Old 27th November 2011, 08:02   #1

Heavy steering vibration on idle

Hello guys, I needed some advice to rectify a problem in my Zen that i've been experiencing for 3 months now.

The problem is, when i crank the engine and leave it in idle condition, i experience a heavy vibration on my steering wheel, it becomes periodically intense and i suspect its something got to do with the engine rpm, because when i rev up the engine, all the vibrations disappear. I think the problem could be solved if i were to change engine mounts or is there anything in the steering assembly that needs to be changed (bearings, mounts etc.)

Mine is a 2000 model Zen Vxi. It has run over 1 lakh km. Currently its at my home town and I intend to bring it to Chennai next month. Kindly pour in your thoughts.
Old 27th November 2011, 10:46   #2

Re: Heavy vibration on steering wheel in low idle condition

For the steering vibration, the steering rod would need to be changed.

Apart from the vibration, do you hear a khad-khad sound coming from the engine bay when you go thru' rough roads? (Not from the suspension bushes mind you)

If you get this sound, you'd need to change the engine mounts.

If both, it would cost you ~6k (had them replaced for my Zen recently so know). Just the steering column is ~2k including labour IIRC.
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2011, 13:01   #3

Is the idle otherwise smooth, check also the idle rpm. Get it serviced and also have carb checked.
Old 27th November 2011, 13:16   #4

As it is old, it may be problem with engine mounting - rubber gone soft or deteriorated with time.

You may have to change any rubber bushing (if there) in the steering column. All in all with age rubber deteriorates and at ten years most rubber parts are past their prime. The best thing is to change all the rubber parts, if not changed till date
- All rubber hoses
- Flexible brake lines
- Brake internal rubber parts (brake overhaul kit has them all)
- All bushes and mountings

This is also the best time to change
- Brake linings/pads
- Clutch plate
- Brake fluid
- Coolant
- Gearbox oil

as most of them have a 50k km service life.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2011, 14:35   #5

2000 Zen should be a carburetor model. I'd advise to check the idle rpm 1st. After which follow the instructions above. Especially engine mountings.
Old 27th November 2011, 20:00   #6

I think i'll follow strategy:

1. Check for the low idle rpm.
2. If the idle rpm is ok, then i'll check on the steering column, first the rubber bushings, but i dont know if they'll replace just the rubber bushings.
3. Last i'll check on the engine mounts, because apart from these low idle vibration on the steering wheel, i do not feel any vibration on the floor or on any part of the vehicle.
Old 28th November 2011, 09:53   #7

Originally Posted by sweet_poison View Post
I think i'll follow strategy:

1. Check for the low idle rpm.
2. If the idle rpm is ok, then i'll check on the steering column, first the rubber bushings, but i dont know if they'll replace just the rubber bushings.
3. Last i'll check on the engine mounts, because apart from these low idle vibration on the steering wheel, i do not feel any vibration on the floor or on any part of the vehicle.
With bad engine mounts, you will see the engine vibrating violently at low RPM. An easy visual check. The mounts damp the vibration, so even at very low RPM there is not much engine movement.
Old 28th November 2011, 10:09   #8

Increase the idle rpm to 700-800 rpm, that should solve the issue i am sure.
Old 28th November 2011, 10:26   #9

I had a similar problem with M800. Turned out to be the engine mounts.
Old 29th March 2014, 18:41   #10

Baleno steering vibration on idle - Advice needed

I have a 2006 Baleno VXI that's run 60K KMs. I need your advice on the following:

1. When the car is in idle with the AC on, the steering vibrates like crazy for a second or two then becomes normal, this is repeated every ~20 seconds. What can be the reason?

2. Recently when I drove my BIL's Baleno (2006 again) I found that car's steering lighter than mine. I have had it looked up at Fortpoint but they say its normal. Any experts in the forum who have experience with this?

3. Since the car has run 60K KMs, would it make sense to have the engine mounts replaced? Any other bushes or other plastic/rubber part I should replace?

I plan to take the car for servicing next weekend (5/6th April), would appreciate your advice. Thanks.
Old 30th March 2014, 08:09   #11

Re: Baleno steering vibration on idle - Advice needed

Start the engine and open the engine bay to check for any visible excess engine movement. Also see how much play the engine mounts are allowing for the engine. Because the problem is intermittent observe for a few minutes if the engine shaking also follows the pattern of the steering vibration, if it does your mounts need adjusting first (if that doesn't work then replacement).

Steering feeling heavy has little to do with the vibrations. If you feel the car steering is much heavier than normal then possibly the hydraulic oil has to be flushed and replenished new (ahead of 80k schedule) then the P.S oil line has to be bled to remove air. This should take care of that.

Since it's a 60k service you might have to change the timing belt, this itself might reduce your engine vibrations. Mount related vibrations can be felt at all speeds usually. Tell them to pay attention to injector/throttle body cleaning, check spark plugs and timing belt.
dark.knight is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th March 2014, 09:25   #12

for steering heaviness -
did you recently get a wheel Alignment done ?
Old 30th March 2014, 19:24   #13

Originally Posted by dark.knight View Post
Start the engine and open the engine bay to check for any visible excess engine movement. Also see how much play the engine mounts are allowing for the engine. Because the problem is intermittent observe for a few minutes if the engine shaking also follows the pattern of the steering vibration, if it does your mounts need adjusting first (if that doesn't work then replacement).
Thanks dark.knight for your advice. Will definitely check.

Originally Posted by condor View Post
for steering heaviness -
did you recently get a wheel Alignment done ?
I usually get the wheels aligned every 6 months. I had the last alignment done some 4 months back.
Old 30th March 2014, 21:50   #14

@Sumith, suggest get the alignment checked, just in case. I have once experience a heavy steering due to alignment values being outside range.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2014, 13:07   #15

Re: Heavy steering vibration on idle

Engine vibration due to soft engine mounts will result in steering vibration also.

Heavy steering can be due to a lot of factors - low air pressure in tyres, bad alignment and low/no lubricant at all the joints in the linkages.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com