Old 4th February 2011, 19:18   #1

Honda CRV 2.4 MT

Just wanted to know fellow BHPians view. I am trying to book Honda CRV and Honda dealership says they do not have in stock and would need to import it after booking which would take 3 months of delivery time.

Some how i dont get convinced. Any one went thru same experience?

Kamy
Old 4th February 2011, 19:40   #2

Re: Honda CRV 2.4 MT

JUST not the right time to put the hard earned money in a product which is set to be outdated(money wise) in 2-3-4 months.I would suggest to wait for diesel,or if you are still ok with petrol then also wait because their would or rather should be a huge price cut in near future.CRV is coming in CKD format for sure to remain alive in our(indians) minds.
Old 4th February 2011, 20:27   #3

IF you would consider the Grand Vitara 2.4 just go for it. Cheaper & better capability, cheaper to maintain.

But then it is a Maruti product, whereas you are looking at Honda top model

Take my word, drive the Vitara you may just end up buying it !!

Just my opinion.

Old 4th February 2011, 20:41   #4

Dude buy a BMW X1 or something. Anyway the CRV is the same price. And frankly it is highly overpriced.
Old 4th February 2011, 21:21   #5

Dude buy a BMW X1 or something. Anyway the CRV is the same price. And frankly it is highly overpriced.
You stole words from my mouth. The X1 has a logo sitting on the bonnet which says: BMW. When you read it, all the Hondas and Toyotas go out of the window (no offence meant; but there is a HUGE difference in brand equity). However, be ready for an expensive long term experience.
Old 4th February 2011, 21:33   #6

It's not only about the logo but the X1 is also sharper to drive, has better Interiors and comes with an awesome Diesel option. The BMW Dealers here are quoting delivery dates after Sep'11 for X1 CE 20d booked now :(

Last edited by .anshuman : 4th February 2011 at 21:34.
Old 4th February 2011, 22:16   #7

Like others have already said - you may want to consider the X1, or you may think the outlander way which does offer some decent trim with the works in gadgetry, if petrol is not an issue.
Old 5th February 2011, 01:25   #8

I had read somewhere that only "confirmed orders" would be imported for the CRV. So what the dealer says is true.

Having said that, you could really look at other options like the X1 or the Yeti. If Petrol is your thing then the X-trail or Outlander could be alternatives.
Old 5th February 2011, 01:32   #9

I drive a CR-V and i recommend you seriously consider a BMW X1
Old 5th February 2011, 05:53   #10

If you can wait 3 months, go for an X1. Wouldn't be as common, better interiors, drives better, same features, diesel option. It's not as spacious as the Cr-v and has higher ownership cost but its a BMW, yay!
Old 5th February 2011, 08:24   #11

Going with the flow here: CR-V was a nice vehicle when nothing else in that segment was available. Now you have some awesome SUVs and soft-roaders available in the same price range, why are you going with the boring and thirsty CR-V?
Old 9th February 2011, 12:57   #12

Thanks guys, for all your feedback and responses. Few points behind considering CRV/ softroader petrol are below.
1. It will be driven approx 12-14k in a year. 90% city driving.
2. I am looking for trendy sleek softroader. Manual transmission is my choice.
3. Interior and exterior to be urban and youthful.
4. price bracket Max 34 Lakh On road price.
5. Delivery time expected with in a month.

Drove outlander today, seems to be a good SUV but its an automatic :-( . fortuner is bulky. Xtrail and X1 will be testing in a day or two. Will keep posted, how ever somehow i find CRV and outlander appealing.

Last edited by kamy450 : 9th February 2011 at 12:58. Reason: Spell correction
Old 9th February 2011, 13:18   #13

Originally Posted by kamy450 View Post
Drove outlander today, seems to be a good SUV but its an automatic :-( . fortuner is bulky. Xtrail and X1 will be testing in a day or two. Will keep posted, how ever somehow i find CRV and outlander appealing.
Oh now that you are talking, so would I

Mate you have paddle shifts and sports mode in Outlander! What else do you need? Clutch? Anyway, if your 90% drive is going to be in the city, that too BLR, you are way better off in an auto tranny..

In case you didn't test out the sports mode and paddle shifts in your first test drive, take another test drive of OL and you would be pleasantly surprised with both the features.
Old 9th February 2011, 14:27   #14

Originally Posted by AlokSriva View Post
Mate you have paddle shifts and sports mode in Outlander! What else do you need? Clutch?
that was funneh! I don't know why people are so biased against ATs in this country, truly at a loss. Paddle shifts or even tiptronic beats any MT hollow.
Man, a budget of 34 lacs and you're going for the CR-V. Oh well, the heart wants what it wants, I guess!
Old 10th February 2011, 14:38   #15

STOP, buy the X1 diesel instead or wait for the new CKD CRV due with a price drop in diesel.

This is hard earned money going down the..