Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 14th November 2009, 15:40   #31

@canonball let me run this through, the car is a 2003 c180 the previous owner did a facelift he changed the original headlamps & fogs to clears. The grill was also swapped by him at which time he changed the bumper & the alloys (brabus) if you notice in the original pictures.

After the accident i managed to buy a pre facelift bumper in uk for 30 pounds yes 2000Rs. As for the damaged right side fender it was replaced after extensive damage at various line points. As you see the bonnet was also damaged and we replaced so we have not used any pictures or ref. points to rebuild the car but have installed new parts where ever crucial.
Old 14th November 2009, 15:47   #32

Good to hear this but something about the way both fenders protrude where the wheel arch, bumper and fender converge seems irregular. Park her next to a similar C and I think you will get what I am saying.

Don't get me wrong your effort, outcome, and enthu is great but I just fail to see the logic (having contemplated the same numerous times) of the exercise because as we speak I am getting 2000 to 03 C180's at Rs. 6 lacs to 8 lacs (even E240 are going for 7 to 9) in Mumbai. There are no buyers for them because they are petrol (+ non compressor)and more cars in market than buyers. These are immaculate cars and have no history I would rather buy them. I don't mean to dampen your spirits but would rather be honest and candit than blow steam as you seem like a very ingenious and enterprising person of mature age

If Gov't allowed Gas conversions then market for pertol mercs would be another story.

Last edited by canonball : 14th November 2009 at 16:01.
Old 14th November 2009, 17:12   #33

@canonball appreciate your comment about being candid unfortunately I have not yet seen a c180 2003 with less than 50,000 km elegance for 8 lacs correct me if I am wrong I have seen these cars valued at 10 which would mean an all in all saving of 4 lacs which I certainly can live with. As for the fenders if they sit a funny way not much I can do i know that i pushed the car to 200 km/hr on mumbai pune expressway put the cruise control on and took my hand off the steering wheel she just absolutely stood straight that is a sign of decent condition if not good condition. I do appreciate your critical view. As far as I am concerned I have semi built my cars and that has been fun.
Old 14th November 2009, 20:41   #34

Wow that car really really looks pretty. I really hope your X-Trail turns into a similar stunner.
Good job again.
Old 15th November 2009, 18:35   #35

@Aatish, applaud your perseverance and dedication to the cars you have acquired and appreciate the effort, thought and planning, not to mention the logistics of sourcing the parts,that must have gone into getting the Merc shipshape.Good luck with the X-trail. You are obviously a deal- man and a car lover rolled into one and that is a really good thing in my book! Bravo, keep smiling!
Old 16th November 2009, 07:28   #36

Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
Wow that car really really looks pretty. I really hope your X-Trail turns into a similar stunner.
Good job again.
Thanks arjun will post x-trail pictures once ready

Originally Posted by 911987 View Post
@Aatish, applaud your perseverance and dedication to the cars you have acquired and appreciate the effort, thought and planning, not to mention the logistics of sourcing the parts,that must have gone into getting the Merc shipshape.Good luck with the X-trail. You are obviously a deal- man and a car lover rolled into one and that is a really good thing in my book! Bravo, keep smiling!
Thanks 911987 the fun in building the cars was sourcing the parts at 1/10th the price
Old 16th November 2009, 09:00   #37

Awesome transformation man. I really appreciate the hard work that you have put in.
Old 16th November 2009, 09:30   #38

Expense Details

Hi guys

Lot of people asking so I have prepared account details for the total repair cost of the Mercedes

aatish

Acquisition of Merc - 450000

Headlights - 15000 (India-TeamBHp)
Cross Member (front) - 11000 (UK - Salvage)
Bumper - 2000 (UK - Salvage)
grill - 3500 (New - ebay)
fog lights & covers - 4000 (UK - Salvage)
lower arms and control arms - 24000 (India - OperaHouse)
Side View Mirror - 4000 (UK - Salvage)
Radiator - 7100 (US - NEW)
Aircon Condenser - 7500 (UK - NEW)
Rad. Fan & shroud - 10000 (UK - Salvage)
Vacumm Pump - 15000 (Nigeria - Salvage)
Ac Evaporator - 19000 (UK - NEW)
Alloys - 14000 (UK - EBay)
Tyres - 13500 (India - TeamBHp)
Bumper fin - 1500 (UK - salvage)
Bonnet Emblem - 800 (UK - ebay)
Windscreen - 10000 (India - New)
Mudflaps - 2700 (India - operahouse)
Fan Belt - 800 (India - operahouse)
Roof bars & box (for kicks) - 7000 (UK - ebay)
Plugs and filters - 3000 (India - opera house)
Sub Total Parts - 175400

Airtickets - 30000
Expenses in london - 20000
Customs - 7000
Misc.costs - 10000
Cost of making Bills - 70000
Workshop, painting, - 120000
denting and Ac work

Grand Total - 8,84,400
Insurance Claim - (-)2,81,400

Total Cost for on road aqusition - 6,03,000Rs
aatish is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th November 2009, 10:28   #39

That is unreal. You have a merc W203 C class for Rs 6lakhs and it looks as good as anyone else's, who might have spent upwards of Rs 25lakhs. Hats off to you. Thanks for the detailed cost break-up

Last edited by vivekji05 : 16th November 2009 at 10:32.
Old 16th November 2009, 11:20   #40

You are a genius dude.Next time you come across something like this and you dont plan to use it.Please do let me know.I might be interested to buy it.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Please avoid quoting an entire large post. It inconveniences our small screen & mobile readers. Thanks.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 16th November 2009 at 11:43.
Old 16th November 2009, 11:21   #41

Wasnt this car declared as total damage by the insurance??
So how did you manage to get 2,81,400 from the insurance company??
And what is cost of making bills and why is it so high??
Old 16th November 2009, 12:15   #42

attish

more than the gamble we must appreicate your perciverance, to do the impossible.

You could start a sourcing venture business for used spares of Merc, even with a 25% margin at your end it would be cost effective for Indians.

Congrats on a job well done.
Old 16th November 2009, 12:30   #43

Originally Posted by akshaymahajan View Post
Wasnt this car declared as total damage by the insurance??
So how did you manage to get 2,81,400 from the insurance company??
And what is cost of making bills and why is it so high??
Akshay Total loss was on the x-trail this was an understanding with the last owner
Old 16th November 2009, 12:41   #44

Originally Posted by aatish View Post
Total Cost for on road aqusition - 6,03,000Rs
amazing aatish, work well done

got to look now for a banged up merc
Old 16th November 2009, 14:02   #45
//M

Thats one acquisition most of us will be proud of and at 6 lacs its a steal. Good work aatish.