Matador van was parked on the side. The driver decides to open the door the moment the car pulls up beside it,and boooomm!! The whole mirror unit took a beating,and had to be replaced.
Ended up spending over $10K for the whole thing... ..

Such morons!!
Old 29th June 2007, 21:05   #3
SRK

I think the fender has to be cut open .
if its a hollow double-metal one..
and then hammer the thing out..apply some Lambi..and then colour it..
Old 29th June 2007, 21:11   #4

Originally Posted by horsepower View Post

As you can see in the first picture the red rectangle marks the small dent on the door. If I want I can get it removed and get the door painted. But I think it is too small and, I don't want to get the whole door painted for such a small dent. Say what guys?

arre bhai don't get the whole door painted get it touching job done

and oouuucchh!! its a bad dent

and the quater panel has to be cut and hammered from inside
Old 29th June 2007, 21:36   #5

quater panel has to be cut and hammered from inside
Quarter panel will be cut. New panel will be taken and cut according to the measurements and welded back, grinded and then paint will be done. All I am worried about is alignment of new panel.
Old 29th June 2007, 21:48   #6

Oh sorry to see the pictures, it hurts a lot.

Looking into pictures I suggest you insist on changing door If because of this impact entire door might have lost shape little bit which will result in rattling/leakage of air/rain etc issue will arise in long run, but if door has only that small scratch and intact no need to replace the door just touch up is enough.

Ravi.
Old 29th June 2007, 21:55   #7

Is the swift so soft ??
Old 29th June 2007, 22:01   #8

Quarter panel will be cut. New panel will be taken and cut according to the measurements and welded back, grinded and then paint will be done. All I am worried about is alignment of new panel.
don't worry of the alignment get it done at the maruti body shop

they will cut the whole piece and replace it with new one

make sure you get 3m Lambi (the yellow paste applied before paint)
Old 29th June 2007, 22:17   #9

what is 3m Lambi? Can you please explain me in detail and how does it help?
Old 29th June 2007, 22:23   #10

what is 3m Lambi? Can you please explain me in detail and how does it help?

its the puty which is put before the paint even before the primer to make the surface smooth

i was told that 3m puty is much better than normal one which the denter usually puts are not good
they develop bubbles
the 3m doesn't allow bubbles andhold the paint better
Old 29th June 2007, 23:21   #11

soft ? dont think tinboxes are soft they are fuel efficient thats the word for them
Old 30th June 2007, 00:07   #12

Phew! That's a bad hit.
But I am surprised you didn't take the issue up with the person who caused this.

And a stationary car can sometimes cause a lot damage to a moving car. Some guys here in the forum has more bad incidents.
Old 30th June 2007, 06:40   #13

speedzak, I did argue with the concerned person, but it was a servant who opened the door on me. People ask you "Insurance hain na? claim it."
Old 30th June 2007, 07:41   #14

chalo door to bach gaya.

this part of the swift is very delicate with no renforcement from the inside. it is just the sheet there.leave the door as it is no need to paint it.

but the car took much damage which is not expected at 10-15 km/hr.
Old 30th June 2007, 08:27   #15

Insurance hai na? claim it? Is the process of claiming so easy?

Btw, how much kharcha is involved in such repair jobs?

Last edited by EatMyDust : 30th June 2007 at 08:28.