Old 29th April 2008, 13:31   #16

I have heard that Tata gives you reconditioned compressors, is that a good idea?
Old 29th April 2008, 13:38   #17

I have heard that Tata gives you reconditioned compressors, is that a good idea?
If you are planning to sell this car in the near future, go for a reconditioned compressor, but if you know that this car will stay with you for at least 18 months, then get a new compressor. No point having a second failure within that time.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:47   #18

I plan to keep the car, and I doubt a reconditioned compressor will come cheaper than 7800rs.

So lets see, I will try and get something aftermarket.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:50   #19

tsk1979, don't you want to try the compressor overhaul offered by the TASC? I got it done for around 8K after my compressor bearing failed.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:50   #20

I plan to keep the car, and I doubt a reconditioned compressor will come cheaper than 7800rs.

So lets see, I will try and get something aftermarket.
I got a brand new subros for my esteem at 8500 plus vat. it could be lesser too. Just check with the local spares wallah.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:55   #21

hrag, I already have done the overhaul. So don't want to go through it again. Morover the brand new compressor is for 7800 through local dealers.
TASC quote 20,000 for compressor replacement.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:57   #22

Morover the brand new compressor is for 7800 through local dealers.
TASC quote 20,000 for compressor replacement.
I wonder how that could be. MASS told me that the subros is 14,900 plus tax, whereas i got it for 8500 Plus tax, why is there so much of variation in prices ? gotto look into that sometime.
Old 29th April 2008, 13:59   #23

I think U've decided to keep this Indica forever,Tanveerji.
If so, I would suggest getting a brand new compressor .
Forget "servicing" your 100,000 kms done compressor.
Old 29th April 2008, 15:28   #24

UPDATE:
Just met the mechanic. He took the car to AC gas filling guy and they could not open the compressor because the bearing has jammed. So with some jugaad he was able to force it open.
The verdict. the bearling has shattered, jamming the compressor clutch.
This has also fried the coil.
He will buy Subros coil and some good quality bearling from the open market and with gas filling charge included the total charge should come to around 3K.
At around 50K I had gotten this AC compressor bearing replacement from subros which had cost me 8K(Price of a new compressor in open market),
I also asked him about superking etc., and he told me that using a different compressor would mean changing many other things, and it will be costly, so better stick to subros, and in this case with bearling and coil change the compressor will be as good as new.
Will be picking up the car in the evening.
Old 29th April 2008, 16:56   #25

Tanveer,
How long do you plan to slog the old faithful Indica. Time to put less load on the old warhorse by bringing in a stablemate to to share the burden " Kya Bacche ki Jaan Loge ?"
Old 29th April 2008, 22:50   #26

Car is back.
Cost = 1550 Parts(SKF Bearing + Subros Coil)
750 AC Gas
650 Labor charges.

Cooling is same as before, and vibrations have lessened, and load on the car also seems less.
The bearing had broken, and partially welded into the housing.
This in turn jammed the compressor, which led to coil burning.
tsk1979 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2008, 23:10   #27

You have a very competent and honest mechanic.

Car is back.
Cost = 1550 Parts(SKF Bearing + Subros Coil)
750 AC Gas
650 Labor charges.

Cooling is same as before, and vibrations have lessened, and load on the car also seems less.
The bearing had broken, and partially welded into the housing.
This in turn jammed the compressor, which led to coil burning.
Old 30th April 2008, 02:13   #28

Congratulations!! it was done cheaply and properly, just my kinda job.
I normally shop for stuff in Kabadi in Ahmedabad,
They have total loss new vehile. I have couple of friends there. There are No.1 to No.5 kabadi shop. No.1 and 2 deals with cars.
Old 30th April 2008, 12:22   #29

It is advisable to pressure wash the Radiator and AC compressor area, at least once in two months- Particularly during the Dry months and during the Monsoons, This removes dust and slush which tends to accumalate over a period of time.

Most of the Extended Car warranty schemes already, provide Cover for Failure in AC systems, Minus Gas Leaks. So you can drive around for at least 3 years and upto 75,000 Odd KM before you actually start worrying for the costs.

Its season time, would advise to get the systems cleaned and checked..to enjoy the cool during the summer.
Old 3rd August 2008, 19:43   #30

Bumping an old Thread !!

Unfortunately, Optra's compressor has gone kaput today. Yesterday, it was very low cooling, today it didn't cooled up anyhow. And finally, it is not starting up.

Now i have 3 options.
1. Get a new one from Chevrolet. Cost - 25-28K including refilling of gas and other charges.
2. Get the a new after market, which is said to be original Chevrolet one, along with gas refilling etc etc. - 13K
3. Scout for Delphi Workshop (Optra's Compressor) and get it overhauled - No idea of the cost involved but should be < 10K including gas refilling and other spares.

I am intending to keep the car till 2010. Any suggestions ??