Old 13th January 2025, 10:19   #1

Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)

Solution for steering column noise issue on First gen Hyundai i20(2008-2012)

We own a first gen i20 (2010 model). Done around 1.63 lakh kms till now.
As far as my memory goes, there was a rattling noise from the steering column area, around the knee/ankle region when the car is driven over bad/broken roads or on roads with rough surface. EVERY SINGLE TIME. Every time I drove the car over bad roads, I get irritated by this noise. The noise is hard to describe. It sounds similar to noise made when two thick metal rods, one hollow and one solid, are hit against each other with the solid rod hitting the inside of the hollow rod. Multiple service centers were not able to diagnose the source of the noise over the years. This noise has been attributed to faulty steering column in many old thread/posts on TBHP. With the same understanding, with the intention of getting rid of the annoying noise, I wanted to replace the steering column with a new one, hoping that Hyundai may have re-designed the column and the noise will be fixed.

Sometime in 2022 end, I placed an order for a new steering column at my regular HASS. It cost around Rs.17,xxx. With installation cost came around 20k. A big investment for a 12.5-year-old car. But sadly, the noise persisted. I was flummoxed and angry. I lived with the noise for couple of months. I thought, there must be a problem with the new part and hence pushed for an under-warranty replacement of the column. Hyundai provides 6 months/10k kms warranty on their spares if purchased and fit from them. I talked with the manager at HASS and convinced him for an under-warranty replacement after a test drive. The replacement part took a couple weeks to arrive, and the service center replaced the whole assembly under warranty. This happened in April 2023, a month before the 6-month warranty ended. One small test drive and the noise was still there. I felt like tearing my hair apart. I hit a dead end. I thought, may be by design the steering column is meant to make that noise and nothing can be done. It is a design problem, and I have to live with it.

End of 2023, I thought about the problem rationally. I had the old column with me. So, I observed it closely, tapped various components with a fiber hammer to see if there was something loose or anything vibrated when hit. I shook the column shaft hard to see if there was any play. But could not figure out anything. There are three main components in the steering system - Column, Rack and the Universal joint. The universal joint connects the column to the rack. This was the only part that was not changed. I thought this part might be the source of the noise. I did some research on the net to find out any information about the steering universal joint making noise. But I could not find any! I just slept with this idea for a few months that the steering Universal joint could be the cause of the noise.

I visually inspected the universal joint but could not make out any play or movement when I tried to move it with my hand. I almost made up my mind to order a new universal joint. However, it cost Rs.4628 rupees and I was really hesitant to order it and end up with the noise persisting like how it happened with the column. Also, I did not notice any play when I pushed/pulled the universal joint. Once bitten twice shy. After much deliberation, I decided to order the part from Boodmo since they had a 10 day return policy and in case it did not solve the problem after install and test drive, I could return the part. I placed order in the last week of December 2024, a few days before Christmas. Received the part after 9 days. I took the part to my HASS and requested the manager to fix it, agreeing to pay for labor. The kind manager obliged. It was a struggle to remove the old universal joint, but it came out eventually. The new part was fit, and I went for a long test drive.

The noise was GONE!

I was not ready to believe my ears. I took the car on every piece of bad broken road I could find near the service center and there was absolutely no noise! I was delighted! I was on cloud nine! I had finally fixed the problem which the service center was not able to find the root cause and I lived with it for as far as my memory goes. The car cabin is so silent now even when tackling broken roads. I have driven around 150 kms with the new part and the rattling noise is not present!

The steering column was never the cause of the noise in my car. It was always the universal joint. Here are the pic of the old universal joint and the new universal joint.

Old part. The area in red can move in/out and is the area where there is play and a metal-to-metal noise when I held the ends of the joint and shook it.
Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)-old-joint.jpg

New part. This is the revised design. All Hyundai cars have this revised design of the universal joint- from Verna to Exter with minor modifications to the ends based on the model.
Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)-new-joint.jpg

Boodmo link to the product - https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-join...ersal-6674750/

My hypothesis is steering column was never the source of the noise from many of the first gen i20 cars. Most likely, it was this Universal joint which was the cause of the noise. However, since the noise was coming from the column area, it is really difficult to pinpoint the source of the noise, and the column may have been the obvious culprit. However, I have no way of confirming this hypothesis. The facelift i20(With dual barrel headlamp) launched in early 2012 did not see complaints with the rattling noise from steering column area. Maybe they started using the new design universal joint coupler from the facelift i20. Owners may confirm this by peeking above the pedal area to check the design of the universal joint.

Signing off!

Last edited by sagarpadaki : 13th January 2025 at 13:48.
sagarpadaki is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 13:27   #2

Re: Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Technical section. Thanks for sharing!

Going to our homepage tomorrow
Old 14th January 2025, 13:38   #3

Re: Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
[

Old part. The area in red can move in/out and is the area where there is play and a metal-to-metal noise when I held the ends of the joint and shook it.!
Lets make one thing clear. That area in red can move up, and down, but that is only for installation! It is no supposed to move up and down once installed. There is supposed to be a bolt through those little ears on it. Thightne the bolt and it will clamp down and fix it. It looks like the bolt tightening it down is gone! If there was no bolt then that was your problem!

Apart from making a noise it is even dangerous as this coupling might even start to slip.

Did you just replace it because the bolt was missing? Or where you not aware of it needing to be tightened down?

For reference, here an image of the same set up on my Mercedes. My Mercedes doesn't have CV joints, but a straight flange, but you can see the same set up and more importantly the bolt clamping it down!

Attachment 2712169

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-d...ml#post4452116 (My Car Hobby: Jaguar XJR, Mercedes W123, Alfa Romeo Spider, Jeep Cherokee & Mini One)

Jeroen
Solution for steering column noise issue on the 1st-gen Hyundai i20 (2008-2012)-img_0608.png  

Last edited by Jeroen : 14th January 2025 at 13:45.
Jeroen is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 16:48   #4

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Lets make one thing clear. That area in red can move up, and down, but that is only for installation! It is no supposed to move up and down once installed. There is supposed to be a bolt through those little ears on it. Thightne the bolt and it will clamp down and fix it. It looks like the bolt tightening it down is gone! If there was no bolt then that was your problem!

Did you just replace it because the bolt was missing? Or where you not aware of it needing to be tightened down?

Jeroen
Thanks Jeroen for your insights.

The bolt was not missing. It was very much tight. In fact it was more tight than the torque spec specified in the service manual-45NM. Like I mentioned in my post, I am not completely sure if the area marked in Red was the cause for the noise or if the noise was coming from either of the universal joints.

In the new part, there is no place for this bolt. One end clamps the part to the column and the other end clamps to the rack.
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 17:30   #5

Like I mentioned in my post, I am not completely sure if the area marked in Red was the cause for the noise or if the noise was coming from either of the universal joints.
Noises can be difficult to pinpoint. What sometimes helps is a mechanical stethoscope. Or just a long screwdriver or steel rod. Put it on the suspected part on one end and the other end to your ear. Move the part around and move the rod/screwdriver to various places and see where the noise is loudest.
. An universal joint could make some noise without it having apparent play. You would really need to load it up (as the steering mechanism does) to hear and feel it.

Good to hear the new part solved the problem. Can be very annoying

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 19:08   #6
MSC

The noise from behind the steering wheel area, when driven on bad roads, is attributed by Hyundai to something called as the reduction gear component in the steering wheel assembly.
They change this part under warranty for free but charge around 12 thousand plus labour for changing this reduction gear in Hyundai Venue.
Not sure if this reduction gear is related to this universal joint or not. It's just a wild guess.
And, unfortunately, Grand Nios is not the only model affected. If I am not wrong, it affects almost all Hyundai cars with EPS including Venue, Nios, Verna, Aura/Xcent.
MSC is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 20:31   #7

[b]
My hypothesis is steering column was never the source of the noise from many of the first gen i20 cars. Most likely, it was this Universal joint which was the cause of the noise. However, since the noise was coming from the column area, it is really difficult to pinpoint the source of the noise, and the column may have been the obvious culprit. However, I have no way of confirming this hypothesis. The facelift i20(With dual barrel headlamp) launched in early 2012 did not see complaints with the rattling noise from steering column area. Maybe they started using the new design universal joint coupler from the facelift i20. Owners may confirm this by peeking above the pedal area to check the design of the universal joint.

Signing off!
Good to know the sound is gone now, The below video posted by Hyundai mechanic explains the problem well. He covers must common issues on Hyundai cars.

I own 2012 igen i20( Facelift) and like you mentioned have never faced any steering noise related problem in it. Currently at 1.59 lac kms . Hyundai did made some alterations in March 2012 face-lift model ,to steering column, front suspension and even AC compressor on petrol model as earlier one was from i10 and inadequate. I will check the modified design under steering once I go to my hometown as car is with my parents now. One problem which the car has started giving is of steering becoming hard at times when parked for 2-3 days. Becomes normal after switching off for 20-30 secs and restarting. This has happened twice in last 4-5 months.
jaspal singh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 21:53   #8

Originally Posted by MSC View Post
The noise from behind the steering wheel area, when driven on bad roads, is attributed by Hyundai to something called as the reduction gear component in the steering wheel assembly.
They change this part under warranty for free but charge around 12 thousand plus labour for changing this reduction gear in Hyundai Venue.
I am aware of this reduction gear solution available in the newer Hyundai vehicles. However, the reduction gear is not serviceable in the older i20. This noise is specific to 2008-2012 aka the first gen i20 with single barrel headlamp

Originally Posted by jaspal singh View Post
Good to know the sound is gone now, The below video posted by Hyundai

I own 2012 igen i20( Facelift) and like you mentioned have never faced any steering noise related problem in it. Currently at 1.59 lac kms . Hyundai did made some alterations in March 2012 face-lift model ,to steering column, front suspension and even AC compressor on petrol model as earlier one was from i10 and inadequate. I will check the modified design under steering once I go to my hometown
Yes, they changed the design of this part in from the fluidic i20. In fact, all newer Hyundai cars have this new design starting from fluidic i20 aka the igen i20.
sagarpadaki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2025, 09:53   #9

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Noises can be difficult to pinpoint. What sometimes helps is a mechanical stethoscope. Or just a long screwdriver or steel rod. Put it on the suspected part on one end and the other end to your ear. Move the part around and move the rod/screwdriver to various places and see where the noise is loudest.
. An universal joint could make some noise without it having apparent play. You would really need to load it up (as the steering mechanism does) to hear and feel it.

Good to hear the new part solved the problem. Can be very annoying

Jeroen
This noise comes only on rough/broken roads.

Skilled technicians who are able to put effort to find the cause of the problem are very rare to find where I live. Most of them do not have the required tools to carry out such diagnosis. More than the tools, they do not have any interest to work on such issues. Anything outside their routine job is a no no.

Yes, the new part has solved the problem, and I am really happy with that. Only thing I regret is not doing this a year or two ago when I realized that the universal joint could be the cause of the noise. I did not want to take the risk of changing the part because it was bit expensive(relatively), and I had no proof that my diagnosis that the joint is faulty.
Old 15th January 2025, 10:35   #10

It looks like we finally have a solution. I own a 2012 iGen i20, and it has the same issue—a quick metallic 'kat-kat' noise when driving over bad roads. The noise started around 35k km, and now, at 70k km, it still persists and drives me crazy every time.

I can't speak for all iGen i20 owners, but I personally know a few who have faced the same issue. One of them replaced the steering column, which resolved the problem for him.

I'm considering trying the same. Do you think this universal joint would be compatible with my i20?
MotoBlip is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th January 2025, 10:54   #11

Originally Posted by MotoBlip View Post
It looks like we finally have a solution. I own a 2012 iGen i20, and it has the same issue—a quick metallic 'kat-kat' noise when driving over bad roads. The noise started around 35k km, and now, at 70k km, it still persists and drives me crazy every time.

I can't speak for all iGen i20 owners, but I personally know a few who have faced the same issue. One of them replaced the steering column, which resolved the problem for him.

I'm considering trying the same. Do you think this universal joint would be compatible with my i20?
Is the noise coming from under the car? If so, it could be the steering rack. You need to identify the area where the noise is coming from.

Just peek above the pedal area and see what kind of universal joint is present in your car. You can also use your phone camera to take a pic to compare.

The universal joint that I procured is compatible with 2008-2014 i20
sagarpadaki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2025, 11:09   #12

Is the noise coming from under the car? If so, it could be the steering rack. You need to identify the area where the noise is coming from.

Just peek above the pedal area and see what kind of universal joint is present in your car. You can also use your phone camera to take a pic to compare.

The universal joint that I procured is compatible with 2008-2014 i20
Yes, the noise seems to be coming from somewhere near the pedals. I’ve had the steering rack disassembled and inspected twice by independent mechanics, but they couldn’t find any issues. Meanwhile, HASS recommended replacing the entire column—a standard response based solely on visual and auditory inspection I believe—which is why I haven’t taken any action yet.

I’ll try to take some pictures and compare them to see where this leads. Thanks for the help!
Old 15th January 2025, 11:33   #13

I am experiencing the same issue with a metal rattling noise in my 2017 Renault Duster Petrol CVT. The sound is most noticeable when navigating uneven roads or driving over small potholes at moderate speeds. I have consulted both Renault Service Center and Bosch Service Center, where they inspected components like the steering column, brake calipers and wheel nuts. However, neither could identify the exact source of the noise. They assured me that all critical areas were fine and downplayed the importance of the issue. Despite this, it is a significant concern for me, as the noise disrupts the otherwise quiet cabin environment.

I have also noticed that when this noise occurs, the accelerator pedal vibrates slightly, especially when I am about to take my foot off it.

Have other Duster owners experienced a similar issue? If so, were you able to resolve it?
Old 15th January 2025, 13:20   #14

.This noise is specific to 2008-2012 aka the first gen i20 with single barrel headlamp
Thank you for your insights Sagar. As an owner of gen1 i20 Asta 2009 variant, the moment I saw the thread flashing on homepage I had a gut feeling it would be related to i20 and man I was true!

Regarding the noise it's pretty much present in my car as well and as you describe it's very irritating to say the least, I've had gotten the steering rack replaced twice under warranty but the noise never went and I accepted it as an operational sound. After so many years it seems a solution has been found out.

My car's steering also makes that metallic noise even when I drive it out of my parking while turning the steering towards left.

So what do I need to ask my Hyundai ASC to procure, the full steering rack or only the joint you mentioned will do the job?

Secondly I haven't ever tried yet, therefore asking is installation of high wattage bulbs with a relay recommended for i20 since I know you've hell lot of knowledge on electricals as I'm following you from a long time(before I was a member of this forum), since modern cars and even two wheelers have blinding lights, and my old Philips Racing vision seems inadequate nowadays also I guess the designing of lights itself was flawed in the first place.

Thank you
Tony
Old 15th January 2025, 14:51   #15

Originally Posted by Tony2298 View Post

Regarding the noise it's pretty much present in my car as well and as you describe it's very irritating to say the least, I've had gotten the steering rack replaced twice under warranty but the noise never went and I accepted it as an operational sound. After so many years it seems a solution has been found out.

My car's steering also makes that metallic noise even when I drive it out of my parking while turning the steering towards left.

So what do I need to ask my Hyundai ASC to procure, the full steering rack or only the joint you mentioned will do the job?

Secondly....
Hi Tony,

I suggest you get the other components of the suspension inspected to rule out issues with suspension. The noise when you drive out of parking could be due to a different reason.

Since you have changed the rack twice, I do not think that is the source of the noise. But you need to confirm it with a competent mechanic. Compare the universal joint in your car with the pic I have shared. If it is the same, then it is most likely the reason for the kad kad noise.

Regarding headlight, I would not recommend a 100/90 bulb with relay for i20 since it involves poking hole into the dust shield of the headlamp to pass the additional wires from the relay harness. Unless the hole is sealed properly, dust and moisture will enter the headlamp and ruin it. I suggest get a pair of 880 type LED bulbs for the fogs. They improve the lightening by a good measure.
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com