Old 25th June 2007, 23:45   #1

Honda Accord VTi vs Honda Accord V6

Hi everybody

I am looking for some information regarding two cars.
The cars in question are Honda Accord VTi M/T( 142 bhp, 2.4 Lt iVTEC engine, manual transmission ) and Honda V6 A/T ( 221 bhp, 3 Lt VTEC engine, automatic transmission ).

Now the Honda Accord V6 is a good car , but the weakest point is the auto trans. If it had manual trans it would have been awesome. But only a/t is available in V6.
I heard that the accelaration figures of both the cars is same and so is the top speed .
So can anyone verify , if the 0-100 figures of the both cars are same or similar.

Thanks for your time

Dinesh
Old 26th June 2007, 02:04   #2

i dont know the exact figures but the v6 is faster
BADA HAI TO BETHAR HAI
Old 26th June 2007, 04:21   #3

I have been driving around the 2007 Accord inline-4 for sometime here in US. it's pretty smooth and not bad at all compared to the V6. one thing is for sure. V6 is gonna drink petrol like crazy. yeah the initial acc is gonna be really good in the V6 and torque will also be good.
Old 26th June 2007, 09:10   #4

Yeah, in terms of acceleration, there isn't much diff between the 2 cars. But i think the V6 will have a slightly higher top speed.

Until the V6 gets a 6spd MT, you can forget it. The 2.4 MT is the better Accord to own, as of now.

Shan2nu
Old 26th June 2007, 10:50   #5

Some roadtests have actually shown the I-4 to be quicker than the V6 in the 0 - 100 dash. Very simple put; its down to the trannys. Do you want a manual or an automatic?
Old 26th June 2007, 11:09   #6

We have an Accord 2.4 A/T. It's a very smooth and comfortable car to drive. But the lack of an M/T does take out all the fun out of driving.

If you are looking for a spirited car for some driving fun, then the Accord 2.4 M/T will be better than the V6 A/T.

Did I forget to say the 2.4 is quiet fuel efficient too?
Old 26th June 2007, 18:35   #7

Like GTO said, I have also heard that the Accord VTi M/T ( 142 bhp, 2.4 Lt inline iVTEC engine ) is actually faster than the Accord V6 whose six cylinders in V configuration has 79 more horses.

Now this happens because in case of a manual transmission , there is a solid grip/traction between the clutch plates and the pressure plates. But in case of a automatic transmission there is a torque converter instead of a clutch assembly. The power is transmitted by the principle of fluid transmission. A lot of power is wasted in the fluid transmission.

So no matter , how much you floor the A pedal and redline the engine the wheels are simply not getting the power of 221 horses.
With around 55% more power , I was expecting the V6 to be at least half a second faster than the 2.4 Lt. But the V6 is slower. Maybe by a fraction of a second, but slow is slow.

I don't think I would ever drag race in V6 with a 2.4 Lt, but it is nice to know that I have a faster car. It's like having a ZX-14; you don't have to drag race with everyone to prove that it the fastest production bike on the planet.

Hearing that the new V6 will come with 6 speed manual transmission, similar to that of CRV, maybe with same engine power or increased power.
Then the true potential of the 221 horses will show colour ; and the FE would get better. 0-100 dash may come under 6 sec, which 9 something sec with the present configuration.

The current V6 configuration which gets beaten by it's smaller sister in 0-100 dash, is something I don't like after spending nearly 3lacs more.

Dinesh
Old 26th June 2007, 21:15   #8

Hearing that the new V6 will come with 6 speed manual transmission, similar to that of CRV, maybe with same engine power or increased power.
Then the true potential of the 221 horses will show colour ; and the FE would get better. 0-100 dash may come under 6 sec, which 9 something sec with the present configuration.
It wont be under 6 secs. But you can surely expect something between 7.4 - 7.8 secs. The 244bhp Accord Coupe does 0-96kmph in the late 6 sec region.

Shan2nu
Old 26th June 2007, 23:37   #9

But you can surely expect something between 7.4 - 7.8 secs.
That's good enough. Any figure under 8 sec is good enough.
Old 2nd July 2007, 11:56   #10

I was just reading this months "Autocar" shootout between the Accord V6 and the Nissan Teana.

The old V6 used to do 100 in 9.4 secs but the new one was tested at 8.38 secs!!! Even they couldn't figure out the 1 sec diff between the 2 cars.

Here's how the new V6 accelerates. Source - Autocar - July Issue
0-10 - 0.76
0-20 - 1.32
0-30 - 2.05
0-40 - 2.80
0-50 - 3.53
0-60 - 4.26
0-70 - 5.06
0-80 - 6.13
0-90 - 7.24
0-100 - 8.38
0-110 - 9.56
0-120 - 11.17
0-130 - 13.05
0-140 - 15.06
0-150 - 17.15
0-160 - 19.30
0-170 - 21.86

Top speed - They were at 230kmph when they ran out of road (Old V6 maxed out at 212).

At the this rate, the 1/4 mile time could well be in the 15.6-15.8 sec region.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 2nd July 2007 at 12:09.
Old 2nd July 2007, 14:50   #11

It could be due to the new 5-speed gearbox or maybe a bigger cheque in ACI's mailbox!
Old 2nd July 2007, 14:52   #12

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
It could be due to the new 5-speed gearbox or maybe a bigger cheque in ACI's mailbox!
Yup it has the new grade logic gearbox. That's probably the reason. ACI's bank account you mean Iraghava.

btw: any owners of the 2.4MT here. what city and highway mileage do you guys get?
Old 3rd July 2007, 02:07   #13

The old V6 used to do 100 in 9.4 secs but the new one was tested at 8.38 secs!!!
If it is true , then it's good.

But when the new Accord was released I had gone to Prime Honda ( the biggest H.A.S.S. in NCR , I think ) for servicing of my NHC. I asked the sales guys as well the service/ technical guys that what is the difference between the old and the new Accord .
The answer I got was that the only changes are cosmetic changes and some addition of little toys other wise , it's the same car. Same engine, same gear box, same suspension.
A few days ago I had gone to Fortune Honda ( the H.A.S.S. in Lucknow ) and asked around ; got the same answer.

My guess is first time the V6 was driven in "D" mode ( Normal Drive mode) and 9.4 sec was achieved. Later it was( new V6 which is technically identical ) driven in "S" mode ( Sports mode ) and 8.38 sec was achieved.

A little off topic, but in my opinion, Auto Car India mag is seriously unrelieble. This car helps the readers less in choosing their cars and helps the car manufacturers more in selling their products.

Dinesh
Old 3rd July 2007, 10:04   #14

Any changes in the new 2.4 Accord automatic 0-100 figures? Doesn't that also have a grade logic gearbox?
Old 3rd July 2007, 10:10   #15

Just got this from the Honda India website:

These are the changes in the 2007 Accord Automatic:
  • <LI class="justtxt lspace">Replaces previous 4-speed automatic. <LI class="justtxt lspace">Lightweight, compact design. <LI class="justtxt lspace">Grade Logic Control’ for minimum shift shocks & enhanced performance. <LI class="justtxt lspace">High-efficiency, ultra-thin torque converter. <LI class="justtxt lspace">Second-generation active lockup torque converter contributes to improved fuel economy.
  • Lighter and more compact than the previous gearbox.
How much do these help in the 0-100 figures for the 2.4 automatic? The magazines give the same figures for the newer accord too.