Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-m9.jpg

to this place famed for its unique tiles
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-m10.jpg

to this unit
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-m11.jpg

and to mansions and "murukku" making, respective captures
in Rohan's photologue above

to be contd...

Last edited by RSUDARSANAN : 26th September 2017 at 19:39.
Old 26th September 2017, 20:30   #32

Re: Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017

In continuation:

In the evening,

Some went temple tripping
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t1.jpg

Others took a dipping
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t2.jpg

and the day ended pretty much the same as the previous.

Departure day:

The overnight rain:

~ put paid to our morning cycling adventure to an old "aerodrome", constructed by the British Govt for the use of the King of Chettinadu.

~ facilitated a poolside breakfast
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t3.jpg

A parting click
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t4.jpg

The farewell
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t5.jpg

The byes
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-t6.jpg

THE END
Old 26th September 2017, 22:07   #33

Could not rate beyond 5* from my end. A well deserved, worthy & awesome G2G; highest by any standards as I know the difficulty to get inside the Kanadukathan palace. Hopefully some other time in the near future there's one more of such meet organized in the same place, I will definitely try not to miss.
Old 26th September 2017, 23:07   #34

Glad you all had a great time! Looking forward to catching up with you all on the next one
Old 29th September 2017, 19:42   #35

Some pictures from my end. All taken with mobile camera, so kindly adjust.

Bridge over the river Kavery in Tiruchirapalli
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-bridge.jpg

Leisurely waiting for a goods train to pass, which was also moving at a leisurely pace.
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-train.jpg

The door leading from the verandah to the house
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-door.jpg

Keys to the kingdom ... err, sorry, rooms!
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-keys.jpg

Some pictures of the room
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-room1.jpg
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-room2.jpg
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-room3.jpg
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-room4.jpg

Chief documenting the Village Walk
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-chief.jpg

Family crest on a house
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-crest.jpg

Sunset
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-sunset.jpg

Random picture of a house across the road
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-randomhouse.jpg

With time to kill, conversation blossoms
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-conversation.jpg

Contemplation - should I? Shouldn't I?
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-contemplation.jpg

Some strange creatures were sighted on the road
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-creature.jpg

The manager of the resort was kind enough to take us to his ancestral house in the village. Yes, all you see is Burma teak!!
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-burmateak.jpg

Terracotta horses in the Aiyappa Swami temple
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-horses.jpg

All set to come back home!
Team-BHP Meet @ Kanadukathan : 23rd - 25th September, 2017-pano_20170925_102934.jpg
Old 4th October 2017, 19:34   #36

Nice travelogue and seemed like a fun trip, unfortunately I didn't catch this earlier, else i'd have joined in as well.

Looking at the pics and the comments, I have booked a stay this weekend at the same place, as my folks wanted to visit the Madurai temple and I haven't driven out of station for a couple of months now
Old 4th October 2017, 19:37   #37

Interesting and a very informative post. Thanks for the pics.

What do you think is the right time in the year to visit this place?
Old 11th December 2017, 12:03   #38

This is really wonderful and made me decide that i should go towards chettinad early next year. So off in the 1st week to a place called Chidambara Villas. One question is the road condition between Bangalore to Karaikudi. GMaps shows 7hrs. How long did it take you guys to do this ? Any tips on what to watch out for during the drive (places, people)

Thanks in advance and a happy new year to all