Old 15th May 2010, 23:21   #1

ML Vs Cayenne D

Hi guys,
needs some inputs so that i can be pushed to a decision!
choosing between the ML350 and cayenne d.
looking at the following config for cayenne -
1) bose
2) PASM
3) 4 zone AC
4) Universal audio interface
5) 18" wheels - though the website shows this a standard...i think the dealership has quoted me separate for this
6) servotronics
7) park assist

main concern with cayenne -1) is it a SUV for indian conditions? i am not into high performance driving but my work takes me to not so well maintained state highways, internal town roads, construction sites etc...so is this car going to keep its integrity for 5 yrs...or will the suspensions give way etc?

2) does the new cayenne have generous space for 5 adults? cause the current one surely is not comfy for long distance travelling

3) service - the closest service centre for me would be 4 hours - is this a concern - cause this bothers me - and i have heard their service is not upto the mark!

so basically if i am not ok with the above then i plan to buy the ML350 - though i must admit i hate all the colours that its available in!!

why not X5 - its low on space

why not q7 - hmmmmm!!!! not sure why? its a guzzler, too many around...open to it i guess
Old 16th May 2010, 01:14   #2

im just going to have to say the q7 4.2tdi. it will blow you away. its cheaper than the cayenne d im pretty sure (but only for a short period) and is very spacious and comfortable. when you need speed it does 0-100 in 6.xx seconds. its the best deal going right now IMO.
Old 16th May 2010, 01:25   #3

I'd also love to say Audi Q7 4.2 tdi. It does 0-100 in 6.5 secs. No other SUV comes close. Interiors are spacious and comfortable. Except in the ride department, it beats all its competitors.
Old 16th May 2010, 14:49   #4

Originally Posted by Anand123 View Post
I'd also love to say Audi Q7 4.2 tdi. It does 0-100 in 6.5 secs. No other SUV comes close. Interiors are spacious and comfortable. Except in the ride department, it beats all its competitors.
With 18" the ride is quite comfy both at low and high speeds. At high speeds (140+ kmph) there is a hint of firmness but that's how I'd like it to be. I'd say the ride quality is just a notch below compared to GL based on my experience with Q7 and with about an hour long test drive on GL 350 on similar roads. I don't know how it is with 20 inchers though.
Old 16th May 2010, 17:58   #5

guys - i think there is a next gen q7 coming out next yr...

2011 Audi Q7 gets three new V6s, eight-speed transmission in Germany — Autoblog

would hate to buy something which gets a revision soon!!
Old 16th May 2010, 18:54   #6

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
im just going to have to say the q7 4.2tdi. it will blow you away. its cheaper than the cayenne d im pretty sure (but only for a short period) and is very spacious and comfortable. when you need speed it does 0-100 in 6.xx seconds. its the best deal going right now IMO.
guys, please read this-

Originally Posted by nikapur View Post
1) is it a SUV for indian conditions? i am not into high performance driving but my work takes me to not so well maintained state highways, internal town roads, construction sites etc...
i would suggest him the audi Q7 3.0 TDI. it can easily travel through not-so-good roads & has enough space for 5.

but for a few lakhs more, he could get the merc GL, its new (so not so common) & is a looker.
Old 16th May 2010, 18:59   #7

Is the Q7 3.0 TDI still available? Read in another thread that they have stopped accepting bookings for the 3.0 TDI and is only selling 4.2 TDI now.
Old 16th May 2010, 20:00   #8

according to me the ml class has the most comfortable seats in the front and the rear, for people who think the q7 looks a bit odd then the mclass is the best. i would say go for the mclass!
Old 16th May 2010, 20:12   #9

Is the Q7 3.0 TDI still available? Read in another thread that they have stopped accepting bookings for the 3.0 TDI and is only selling 4.2 TDI now.
they stopped 3 tdi since it did not meet the euro 4 norms. however, they plan to take booking for the new 3 tdi (euro/bharat 4 complaint) in oct this yr.
Old 16th May 2010, 20:13   #10

the ML from me too, looks damn good but you don't like the colours available. like everyone said the 4.2 Q7 is going to be quite a ride too!
Old 16th May 2010, 21:27   #11

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
guys, please read this-

i would suggest him the audi Q7 3.0 TDI. it can easily travel through not-so-good roads & has enough space for 5.

but for a few lakhs more, he could get the merc GL, its new (so not so common) & is a looker.
of course but at about the same price as the 3.0 tdi the 4.2 makes more sense. that is if the 3.0 is even available.
Old 26th May 2010, 16:27   #12

4.2 tdi @ special price is sold out..!! the new price is 66 ex show. plus i heard the audi is introducing 8 speed tiptronic on the q7s by oct-nov this yr. so if i go with q7, then might as well wait for a few months more!! (don't know how though)

merc seems to be introducing the new ML in sept at the paris auto show!!! otherwise i love this suv for its compactness and style.

i was going through the cayenne diesel brochure and it says that blended diesel upto 7% is ok. in india the blend is upto 10%...the dealerships were unaware of this and mentioned that any turbo diesel is fine! is this correct? any implication/serious of using indian diesel on the cayenne?
Old 27th May 2010, 15:54   #13

any implication/serious of using indian diesel on the cayenne?
The VWs run just as well on Indian diesel, as do the Audis. I don't see any potential problems for the Cayenne running on local diesel.
Old 28th May 2010, 20:53   #14

I would suggest you to wait for the new Cayenne which is expected to hit Indian shores soon.
Old 29th May 2010, 15:05   #15

@ gto - kindly refer to the scanned document from the cayenne diesel brochure. the thing is that VW and Audi are selling in 1000s and they are customising their cars for indian conditions. porsche just started selling their diesel last yr in india and if black smoke comes from the exhaust - they like (even tata motors) will say that the client got bad fuel filled!!

heading to dubai next week...might get to see the new cayenne there!!
ML Vs Cayenne D-cayenne_diesel_blend2.jpg