Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2019, 13:44   #16
BHPian

Re: Pain in left leg while driving. Is the AT responsible?

Hi everyone, I am an orthopedic surgeon, hopefully i can give a better view on the problem.

Sciatic nerve is the thickest nerve in the body. The nerve has origin from different spinal segments from L4 to S3. There are many factors to cause the sciatica.

1) condition of vertebrae and disc.

2) strain on the paravertebral musculature.

3) kind of employment which the individual is in.

4) time frame during which the nerve or nerve root is compressed.

I would suggest to go for an MRI.

Avoid bending forward, that activity can cause pressure on the nerve.

You experience radiating pain from gluteal region till foot.

It can be unilateral or bilateral.

Posture definitely plays a major role in nerve pains.
drpavan is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 1st April 2019, 17:27   #17
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpavan View Post
Hi everyone, I am an orthopedic surgeon, hopefully i can give a better view on the problem.

Posture definitely plays a major role in nerve pains.
Can it also be caused by keeping the wallet in one's back pocket and sitting on it while driving?
I used to experience pain on long journeys with that practice, but now since I make it a point to remove the wallet from my pocket first thing when I enter the car, there's no pain whatsoever.
GrandTourer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st April 2019, 19:45   #18
Senior - BHPian

Again another opinion from an orthopedic surgeon. I've been practicing for the past 10 years and mainly into joint replacement, but just wanted to clarify a few things.
Definitely an important cause is pelvic tilt caused due to a wallet. or due to odd driving position like offset pedals.