Old 21st October 2010, 07:49   #16

Originally Posted by v.anand View Post
Another option though is Safari
This was my favorite before INNOVA Launch, and wife still wants this.! But i don't like the products which gives niggles right from the showroom. Gone through some Safari threads here and its no different till now. When TATA will match up with the Koreans. (although my i20 still have a famous steering rattle)

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Go for the Innova with your eyes closed. The third row is not that bad, unless all of you are 6 footers. Also it is the most car like of the lot.
Me and my father are the tallest one with 5'10" and rest are 5'5" - 5'7". I like the car like stance of INNOVA, But wife prefers the TATA Safari look.

Originally Posted by mooza View Post
I was keenly following the thread below (on the Maruti RIII MPV), but do not know the launch dates (1st half of 2011 ??)

The Tata Venture is just around the corner, but I do not know if it will sit safe and squat at highway speeds of 100 +, if that's one of your main priorities
Looking forward to that Maruti MPV. Regarding Venture the first thing which came into my mind is "Hello, i'm not transporting some cargo in it".

Originally Posted by Buffetfan View Post
The Innova has lesser space - still manageable if the person in the second row grants a few centimeters of legroom out of the half a meter he has to you by sliding forward his seat. But the suspension backlash is not so severe and the seat construction feels more comfortable with no hanging bits about in general.

My choice for the 3rd seat - Innova. (I am 181 cms tall)
How about the ingress to the 3rd raw (as i never sat in the 3rd raw of INNOVA). If 5'5" - 5'7" 's sits in the middle raw i think there will be enough leg room.
Old 21st October 2010, 09:56   #17

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
How about the ingress to the 3rd row (as I never sat in the 3rd row of INNOVA).
Ease of ingress to the 3rd row is OK (done by folding the second row split seat fully forward).

Yes, I do agree with Buffetfan that the suspension of the Innova does not throw you upwards as much on the 3rd row, and this MUV has the ride comfort and handling closest to that of a car.

These are my experiences based on my couple of long trips in the Innova.

I too wish the Maruti MUV is launched at the earliest. Hoping for a good pricing in the range of 6 lakhs, in which case they will have a winner, as there is a sore lack of budget MUVs in India to move 7 people, and reasonably good looking (the MUV, that is ).

As of now we just have the boxy vans being dished out over these several years one after the other, in the name of people movers.
Old 21st October 2010, 14:41   #18

Innova is the first choice except the price. The showroom prices have increased by 17,000 this month. Only the top end comes with ABS + Airbags etc.. The middle veresion comes with (hold your breadth) PS + Pwindows + Music system. The lowest version doesnt even have PS.

Since you have time, why dont you hunt for used Innova?
Hope your company finances used cars too.

If your company constraints you to new vehicle, then Sub 10 lakh, the best spacious vehicles are Xylo, Grande {I didnt check Tavera}. I guess you need to wait and check the Maruti one.
Old 13th November 2010, 02:38   #19

How about the ingress to the 3rd raw (as i never sat in the 3rd raw of INNOVA). If 5'5" - 5'7" 's sits in the middle raw i think there will be enough leg room.

There will be enough room assuming the middle row person does not want to strecth his legs fully, slides his seat forward to accepts an amount of legroom normally found in C/D segment vehicles.

I have travelled in the third row of Innova and it is not a bad place to be, even on long drives.
Old 13th November 2010, 05:44   #20

Originally Posted by Buffetfan View Post
GTO,
I did a 100 km trip last year from Kolkata to Kharagpur in a Sumo Grande 3rd Row bench as I was going to my alma mater for some panel discussion and the student escort wanted to make me feel "comfortable". I am not the complaining type but half way through I ended up forcing the escort on the 3rd row.

Also did a few hill road trips around Manali area in the 3rd Row of Innova (~100kms on slightly poor / broken roads).

The Sumo grande has better leg space but the suspension backlash on bumps / speed bumps is severe and I developed a backache on the Golder Quadrilateral ride. Also this particular model has plastic bits and pieces coming loose and hanging about - not a pretty sight in the claustrophobic third row.

The Innova has lesser space - still manageable if the person in the second row grants a few centimeters of legroom out of the half a meter he has to you by sliding forward his seat. But the suspension backlash is not so severe and the seat construction feels more comfortable with no hanging bits about in general.

My choice for the 3rd seat - Innova. (I am 181 cms tall)

PS : I own an Innova so obviously a bit biased but the vehicle is truly *all you desire* for my family.

I assume you traveled in Grande. But Grande MK2 has a much better ride. However in terms of interior refinement it is still way behind Innova and Xylo.

@wildon
If you have time, I would suggest wait till the Jan 2011 autoshow. I am assuming (imagining) we would get to see New Safari and if possible Sumo Grande refresh.
Old 28th November 2010, 18:30   #21

Innova is a good vehicle, but it is highly priced and lacks features. Like people mentioned, only high end has the ABS. It has >12 lak ex showroom price. So i think it will be out of your budget by few laks. If you opt G version, it just has AC, PS and Power Windows. But for sure toyota will give you peace of mind

How about the Scorpio? compared to Safari / Innova it might not be too confy but it will be VFM.

Old 28th November 2010, 20:16   #22

Originally Posted by scorpio_fan View Post
How about the Scorpio? compared to Safari / Innova it might not be too confy but it will be VFM.
@wildon - IMO, I don't think Scorpio (or for that matter Safari / Grande either) would be a good choice if the regular passenger list includes 2 senior citizens. They will have to climb up / down during ingress / egress in these vehicles, and it will be tiresome for them once the initial novelty of a new vehicle wears off. You are better off restricting your choice to Innova or Xylo, where these manouevers would be easier on them physically.

Just my $0.02.

Vikram
Old 1st November 2013, 14:42   #23

Re: 7 Seater MPV

This was my favorite before INNOVA Launch, and wife still wants this.! But i don't like the products which gives niggles right from the showroom. Gone through some Safari threads here and its no different till now. When TATA will match up with the Koreans. (although my i20 still have a famous steering rattle).
Hey Wildon, no updates to this thread for the last 3 years. I am quite eager to know what did you finally settle for because I am in the same situation like you. 4 adults + 2 kids, including my aging parents.

I am thinking of 2 opstions:

Option#1:
Get a used Innova in the price band of 5-6 lacs (mileage on the odo or year of manufacturing is not a constraint). Use this vehicle only for outstation or incity trips when accompanied by the full family. Retain my hatch for the daily office commutes & city errands. Hole in the pocket, around 6 lacs

Option#2:
Sell off my current hatch (can expect to fetch 1.25 lacs max). Go for a 5+2 seater compact MUV a la Ertiga, Enjoy or the upcoming Honda Mobilio. Use it as a Multi purpose vehicle, daily office commute, city errands & long outstation trips with family. Net hole in the pocket, after selling my current hatch, 8-9 lacs.

I am still so much confused . Someone please guide me, what would be the best option.
Old 1st November 2013, 14:51   #24

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Hey Wildon, no updates to this thread for the last 3 years. I am quite eager to know what did you finally settle for because I am in the same situation like you. 4 adults + 2 kids, including my aging parents. I am thinking of 2 opstions: Option#1: Get a used Innova in the price band of 5-6 lacs (mileage on the odo or year of manufacturing is not a constraint). Use this vehicle only for outstation or incity trips when accompanied by the full family. Retain my hatch for the daily office commutes & city errands. Hole in the pocket, around 6 lacs Option#2: Sell off my current hatch (can expect to fetch 1.25 lacs max). Go for a 5+2 seater compact MUV a la Ertiga, Enjoy or the upcoming Honda Mobilio. Use it as a Multi purpose vehicle, daily office commute, city errands & long outstation trips with family. Net hole in the pocket, after selling my current hatch, 8-9 lacs. I am still so much confused . Someone please guide me, what would be the best option.
Hello! I would personally suggest the Ertiga. It is the most vfm MUV we have in the market. The Innova obviously due to the T badge is very reliable. But within 5-6lakhs it is difficult to find a Used Innova with less than 100k on the ODO. With the option 1 do you plan to retain your Indica? Why don't you search for a used Xylo instead? If possible wait till Feb '14 auto expo and see some new launches. Slightly OT- I saw the hino MUV today. The one like the quails. Any idea how is it? Cheers