Old 30th November 2024, 21:58   #1

Honda Accord V6 AT Transmission Failure | Repair Vs new gearbox at 50% discount

Hello to all,

A few days ago, I was driving home from college when I slotted into neutral while waiting for a signal. When I tried to go back into drive, it refused to engage. The car was shuddering slightly and refusing to go into gear. Even the manual 1, 2, and 3 modes weren’t working. I restarted the car as a last resort, and it went into drive with a big jerk. The car drove normally after that, and since I was close to home, I went and parked it.

Upon checking the transmission fluid, I found it was right below the minimum line. I believed this to be the culprit. The next day, I bought genuine Honda ATF from the dealership. I incrementally added fluid until it was between the minimum and maximum lines and let the car idle for a bit. Do note, I filled the fluid after the engine was at idle temperature for an accurate fill.

While test driving it, the car seemed to run fine, but suddenly, there was a complete power loss in all gears. The car would rev but not gain speed. Even manually slotting gears made no difference, and it still refused to go into drive from neutral after some driving. I also noticed a whining noise that increased with engine speed, though it wasn’t engine-related.

This was a huge problem, and I was absolutely heartbroken and devastated. I was aware of the transmission issues on this model of car, but I never expected them to show up as early as 1 lakh kilometers. With few options and desperate to save the car, I limped it to my ASC, hoping they would give me some amazing news—maybe a fluid refill or an unplugged sensor.

I dropped the car off and waited anxiously. The next day, I simply received a picture with an estimated quotation of ₹4.5 lakhs for a new transmission and torque converter. I was incredibly sad. This car means so much to me, and I couldn’t even begin to fathom life without it.

I started looking for alternatives and came across SEHMBI Auto Transmission Repair in Bangalore. I called them, and they were aware of the issues my car could potentially have. They gave me a quote of ₹80,000 (not including a torque converter) for a transmission overhaul. This was a huge relief and a very feasible option. I did some more research on SEHMBI and saw stellar reviews on Team-BHP and elsewhere. I spoke to them further and arranged for the car to be towed there today.

I went to the ASC to have the car towed and spoke with the senior mechanic who had worked on my car to try and get a better understanding of the situation. He said he had no idea what was specifically wrong but just knew something had critically failed from the signs he noticed while testing.

He then asked about my plans for the car, so I explained what the team at SEHMBI told me they could do. He had his doubts but became intrigued when I showed him some of their work. He even asked for their number so he could refer other customers with failed transmissions to them.

Anyway, they started loading the car onto the truck and strapping it down when, all of a sudden, the senior mechanic and the general manager came up to me with a very intriguing offer. Apparently, a replacement torque converter and transmission were available at a moment’s notice because someone else had ordered them but backed out. Because of this, they knew the parts wouldn’t move and offered them to me at 50% off.

I was shocked—I seriously didn’t expect this. However, I was a little annoyed that they told me this after I’d already made all the towing arrangements and spent a good amount of money on it. I decided to let them tow the car to SEHMBI, which was about 30 km from the showroom. Once I get an opinion from SEHMBI on the transmission’s condition, I’ll make a decision.

My dad said he would talk to both parties to try and get the best deal from Honda. I come to this forum to ask what you guys think. Both the showroom and SEHMBI are closed tomorrow, so I have time to make a decision by Monday.

Both offer a six-month warranty on the new part/rebuild. Personally, I’m inclined toward a complete replacement because I’m still unsure if the torque converter needs to be replaced. The symptoms I experienced while driving give me no confidence in the torque converter being solid.

If I do need a new torque converter, that’s an additional cost on top of the ₹80,000 quoted. I also have no idea where they would source another torque converter if needed. A complete transmission replacement gives me confidence that everything is brand new and solid. However, the rebuild could either be a very economical and solid option that lasts a decent amount of time or a ticking time bomb.

It’s a choice between spending the money now for something brand new or spending it later to fix an uncertainty.

Please let me know your thoughts on this situation—I hope no one else has to face something like this. Thanks a lot.
ImportedLlama is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 09:13   #2

re: Honda Accord V6 AT Transmission Failure | Repair Vs new gearbox at 50% discount

Originally Posted by ImportedLlama View Post
Upon checking the transmission fluid, I found it was right below the minimum line. I believed this to be the culprit. The next day, I bought genuine Honda ATF from the dealership. I incrementally added fluid until it was between the minimum and maximum lines and let the car idle for a bit. Do note, I filled the fluid after the engine was at idle temperature for an accurate fill.
You must periodically check your tranny fluid levels.

Apparently, a replacement torque converter and transmission were available at a moment’s notice because someone else had ordered them but backed out. Because of this, they knew the parts wouldn’t move and offered them to me at 50% off.
80k for a repair job that may or may not work, versus 2.25 lakhs for a brand-new gearbox & torque converter. I'll go for the latter because it's clear how much you love your car and I'm guessing you intend to keep it for long.

Also, an 80k quote can quickly become a 1-lakh bill once they open up the gearbox. You are getting a brand-new piece at 50% discount, go for it.
GTO is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 09:36   #3

Re: Honda Accord V6 AT Transmission Failure | Repair Vs new gearbox at 50% discount

If you are going to keep the car for a long term then go with Honda. Ask for a 1 year warranty if possible since the parts are brand new. If the car would be sold then 80k option is the way to go.
sumeethaldankar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 09:38   #4

You must periodically check your tranny fluid levels.

80k for a repair job that may or may not work, versus 2.25 lakhs for a brand-new gearbox & torque converter. I'll go for the latter because it's clear how much you love your car and I'm guessing you intend to keep it for long.

Also, an 80k quote can quickly become a 1-lakh bill once they open up the gearbox. You are getting a brand-new piece at 50% discount, go for it.
Hello!
I do always check my fluids once every week, the problem is every fluid is leaking. Maybe something happened that would’ve exacerbated the transmission leak causing it to lose so much fluid so fast. I had checked the fluid around 1 week prior to this nightmare and it was in the middle of the min and max line. Maybe if i was more diligent i could’ve caught it.

You are absolutely correct on the 80k part. That’s a bill for just an overhaul and it can shoot up if it needs a torque converter or if something else inside needs to be replaced. Brand new is always the way to go. I will try and do some negotiations and see if i can get a solid price. They are closed on sundays so i just have to sit and bite my nails until monday. Thanks a lot for your advice. Cheers!

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
If you are going to keep the car for a long term then go with Honda. Ask for a 1 year warranty if possible since the parts are brand new. If the car would be sold then 80k option is the way to go.
I intend on keeping the car, even if I were to resell it I wouldn’t get much value out of it, even more now because the gearbox was overhauled. The car would either be scrapped or fixed and I don’t have it in my heart to scrap it.

Last edited by KarthikK : 2nd December 2024 at 12:25. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks!
Old 1st December 2024, 09:51   #5

Re: Honda Accord V6 AT Transmission Failure | Repair Vs new gearbox at 50% discount

I intend on keeping the car, even if I were to resell it I wouldn’t get much value out of it, even more now because the gearbox was overhauled. The car would either be scrapped or fixed and I don’t have it in my heart to scrap it.
When my Civics' clutch was overhauled at a local garage they managed to damage my transmission case which started to leak. Also the garage wrongly diagnosed a bad master/slave cylinder issue as a clutch issue. I got fed up with the local garage and drove the car to Honda and got the transmission leakage and cylinders fixed. The leakage was due to seals worn out while removing refitting I guess. As per me if you are going to keep the car then critical components like transmission etc should be fixed at the authorized station.

Good luck.
sumeethaldankar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 09:56   #6

Two options:-

1. Go for the Repair 80000 option, if you plan to sell your car soon.
2. Go for the 50% discount option if you plan to retain the car.

Important points to consider for point no.2.

1. Check whether you are actually getting original and new spare parts from ASC.
2. Have a physical look at the new transmission and TC for signs of usage, rust etc., before committing. Confirm the part number and serial number.
3. Make sure you are present at the workshop to check whether they are actually replacing both transmission and TC and not just TC. It may so happen that while they open up the whole thing, some other parts may be damaged and you may end up paying another significant amount.
4. Get it in writing about the warranty on the new parts.

I am not doubting the integrity of the ASC and I believe you will have a good trust factor with them. However I would do the above for my satisfaction.
ruzbehxyz is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 1st December 2024, 10:51   #7

I would go for the new at 50% disc without a second thought.

Putting myself in your shoes, I don't even know what will be repaired, what will be replaced, from where would the parts be sourced, are they OEM or aftermarket. With so many unknowns, I'd just take a new set and have my peace of mind.
swiftLife is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 10:48   #8

I believe you must have made a decision by now. However, if you're still deciding - I would concur with the others. A new transmission will give you a lot of peace of mind.

I have an Audi Q7 on which the transmission oil cooler failed and permanently damaged the gearbox. We were unable to source a gearbox at a doable price so we got it repaired from a trusted mechanic. Now, there is often a lurch when you shift into second gear if you push the car. It just makes me feel that the car is not trustworthy anymore.

You can purchase the part at a discounted rate from the dealership and ask SEHMBI to fit it. This way, your cost on towing will be saved and labour will probably be cheaper. Moreover, I would trust a specialist more than a dealership when it comes to large jobs such as this.

Of course, the car is now old and spending a large amount may not be the best move so please do consider the long term future for your car.

Hope my experience can help you a little. Best of luck!
thebfg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 11:02   #9

I would also go with the replacement of Torque converter at Honda.

I recently overhauled my 2013 city - the complete suspension change, all fluids, all door beading, bumper and door paintings, seat covers etc. I choose Honda service for that and spent 200K INR. The quote from FNG was 50% of that. I was too skeptical to try that FNG option, moreover my car had never seen FNG in its lifetime its been always serviced at Honda service.

I did not have any regrets spending that money as everything was done so immaculately.
Old 2nd December 2024, 11:14   #10

Torque converters are very complicated and I wouldn't trust anyone to repair it properly. Have you also tried to scout for manual transmission conversions for the V6? Maybe the stock 2.4 manual transmission is a direct swap for your car?
You have a gorgeous car, a dream ride for many 90s kids like me. To me it's easily worth the money that's being asked for a new transmission too.

Last edited by Doge : 2nd December 2024 at 11:32.
Doge is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 11:17   #11

No need of a poll here (i was going to suggest one last evening). So far all suggestions (mine included) seem to be unanimously in favour of getting the GB replaced. All the best with the haggling !
Old 2nd December 2024, 11:58   #12

Hey man

It's unfortunate to hear this. Kindly list down the exact amounts quoted by both parties, what all is included, what isn't, etc.

If it were my Sonata I'd go looking for a scrap car to pull the trans out of, since that transmission is generally reliable, but I guess that is not an option for you since it's a known problem with the Accord.

Sehmbi reviews are a mixed bag to be honest, I looked them up here on tBHP and elsewhere and not everyone has had a great experience (I did some research as to the possibility of an AT failure on the Sonata before buying it).

On the other hand, generally I wouldn't trust the dealership either, but your experience with them has been very positive so I'm more inclined to go down that route personally.

Just post a detailed list of what all you'll get for your money and how much, and we can discuss.
Feel free to drop me a PM if you'd like my phone number. This isn't a small decision, and I understand you want your car back on the road, but it will pay dividends to take adequate time now and make a relaxed decision.

Last edited by ads295 : 2nd December 2024 at 12:06.
Old 2nd December 2024, 12:12   #13

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post
Two options:-

1. Go for the Repair 80000 option, if you plan to sell your car soon.
2. Go for the 50% discount option if you plan to retain the car.

Important points to consider for point no.2.

1. Check whether you are actually getting original and new spare parts from ASC.
2. Have a physical look at the new transmission and TC for signs of usage, rust etc., before committing. Confirm the part number and serial number.
3. Make sure you are present at the workshop to check whether they are actually replacing both transmission and TC and not just TC. It may so happen that while they open up the whole thing, some other parts may be damaged and you may end up paying another significant amount.
4. Get it in writing about the warranty on the new parts.

I am not doubting the integrity of the ASC and I believe you will have a good trust factor with them. However I would do the above for my satisfaction.
These are very good points and as of now I have asked them to send me pictures of the parts and the part numbers on them. I will ensure to be there during the installation process of the torque converter and tranny to make sure all is done well. This service center has done a phenomenal job in the past, when it came time to replace timing belt they dropped the engine and reinstalled it flawlessly. I trust them to do a good job as they will be more aware of worn parts like engine and tranny mounts. Thanks.

Originally Posted by swiftLife View Post
I would go for the new at 50% disc without a second thought.

Putting myself in your shoes, I don't even know what will be repaired, what will be replaced, from where would the parts be sourced, are they OEM or aftermarket. With so many unknowns, I'd just take a new set and have my peace of mind.
From the information I gathered online, sehmbi sources replacement parts from trusted dealers in China, although I could be wrong. So it's definitely not OEM. If Honda is able to sweeten up the deal a little bit it's looking like a very solid option. Thanks.

Originally Posted by thebfg View Post
I believe you must have made a decision by now. However, if you're still deciding - I would concur with the others. A new transmission will give you a lot of peace of mind.

I have an Audi Q7 on which the transmission oil cooler failed and permanently damaged the gearbox. We were unable to source a gearbox at a doable price so we got it repaired from a trusted mechanic. Now, there is often a lurch when you shift into second gear if you push the car. It just makes me feel that the car is not trustworthy anymore.

You can purchase the part at a discounted rate from the dealership and ask SEHMBI to fit it. This way, your cost on towing will be saved and labour will probably be cheaper. Moreover, I would trust a specialist more than a dealership when it comes to large jobs such as this.

Of course, the car is now old and spending a large amount may not be the best move so please do consider the long term future for your car.

Hope my experience can help you a little. Best of luck!
This seems like a feasible option, However I am unsure if honda will allow me to purchase these parts on their own and take them with me, The labor costs quoted by honda are not as bad as you would think considering Sehmbi is quoting 80k when the part costs alone are around 20-30k. Of course, rebuilding has more labor involved but honda has done a solid job before.
Also, you mentioned that you had the gearbox repaired and there was an issue between 2nd and 3rd gear shifting. A member on Reddit told me he had the same issue on his v6 accord in the USA after having the transmission rebuilt. Not too sure how I feel about that. Anyway thanks for the advice ill see what I can do. Thanks again.

Originally Posted by UD17 View Post
I would also go with the replacement of Torque converter at Honda.

I recently overhauled my 2013 city - the complete suspension change, all fluids, all door beading, bumper and door paintings, seat covers etc. I choose Honda service for that and spent 200K INR. The quote from FNG was 50% of that. I was too skeptical to try that FNG option, moreover my car had never seen FNG in its lifetime its been always serviced at Honda service.

I did not have any regrets spending that money as everything was done so immaculately.
Yes, I have also noticed that the ASC does an exceptional job of keeping your car that you love so much in good condition and treating it well, maybe its a part of why they charge so much more but it does seem worth it in the end.
Im still waiting on a response from the sehmbi team to see what they think of the transmission issues, in the meantime I have requested for pictures of the new transmission parts that honda is offering to make sure all is good. Thanks.

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
Torque converters are very complicated and I wouldn't trust anyone to repair it properly. Have you also tried to scout for manual transmission conversions for the V6? Maybe the stock 2.4 manual transmission is a direct swap for your car?
You have a gorgeous car, a dream ride for many 90s kids like me. To me it's easily worth the money that's being asked for a new transmission too.
The torque converter if damaged, will be replaced. Sehmbi is offering an overhaul for the rest of the gearbox, which is still a very complex job. Manual transmission conversions are not feasible. The 2.4 manual is not a direct bolt-on on and even if I manage to get it on somehow the starter motor will need to be relocated along with a bunch of ECU tuning and reconfiguring, on top of that adding a master cylinder and clutch pedal. Overall it's a huge headache.

Thank you very much, it's one of my dream rides too and it's sad to see it in this condition. As a college student funds are tight and my dad is currently working on the best possible deal from both parties. Hopefully, whatever route we decide to go, I'll have my car back to enjoy for however long I can. Thanks again.

Originally Posted by ashivas89 View Post
No need of a poll here (i was going to suggest one last evening). So far all suggestions (mine included) seem to be unanimously in favour of getting the GB replaced. All the best with the haggling !
Youre absolutely correct, having the gearbox replaced is the most sensible option, if it was my money I would've done it in a heartbeat, but as a college student there's only so much I can do. Hopefully it all works out well. Thanks!

Originally Posted by ads295 View Post
Hey man

It's unfortunate to hear this. Kindly list down the exact amounts quoted by both parties, what all is included, what isn't, etc.

If it were my Sonata I'd go looking for a scrap car to pull the trans out of, since that transmission is generally reliable, but I guess that is not an option for you since it's a known problem with the Accord.

Sehmbi reviews are a mixed bag to be honest, I looked them up here on tBHP and elsewhere and not everyone has had a great experience (I did some research as to the possibility of an AT failure on the Sonata before buying it).

On the other hand, generally I wouldn't trust the dealership either, but your experience with them has been very positive so I'm more inclined to go down that route personally.

Just post a detailed list of what all you'll get for your money and how much, and we can discuss.
Feel free to drop me a PM if you'd like my phone number. This isn't a small decision, and I understand you want your car back on the road, but it will pay dividends to take adequate time now and make a relaxed decision.
This is very solid advice, I will ask Honda to send me a complete repair estimate bill as soon as they can. As for Sehmbi, I too saw the negative review of the kizashi but it was mentioned that the cvt was running flawlessly after they fixed it, they only had issues with how the car was maintained during that time. There could be other stuff that I'm unaware of as well so if you have any articles that you could send that would be amazing.

If you don't mind could you please elaborate on what I should look out for from the dealer side, I just want to know what I'm getting myself into whichever route I go, Thanks a lot for the support, I'll be sure to update with the bill amounts when I get them and ask for any help. Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Aditya : 12th December 2024 at 05:03. Reason: Back to back posts merged
ImportedLlama is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 13:48   #14

I just relived the experience when the Auto Transmission failed on my used Civic back in 2016. Initially, they claimed to have replaced one failed sensor but during the test drive (after service) entire transmission failed in the middle of a busy junction.
Quote of 4.2 Lakhs was quoted, but no one bothered to follow up or even opened the window for negotiation.
Back in 2016, Honda was one of the Top seller and they didn’t care much post sales.
I finally parted way with the car at a throw away price as I had developed deep hatred towards brand Honda, though I still acknowledge Civic was one of the most admired model in my garage.
harishpr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2024, 15:45   #15

If I do need a new torque converter, that’s an additional cost on top of the ₹80,000 quoted. I also have no idea where they would source another torque converter if needed. A complete transmission replacement gives me confidence that everything is brand new and solid. However, the rebuild could either be a very economical and solid option that lasts a decent amount of time or a ticking time bomb.

It’s a choice between spending the money now for something brand new or spending it later to fix an uncertainty.
I believe you already know what you want to do—you’re just seeking confirmation from the experts here to ensure it’s the right decision.

I’m not an expert, but if I were in your position, I would have the work done by Honda itself. While it might be more expensive, it would give me greater peace of mind. Repairs done outside could potentially go wrong or end up costing more than anticipated. On the other hand, Honda’s quote is unlikely to increase, as they typically replace all parts that could potentially cause issues.
rejaneeshsr is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com