Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th June 2017, 17:26   #1

Engine oil levels coming down, but there's no leak

Dear Team, I have no automobile background, but I have a 2005 model Alto Lxi that was in excellent condition until recently I started noticing the engine oil level was coming down frequently although there was no leak under the car.
Every time it was topped up, it would stay good for a few months and then it's almost dry. The MASS personal is quite familiar with me and he insists there's no leak under, he suspects the oil must be burning out during running (I am not sure if such a thing happens), if that, what's the way forward, he has already hinted at an Engine work.
A few other details to add-
The car has already done 1.67Lakh. It has only been serviced in a MASS all these years.
Until 1.2Lakh or so, the engine was extremely smooth, but in the last 30K or so, I've had a rough noise emanating from the engine when I cross 80kmph, it is no longer responsive like it used to be.
Appreciate any inputs please.

Thanks, Best
Old 19th June 2017, 18:07   #2
BANNED

Engine oil levels coming down without a leak

It is time for that engine overhaul. 1.67lakhs is a lot of KM. Some piston ring or oil scraper ring may have given away.
Just to be confirmed please ask your MASS to check the compression of each cylinder. If lower than specified in the service manual, will again mean the above defect and overhaul.
A quick check would be to check the condition of spark plugs at FNG and do post pictures of it from all three units.

Last edited by norhog : 19th June 2017 at 18:11.
norhog is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th June 2017, 18:27   #3
Senior - BHPian

re: Engine oil levels coming down, but there's no leak

Quote: