Old 9th July 2024, 10:42   #1

Issue with Engine Oil mixing up with coolant

Hi fellow BHPians

I need an urgent expert opinion and diagnosis on my Creta 2017, 1.6 Diesel, MT

The car ran for 55000 kms till date, regularly serviced in the service center

Post the last service in September, in January, at around 50,000 kms there was excessive engine heating that we could feel, and there was coolant water splashed on the inside of the wheels and slightly on the front doors.

I took it to the service center and they said the engine oil and coolant were getting mixed, they cleaned the radiator for any blockages. They kept the car for 2 days drove it for 100 kms and checked through and returned the car

Yesterday, when driving around, there was a thud sound in the engine, so I immediately stopped the car as I didn't want any damage to the engine. I called in a local mechanic to check, and he said that the engine oil is low and not to start the car. I called in the service center and got the vehicle towed

Today got a call from the service center, below are the problems that they understood after topping up the engine oil and testing the car
1. Coolant is being pushed up and is spilling. So there is pressure being built up.
2. Could be a possibility of engine oil pushing the coolant up due to a valve failure in the water bed of the engine (which separates engine oil and coolant in the engine)
3. Head Gasket failure which could push the engine oil and lead to leak /depletion. The reason for this could be, as stated by the service team is, if the piston rings are worn which will impact the gasket (I doubt the worn-out happening, as the engine has run 55k kms)

The resolution they are suggesting is to open the engine, replace the gasket, and change all the one-time parts, and water bed with an estimate of 1 to 2 lakhs

So wanted an expert opinion on the issue and how to proceed
reddyboi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 14:01   #2

re: Issue with Engine Oil mixing up with coolant

Originally Posted by reddyboi View Post
So wanted an expert opinion on the issue and how to proceed
Get a mechanic to fix the exterior leaks, water wash, vacuum, shinny polish, clean the engine bay and sell the car asap.

The vehicle will not feel the same after all the repair work.

Last edited by HillMan : 9th July 2024 at 14:02.
HillMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 16:23   #3

Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
sell the car asap.
Is the issue that bad? Because we usually stick to our cars for a minimum of 10 years. This is the first car that we encountered such an issue with

Can you please help me understand the extent of the problem and why you suggested selling off?
reddyboi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 17:42   #4

Can you please help me understand the extent of the problem and why you suggested selling off?
I am also a long term user keeping the car as long as possible. I had even got a cracked engine block alloy welded in one my cars to keep it running.

Take a second opinion with another mechanic as well.

Body work as many no issues. But once the engine or gearbox is opened, it never goes back to its original feel. It will run Ok but the soul is lost. Everything inside is synchronised and ageing well together. The maintenance cost will also increase after major repairs. My personal opinion!

There are people in the group who have managed to bring back vehicles from scrap to life. But the modern vehicles with all the complexities and electronics are not the same.

Here is a recent article that has some similarity to your case:.
https://www.team-bhp.com/news/toyota...ak-2-cylinders

Last edited by Rehaan : 10th July 2024 at 09:49. Reason: Merging consecutive posts... :)
HillMan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 19:21   #5

Is the issue that bad? Because we usually stick to our cars for a minimum of 10 years. This is the first car that we encountered such an issue with

Your head gasket has failed so yes it's a pretty serious and bad news. You'll likely need to rebuild it the engine. It's a premature failure, car engines are not supposed to do that. I suppose the overheating was too major and causes the gasket to fail.
Doge is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 19:55   #6

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
Your head gasket has failed so yes it's a pretty serious and bad news
I have doubt with this hypothesis. If at all the head gasket is broken, wouldn't there be
1. Leak of engine oil
2. Loss of power
3. Any engine stuttering due to air leak/oil leak
Old 9th July 2024, 19:55   #7

I need an urgent expert opinion and diagnosis on my Creta 2017, 1.6 Diesel, MT
Dont know how else to say this... you may need a new engine. Try to get one from a known accident car in Delhi Mayapuri or do a small temporary fix for about 30-50k and sell the car off.

A new gen Hyundai engine can NEVER be rebuilt to its OE condition.

PS - If it matters the most, get a new engine from showroom. Write to Hyundai State sales office for a special discount. If your complete service is done in the A.S.S then you may plead your case saying it was a manufacturing issue but it is upto them to give you a discount. You only need the engine not the fuel system, coolant system, starter and alternator and AC compressor, wiring or ECM. It will still be a 1 to 1.5 Lac bill.
svsantosh is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 20:12   #8

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Write to Hyundai State sales office for a special discount. If your complete service is done in the A.S.S.
Till now all services are done in A.S.S

Can you please share any contact at Hyundai that can help

Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
Mods, sorry for back to back post. This post can be merged.

Here is a recent article that has some similarity to your case:.
https://www.team-bhp.com/news/toyota...ak-2-cylinders
I think this issue is different on two factors
1. Never in my vehicle did the high temperature icon popped up
2. If coolant and engine oil is mixed, it would have resulted in engine oil level increase as well. But in my case only the coolant level is increasing as soon as we fill up engine oil and not other way round. This is checked by the service team as well

Last edited by Eddy : 10th July 2024 at 08:16. Reason: Merged. Please use the edit / multiquote functionality instead of back to back posts within 30 mins on the same thread.
reddyboi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 23:04   #9

2. If coolant and engine oil is mixed, it would have resulted in engine oil level increase as well. But in my case only the coolant level is increasing as soon as we fill up engine oil and not other way round. This is checked by the service team as well
It is natural that engine oil is entering the coolant passage since Engine oil pressure is much higher than the coolant pressure.

It's just luck that you haven't experienced serious symptoms so far but at least you've discovered the problem now rather than later.

Since you've been loyal to Hyundai service, you should push them to repair the engine under goodwill. I think they will after you put some pressure through team BHP!
Motard_Blr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th July 2024, 23:41   #10

Difficult to say without pics. But if the engine oil dipstick / engine oil filler cap OR the coolant expansion tank / radiator has stuff which is like milkshake, then yes, you do have a serious issue.

If there is no milkshake, then it must something else. Please add some pics especially of the above items to get some more understanding of the issue.
govigov is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th July 2024, 00:23   #11

If a head gasket fails, coolant and oil end up mixing. If its just this, open the head, check the rings like the mechanics have suggested, even if as a precaution you replace them, its not a big deal. They will check the cylinders for scoring too when they open.

Get this done and you have infused a new life to your engine.

Don't worry it might sound like an open heart surgery, but in real, its just angioplasty.
humyum is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th July 2024, 03:15   #12

Re: Issue with Engine Oil mixing up with coolant

1. Coolant is being pushed up and is spilling. So there is pressure being built up.
When coolant is being pushed up this is a clear sign of a problem with the head gasket

2. Could be a possibility of engine oil pushing the coolant up due to a valve failure in the water bed of the engine (which separates engine oil and coolant in the engine)
No, that is impossible. The only valve in the water bed (cooling) of the engine is the thermostat and it has nothing to do with the engine oil.

3. Head Gasket failure which could push the engine oil and lead to leak /depletion. The reason for this could be, as stated by the service team is, if the piston rings are worn which will impact the gasket (I doubt the worn-out happening, as the engine has run 55k kms)
No, piston rings being worn has nothing to do with the head gasket. They don't even get anywhere near the head gasket.

This is a very poor diagnosis and worse advice you are getting. At face value, the most likely cause of the problem is a leaky head gasket.
This means hot and pressurised exhaust gasses are making it into your cooling liquid. When you take the radiator or expansion tank gap off, (careful when hot!!), you might see the bubbling of the cooling liquid. A sure sign that the head gasket is leaking.

You should not drive the car, but get the head gasket replaced. If you are lucky that is all it takes. The cylinder head does not checking if it is not warped and needs skimming. Whenever I replace a leaking head gasket I would always get the cylinder head skimmed. Just to be sure. Also, a good time to check the in- and outlet valves, their stem bushes and seals!

Not the end of the world. Pretty routine job for a competent mechanic.

Good luck

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 10th July 2024, 08:58   #13

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
..At face value, the most likely cause of the problem is a leaky head gasket...
Originally Posted by Doge View Post
Your head gasket has failed so yes it's a pretty serious and bad news. You'll likely need to rebuild it the engine. It's a premature failure, car engines are not supposed to do that. I suppose the overheating was too major and causes the gasket to fail.
I took it to the service center and they said the engine oil and coolant were getting mixed, they cleaned the radiator for any blockages. They kept the car for 2 days drove it for 100 kms and checked through and returned the car
This might also be a reason of oil cooler failure. Most cars have coolant circulating through the oil cooler and I've seen the coolers corrode and it ends up in mixing the oil and coolant.

Further as a consequestial damage, engine heats up and fries the headgasket.

Last edited by Rehaan : 10th July 2024 at 09:48. Reason: Closing first quote tag :)
dhanushs is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th July 2024, 09:29   #14

I had an issue of coolant mixing with engine oil and the coolant changes to dark color with my 1st Gen Figo last year. There is a frequent need of coolant top up also. The initial estimate by the FNG is ~20K and they mentioned 'engine head' etc. However, the issue was with some oil cooler assembly and the total cost is 15K including regular service. So not necessarily this could be a big issue which needs major work in Engine. Better to get a second opinion.
r_devakumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th July 2024, 09:43   #15

1. Was there is leak/burst of the coolant pipe that caused the coolant loss in the first place?

2. This is a very important point. The most common cause of this is the oil cooler failure. It sits right next to the dip stick and is the part of the oil filter assy .It a heat exchanger for oil and coolant where coolant takes away some temperature from the oil. If the heat exchanger is cracked on the inside then the oil will get mixed with coolant and not the other way round.

On a cold engine, open the radiator cap and crank the engine. Is coolant spurting out of the radiator outlet? If yes the head gasket is shot.

On a running engine at idle, open the dipstick. If there is smoke coming out then this indicates engine blowby -> meaning blown piston/rings. If no smoke then the bottom half of the cylinder is good.

If it's only head gasket it is a easy and simple fix. When the engine head is removed, the surface of the block and head may have to be cleaned with smooth emery paper to remove coolant residue. The head needs to be inspected for valve leaks by blowing compressed air into the ports and checking if there is any air leakage from the valves. If nothing, then replacing the head gasket will solve the issues.

You need to start eliminating the possibilities one by one and narrow down on the cause. Since you did not drive on an overheated engine for long, I feel all your engine needs is a head-gasket change.

Check this video.

Last edited by sagarpadaki : 10th July 2024 at 09:46.
sagarpadaki is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com