Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 31st August 2021, 16:09   #46

Re: 2021 Triumph Speed Twin teased, global unveil on June 1

I was toying with the idea of a possible upgrade from my 2015 Air Cooled Bonnie, but the decision is now easy with this absurd pricing. With the kind of performance on offer and the pricing, they could have at least given the Ohlin suspension bits from the erstwhile Thruxton R. Forget the Ohlins, but not having an adjustable suspension front and back will leave the buyers really short-changed. Just has the run-of the mill preload adjustment at the rear. Even the newly launched TVS Apache that's couple of segments down has pre-load and damping adjustments front and rear. Having added pre-load adjustment in the front and preload+damping adjustment in the rear on my Bonnie, I can imagine what the buyers of the Speed Twin will be missing as a stock offering.
dinu2506 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 16:35   #47

The black is 10.99L. The Red and Matt colors are 11.12L. I don’t know what the Triumph guys were smoking when they came to this pricing. I am canceling my booking though the sales guy was asking me to test ride it before doing that. OTR Bangalore will be over 14L and including basic accessories ( dresser bar, etc) will touch 14.5L easily . I don’t think it makes sense, especially looking at what the previous Speed Twin was priced at. Maybe wait for the year end to let some discounts trickle in.
shivasuma is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 17:38   #48

Originally Posted by shivasuma View Post
OTR Bangalore will be over 14L and including basic accessories ( dresser bar, etc) will touch 14.5L easily
I was eagerly waiting for this re-launch, since it was such a delightful bike to ride in the previous avatar! Pity they priced it so high!

With the 'warehousing charge' now around 20k and RSA + extended warranty + IntroKit adding another 40k, dealers add a significant amount over and above the eye-watering 20% road tax!

Has Keerthi Triumph been known to give year end discounts? Given the bike is not mass-produced, I would think not

Please post here if you learn otherwise
Old 31st August 2021, 18:02   #49

Originally Posted by udainxs View Post
I was eagerly waiting for this re-launch, since it was such a delightful bike to ride in the previous avatar! Pity they priced it so high!

With the 'warehousing charge' now around 20k and RSA + extended warranty + IntroKit adding another 40k, dealers add a significant amount over and above the eye-watering 20% road tax!

Has Keerthi Triumph been known to give year end discounts? Given the bike is not mass-produced, I would think not

Please post here if you learn otherwise
I will definitely post here if I get to know of any discounts. I had negotiated with Keerthi Triumph on not paying any of their “extra” charges. I will talk to them and see what’s the best price I can get. I am sure they will have some cancellations due to this pricing. The sales guy was asking me not to cancel without test riding the bike. Even they know this is extremely high pricing and not on expected lines.
shivasuma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2021, 20:43   #50

Incredibly stupid pricing! The previous-gen which I picked up was below the T120 and now for not much more, they've priced it above it! Either they got the pricing wrong the first time around or they are totally confused about where to position this bike. It's a great bike but 11.12 ex-showroom great? Unsure.
Old 31st August 2021, 21:56   #51

Looks exactly like the Street Twin now which retails at 9.7 L OTR Bangalore (which itself is overpriced).

Making changes just for the sake of it. The previous livery (especially the tank) was very handsome and made the Speed Twin stand out. Now its anonymous.

I heard the 2021 Speed twin got a price cut in other markets but its the opposite here. Also, in other markets, the Speed Twin is generally cheaper than the T120. Weird ppl at Triumph here.
Old 1st September 2021, 10:10   #52

Originally Posted by loki View Post
I heard the 2021 Speed twin got a price cut in other markets but its the opposite here. Also, in other markets, the Speed Twin is generally cheaper than the T120. Weird ppl at Triumph here.
The base 2019 Speed Twin was exactly $500 more than T120. Now both have gone up in price ($500~ for ST) but its still cheaper than Speed Twin for MY 2021.

You can easily make them cheaper/expensive than each other but base price, ST > T120.
Old 1st September 2021, 10:20   #53

Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post
The base 2019 Speed Twin was exactly $500 more than T120. Now both have gone up in price ($500~ for ST) but its still cheaper than Speed Twin for MY 2021.

You can easily make them cheaper/expensive than each other but base price, ST > T120.
I think the previous T120 was 9.97L whereas the twin was 9.46L. Based on this, I was expecting the new twin to be priced at around 10.25L max.
Either they messed up the pricing previously or they messed up now.

Last edited by shivasuma : 1st September 2021 at 10:22.
Old 1st September 2021, 10:37   #54

I think they've also increased the Street Twin price to 8.25 lacs. Previously, it was starting at 7.95 lacs. The reason could be to create a middle ground for pricing the Tiger 660 sport? Just guessing. It's becoming really tough to get test rides these days and looks like the ST and Trident are in good demand, though I hardly see any of them during my Sunday rides.
Old 3rd September 2021, 12:38   #55

Originally Posted by gigatech2006 View Post
I think they've also increased the Street Twin price to 8.25 lacs. Previously, it was starting at 7.95 lacs. The reason could be to create a middle ground for pricing the Tiger 660 sport? Just guessing. It's becoming really tough to get test rides these days and looks like the ST and Trident are in good demand, though I hardly see any of them during my Sunday rides.
This makes sense really. Triumph-Bajaj partnership is also focussing on the 300-600 category I think. All the volumes (sales and service) are here and not in the high end. Why bother eh
Old 6th September 2021, 13:38   #56

Is the pricing really absurd or outrageous? I know nothing about these motorcycles, but I was looking at some of the international Triumph websites, and the Speed Twin is priced similar to the T120 everywhere I looked.

India ex-showroom
T120: Rs 10,99,000
Speed Twin: Rs 10,99,000

UK on road
T120: £11,000
Speed Twin: £11,000

USA MSRP
T120: $12,300
Speed Twin: $12,500

I understand, the last time it was on sale, it was cheaper than the T120 here by about 50k, but it looks like Triumph's just brought the pricing inline with their international markets.

I find these classic Triumph bikes a little overpriced in general, but that is a separate discussion...
tacho is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th September 2021, 22:52   #57

The first batch of bikes have arrived at the dealership. Will go have a look tomorrow and see if it makes sense plonking 14 big ones on it. Will try to take some pics and post it here.
Old 8th September 2021, 17:52   #58

Originally Posted by shivasuma View Post
The first batch of bikes have arrived at the dealership. Will go have a look tomorrow and see if it makes sense plonking 14 big ones on it. Will try to take some pics and post it here.
Hey did you get a chance to check it out? Waiting to see your initial impressions and some pics!
Old 8th September 2021, 19:09   #59

Originally Posted by mpulztrack3r View Post
Hey did you get a chance to check it out? Waiting to see your initial impressions and some pics!
Yes, I had a look at the bike. Unfortunately, it was in their so called "warehouse" which was poorly lit and cramped with no space to move around with other bikes parked literally an inch from each other. To top it all, it was raining and the light was not enough to take decent pictures. I just had the opportunity to sit and feel the bike. It looks very good in person and I felt it was a little cramped for my height( I am 6'1) compared to the T120 which I checked out at the showroom. The seat was not as comfortable as the T120. Wife liked the blue T120 over the speed twin as it is more retro than the speed twin, but for me it's the speed twin all the way. I might go ahead with the purchase provided the "extra" charges are waived off. Keerthi has received 5 bikes (2 blacks, 2 Matt grey, 1 Red Hopper) of which one of the Matt grey is a demo. The bikes might be in the showroom sometime next week and test rides will start the week after is what I was told.

I changed my booking from black to Red and the sole red was already booked by another customer. I might get delivery this month if the customer backs out, otherwise will have to wait for the next batch which is arriving end of this month. I will post pictures when I see the bikes in the showroom.
shivasuma is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th September 2021, 12:52   #60

I got the quote today for the speed twin.

Jet Black

Ex-Showroom - 1099000
TCS@1% - 10990
Road Tax - 221776
Registration and RTO charges - 23837
Insurance - 41452
Road side assistance - 6016
Introkit - 8500
Extended warranty - 25783
HSRP -1000
Total On road- 14, 38,444

Red Hopper/Matt Storm Grey

Ex-Showroom - 1112000
TCS@1% - 11120
Road Tax - 224399
Registration and RTO charges - 23837
Insurance - 41833
Road side assistance - 6016
Introkit - 8500
Extended warranty - 25783
HSRP -1000
Total On road- 14,54,488

Damn, the bike is expensive!

In this, I think RTO and registration charges are illegal. I think they are substituting the warehouse charges with this. The road tax is off by Rs1700. I don't know if taking RSA is worth it and don't know what's in the introkit. Insurance, I will get a quote from outside and ask them to match. I would appreciate if members can guide me here.