Old 14th September 2023, 00:51   #1

I recently purchased a used 2013 Polo GT from a trusted certified car reseller. The car however within 2 weeks started to show the DSG transmission faluire signs.

Firstly the Gear Indicator started blinking during my drive back home. Since i had done a fair bit of homework before getting a Polo GT, i knew it had someting to do with the Mechatronic Unit, but since the car was just 2 weeks old i initially ignore the error since the same would go away after restarting the car.

This continued for few days after which i noticed a pattern in which the Indicator would start blinking after 40 mins of drive, but it had no impact on the driving and gear shifts. After a week of living with the issue, i decided to get the car scanned. The scanner showed the P17BF error. After consulting with VW and few other Repair shops i was required to either replace the Mechatronic Unit from VW or find out other means to resolve the Issue.

As i was not ready spending a huge chunk on the repairs from VW i opted for a reputed Transmission Repair mechanic in Mumbai who would replace the unit with a refurbished one.

After the repair was done the car was running smooth without any issues, but very recently i am facing a newer issue in which on Initial Ignition the the Gear Indicator continues to blink in all the gear positions right from start. Also during this error phase the car does not go above 1st Gear while driving with the reverse gear not working.

This again goes off after restarting the car and it drives normally again with Engine Light On on the Dashboard which goes off after some time.

I have faced this issue twice within 15 days of Mechatronic repair thus i am a bit worried on the reliability of drive.

The Repair Guy says this is a common issue so wanted to check with the fellow Polo GT owners as to how common is the issue and is it something that i should be worried.

Further to add, currently ths car is now stuck in 1st Gear and the previous restart method isnt working. On ignition the gear indicator is continuously blinking with the reverse gear inoperable.

Last edited by Sheel : 16th September 2023 at 18:06. Reason: Back to back posts.
MiteshRane is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 14th September 2023, 11:55   #2

Re: VW Polo GT TSI | DSG problems even after a repair

Who is this reputable gearbox mechanic? If he cares about his reputation, he will fix your transmission for free, or at a heavily discounted rate.

But remember, with the maintenance & upkeep of German cars, there are no shortcuts. You must ALWAYS use the best quality parts & best quality labour.

Good luck with the repairs & do keep us updated. But such an experience is the reason I don't recommend 10-year old German cars to anyone. The parts are too expensive & the reliability is patchy (especially as the car ages). If on a tight budget, Japanese cars are the best.

Last edited by GTO : 14th September 2023 at 11:57.
GTO is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 14th September 2023, 14:33   #3

I am not familiar with Polo GT but in general if something is blinking, one should try to get it diagnosed and not continue to drive the car. Looks like it gave you enough warning before getting stuck. I would suggest you to take it to the authorised service center.
Guna is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th September 2023, 10:52   #4

I fear both your “trusted” car reseller and “reputed” mechanic have taken you for a ride. I’d first go after the “trusted” car reseller and find a fix with him, but you may have negated that chance by going to a mechanic and getting work done on the car.

Ignoring warning lights and symptoms - especially if they repeat, is not being wise at all and is a recipe for disaster. No warning light coming on is a common issue and ok to live with.

I think your recourse now is with the mechanic you went to, as GTO has highlighted. He is going to swear it’s something else that needs replacement or repairs, you have to stick to your guns and insist on a big discount. I’d also open a conversation with the dealer you bought the vehicle from. Did they offer you any warranty or provide you with a checklist saying that the gearbox was in good shape?

Last edited by Yesterdaysnews : 15th September 2023 at 10:54.
Yesterdaysnews is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 15th September 2023, 10:56   #5

Originally Posted by MiteshRane View Post
I recently purchased a used 2013 Polo GT from a trusted certified car reseller. The car however within 2 weeks started to show the DSG transmission faluire signs.
I think the seller must have known this issue and sold the car anyway.

I am sure you got a great deal on the car also. I presume around 3.5 lakhs.

Just get the best parts and resolve the issue, thats the best way to deal with old german cars, else, they will haunt you as a car enthusiast.

P.S. - I own a Polo 1.6 and have been following this approach after 1 year of ownership. You can't live with this car with the same mindset as a Maruti! Repairs, never hold for more than a few months.
2000rpm is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 15th September 2023, 12:13   #6

Originally Posted by Yesterdaysnews View Post
I fear both your “trusted” car reseller and “reputed” mechanic have taken you for a ride. I’d first go after the “trusted” car reseller and find a fix with him, but you may have negated that chance by going to a mechanic and getting work done on the car.

Ignoring warning lights and symptoms - especially if they repeat, is not being wise at all and is a recipe for disaster. No warning light coming on is a common issue and ok to live with.

I think your recourse now is with the mechanic you went to, as GTO has highlighted. He is going to swear it’s something else that needs replacement or repairs, you have to stick to your guns and insist on a big discount. I’d also open a conversation with the dealer you bought the vehicle from. Did they offer you any warranty or provide you with a checklist saying that the gearbox was in good shape?
I purchased the Car from Cars24 with a 12 Months Warrantly, however in the warrantly booklet they only covered Manual Transmission and had mentioned they dont cover Automatic Tranmission. Hence afted repeatedly trying with Cars24 for a Repair they stood by the Booklet and denied any service for the transmission.

Only after going through the Cars24 ordeal i started looking out for other options. The VW Service center quoted replacement of the Mechatronic would cost around 1.5 Lacs to 2.0 Lacs and would take 1 - 2 Months for the entire process. Since i was not ready to chunk out a large sum considering this would account for about 30% - 40% of the cost on a 10 Yr old car i didnt find this solution to be working for me.

After going through Multiple Reports on Sehmbi Motors i decided to bear the cost myself and dropped the car to Sehmbi Motors, Madh. He promised me the car would be ready in 2 weeks and also provided a 6 months warranty on the repair.

Now as of now its been only 2 week post getting the delivery and i am now facing a new Issue wherein the Gear Box i stuck in 1st Gear and the Reverse wont work. I contacted him immediately after encountering the issue for the first time but he if the car works fine after restart there aren't issues to be looked at and the Engine check light can be deleted.

Since he assured there wont be any issues driving the car, i drove it for the next 2 days with the car running normally.

The 3rd day however the problem reappeared and the blinking just wouldn't go away which shows there is something wrong with the repairs being done on the Gearbox.

As of today i need to tow the car to his workshop. Will keep the forum updated on the situation of repairs at Sehmbi.
MiteshRane is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 15th September 2023, 22:31   #7

If they have given you a six month warranty, they have to get this done! Give them hell about the fact that you let them know about the warning lights popping up before and you now had to pay for towing!
Yesterdaysnews is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 11:47   #8

If you’re looking to get your car fixed, I’d say somehow try and get your car to The Mechanix Automotive in Pune. They’ve taken up quite a lot of these transmission repairs and also the Octavia AWD conversion projects in collaboration with NSquareAutoTech.
sarfraz1997 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 13:57   #9

From whatever I could read, this sounds like a case of a clutch pack needing replacement than a mechatronic unit needing replacement. A thorough diagnosis is needed. I do not really know anyone in Mumbai who can thoroughly go through the car without costing a bomb on your pocket.

As sarfaraz1997 said, if you can drive to Pune somehow, Mechanix Automotive Pune would be my pick. They specialise in VAGs, labour is affordable and they are skilled to handle jobs like these.
Varun_HexaGuy is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 17:09   #10

I would suggest you to get the clutch system diagnosed as clutch K1 might be stuck in its position and if you try using the reverse gear, it would not engage.
You should hold up the guy who repaired your transmission.

Last edited by Sheel : 16th September 2023 at 18:10. Reason: PM coming up. Thanks.
Areen is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 21:38   #11

I purchased the Car from Cars24 with a 12 Months Warrantly, however in the warrantly booklet they only covered Manual Transmission and had mentioned they dont cover Automatic Tranmission. .
This should have been a red flag as you were buying AT and not MT. How are you suppose to trust a used car if they exclude a main system like transmission from warranty, that too a DSG. Usually engine and transmission are 2 critical things of concern while buying a used car.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 16th September 2023 at 21:40.
Aviator_guy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 23:36   #12

If you want to keep the car, go visit a VW service centre and get a new unit; clearly your trusted reseller and reputed transmission mechanic need a revision of opinion.
Bhodrolok is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th September 2023, 23:43   #13

I purchased the Car from Cars24 with a 12 Months Warrantly, however in the warrantly booklet they only covered Manual Transmission and had mentioned they dont cover Automatic Tranmission. Hence afted repeatedly trying with Cars24 for a Repair they stood by the Booklet and denied any service for the transmission.

Wowser, wasnt aware of such clauses. They sell you a automatic car and say only manual gearbox is covered.

GTO maybe this needs to be highlighted, i am sure many folks would not be aware of such ridiculous clauses.
SideView is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 17th September 2023, 11:55   #14

Originally Posted by SideView View Post
Wowser, wasnt aware of such clauses. They sell you a automatic car and say only manual gearbox is covered.

GTO maybe this needs to be highlighted, i am sure many folks would not be aware of such ridiculous clauses.
So this is not what is in my warrantly booklet but across all the cars that they sell. All their warranty booklets now specifically mention only Manual Transmission and the Automatic Transmission is not covered by their 12 Months Warranty.
Old 27th September 2023, 18:39   #15

Hi Mitesh, what is the latest on this?

I too had a mechatronics failure, about 2 months back, on my 9 year old GT TSI.
Sent the car on a flat bed to The Mechanix Automotive here in Pune but he recommended I get the work done at an authorised VW service centre as they offer a 2 year warranty & the mechatronics doesn't really have a pre-defined life span, could go kaput anytime or run flawless again for another 9 years. No way to tell, so best to have the assurance of a 2 year warranty. Plus it ain't cheap.
Sushant at The Mechanix Automotive is surely capable of undertaking the job but he always provides sound advice & hence so many fellow Bhipans recommend this FNG.

Actually, I had even contemplated sending the car to Mumbai to N1Racing for a repair but glad I didn't go down that path. Getting it replaced was the best decision , I feel, though a costly one.

I spent little less than 1L on the new mechatronics unit (from authorised VW centre) and the car is buttery smooth again.
Can share a photo of the bill if you want.
Thought of sharing my experience with this issue.

Last edited by adityan27 : 27th September 2023 at 18:41.
adityan27 is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com