Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd November 2021, 10:14   #16
BHPian

Re: All your questions about DPF and BS6 Diesel in general answered

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjanayak View Post
I am a Diesel Calibration Engineer by profession specializing in DPF calibration for Indian vehicles . I see a lot of queries and some misunderstanding about BS6 in general and DPF specifically on this forum. So as an expert I would like to clarify some of your doubts and questions regarding these things. So post your questions and queries below and I will try my best to answer them for you.
Hi. Great to know about your background. Really helps.
I know that DPF is not a new technology and was available since Euro 5 era; just that the technology is new for India.

I own a 2020 EcoSport 1.5 TDCi with DPF and wish to remove the DPF altogether. This is because, I fear that I will get stuck in the high altitudes (>8000 ft)where driving at high speeds is not feasible and manual regen is not available in my make and model. I don't want the anxiety related with DPF; although I have never been stuck in the 9000 km ownership experience over 1 year.

How should I proceed in doing so?
Should removing the DPF filter do the trick along with the old map of EcoSport 1.5?
Please recommend an action. I am really looking for a hassle free ownership experience with go anywhere capability.

Thanks in advance. Really looking forward for your reply.
Regards,
Subhasish
ron82x3 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2021, 11:43   #17
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by ron82x3 View Post
Should removing the DPF filter do the trick along with the old map of EcoSport 1.5?
I am not sure but I think if you remove the DPF, your car may fail the emission test.
Old 2nd November 2021, 12:03   #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhil Beke View Post