Old 4th May 2008, 15:28   #16

Originally Posted by tush View Post
If its a manufacturing defect with the tyre then why it didn't happen before the 2nd service or when i bought the car.
Because manufacturing defects don't pop up at a pre-determined time, that's why. Some things last a day, some a week & some a few months. Nobody can predict how long a consumable product is going to last before it develops a defect. That just depepnds on the manufacturers QC process & standards and your luck.

Is this care so delicate that the suspension arm would bent after driving 3-4 times on mumbai-pune expressway and rest all driving being city driving clocking at around 4200Kms.
Boss, I don't know how you drove it & where you drove it. That's known to you, for all I know you might have put a wheel in a pothole doing high speeds which can easily bend a suspension arm. What I'm trying to point out to you are the parts that are common suspects in these alignment issues. That's all the diagnosis we can do for you over the Internet sitting thousand's of kms away.

Last edited by iraghava : 4th May 2008 at 15:40.
Old 4th May 2008, 16:37   #17

I appreciate your suggestions but as far as i know, whenever there is a big pothole coming i slow down my car. Of course there could be some instance of speed breaker suddenly coming which are not marked with white straps and u suddenly realize but could not apply breaks hard but would let it the car go with that speed from the speed breaker. I don't know if that causes such issues. And yes Pune is well known for its potholed roads.
Old 4th May 2008, 17:17   #18

Non adjustable camber and castor

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Is this by choice or due to wear and tear, - camber?
Every single Pallio GTX comes with minimal negative camber to aid in cornering(at the expense of braking ability) and there is nothing much we can do about it as the camber is non adjustable with out a major juggad work which I am not keen on doing.
In all Palio's the camber and castor cannot be adjusted and its only toe-in that can be adjusted which I check personally with the string method the old fashioned way with help from my 10 year old daughter. I have not done wheel alignment since I bought the car in June 2003. If you look at a GTX and the 1.2 Palio you will notice that the 1.2 sits taller due to the spring height in the Palio GTX being shorter or the increased engine weight bringing down the GTX in height bringing along with it negative camber.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 4th May 2008 at 17:30.
Old 4th May 2008, 17:27   #19

explanations of the terms.

I really don't know what this camber and castor angle is but will find it but would appreciate if you explain me.

Boye my first car and its annoying me...
Tire Tech Information - Alignment

Camber angle - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Caster, Camber, Toe

The last of the articles is extremely informative.

If you need further explanations you should go to the wheel alignment center and ask the guy there to explain it to you. If you were in cochin I could do the needful.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 4th May 2008 at 17:37.
Old 4th May 2008, 17:58   #20

Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
Every single Pallio GTX comes with minimal negative camber to aid in cornering(at the expense of braking ability) and there is nothing much we can do about it as the camber is non adjustable with out a major juggad work which I am not keen on doing.
In all Palio's the camber and castor cannot be adjusted and its only toe-in that can be adjusted which I check personally with the string method the old fashioned way with help from my 10 year old daughter. I have not done wheel alignment since I bought the car in June 2003. If you look at a GTX and the 1.2 Palio you will notice that the 1.2 sits taller due to the spring height in the Palio GTX being shorter or the increased engine weight bringing down the GTX in height bringing along with it negative camber.
Actually very few cars with mcphersons have camber and castor adjustments and to you, someone who is still into string method for toe settings.
Old 7th May 2008, 23:35   #21

After asking one of my colleague who bought Swift Diesel one month after me. She said she has a similar problem since the first day. She has complained and given the car to rectify the problem but to no luck the issue still remains. As a matter of fact she has bought it from the same dealer as i have.

One another colleague who before buying Swift Diesel felt the same issue on the demo car when he went for a test drive. This was very easy for him to find out as he is a experienced driver then i am. He even had some one he knew in a maruti dealership and he got a confirmation from that person that Swift Diesel has this problem.

This means not all of them but almost most of the Swift Diesels would have this problem.

TeamBhpians owing Swift Diesel kindly give your comment on this.

Last edited by tush : 7th May 2008 at 23:36.
Old 8th May 2008, 00:11   #22

Nope no side pulls here, running 195 65 14 goodyear eagle venturas. torque steer yes
Old 8th May 2008, 00:36   #23

Some of my suggestions could sound silly but all of these do create the above mentioned problem.
#1: Simplest: Please do check the tire pressure on all of your tires. Especially so the side your car is steering to.
#2: May be silly but this happened to a friend of mine. Since yours is not an old car I don't think this can be the problem. Check the tire sizes on all your wheels.
#3: Get your brakes checked. A faulty brake cylinder is also a cause for this
# 4: get your Continuous velocity joint or the CV joint checked.
Old 9th May 2008, 02:57   #24

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Nope no side pulls here, running 195 65 14 goodyear eagle venturas. torque steer yes
Jaggu dada i think this arent stock tyres... and is ur car fitted with alloys...does that make a difference to pulling of car to one side....

Originally Posted by bluestraveller View Post
Some of my suggestions could sound silly but all of these do create the above mentioned problem.
#1: Simplest: Please do check the tire pressure on all of your tires. Especially so the side your car is steering to.
#2: May be silly but this happened to a friend of mine. Since yours is not an old car I don't think this can be the problem. Check the tire sizes on all your wheels.
#3: Get your brakes checked. A faulty brake cylinder is also a cause for this
# 4: get your Continuous velocity joint or the CV joint checked.
1. Tyre pressure checked when i had complained to the dealer.
2. How do i check the tyre sizes as its a new car.
3. Will confirm that after another 1000Kms running when i give the car for complain.
4. Will confirm that as well. But what does it mean can you explain me please.
Old 9th May 2008, 03:01   #25

Jaggu dada i think this arent stock tyres... and is ur car fitted with alloys...does that make a difference to pulling of car to one side....

1. Tyre pressure checked when i had complained to the dealer.
2. How do i check the tyre sizes as its a new car.
3. Will confirm that after another 1000Kms running when i give the car for complain.
4. Will confirm that as well. But what does it mean can you explain me please.
tyre size is printed on the sidewall of tyre. probably your alignment is not proper, get it checked asap.
Old 9th May 2008, 09:50   #26

Hi Friends,

I got a new Swift DDiS in October 2007. After the 2nd service done at around 4200Kms the car automatically steers towards the left side of the road if the hand is removed off the steering. I told this to the service engineer/works manager while taking the delivery during the 2nd service. He said that this is because the road near his service station is uneven and he convinced me. But i tried it on other roads and even on straight cement road. For the car to go straight i hold the steering, as soon as i let off my hand the steering would turn a little towards the left. Steering would turn less then half an inch(i should say hardly 0.5-1 centimeters steering would rotate at left) and the car will slowly go towards the left of the road. Again i have to catch hold of the steering for the car to go straight, if i let loose my hand it happens the same again. The dealer said it was because of tyre rotation done during the second service. I drived it for another 15 days but still the same problem. Took it to the service center and they once again did the tyre rotation. The new stepney tyre was put in the front left side which was earlier put in the right back side. Still the same problem but a bit reduced. They checked wheel alignment and it came out ok.

Guys is this bound to happen on all cars ? Is it normal that a car doesn't keep straight(move only to one side not the other side or any one side always) if you let loose your hand or let off your hand from the steering even if the road is good.

Is this a problem with my car or this is there in all cars especially swift diesel. The service station has asked me to drive for another week and then give a feed back. If its still there he said they would either check with wheels from another swift or they will clear out my doubts by letting me drive their demo swift or any other swift.

Guys plz help i am scared whether my car is defective or a defect has developed which is hard to convince and figure out.

I have a SWIFT-VXI and I also faced the same problem after second servicing.The advisor at workshop was not ready to agree with my problem faced.I escalated the issue to MUL and then dealer people picked up car personally for check up and delivered in the evening after the problem was solved.I don't know what they did..but my problem was solved.

I would suggest you to do the same.Write an e-mail to MUL and see the effect.
Old 10th May 2008, 01:30   #27

Hi raja748, when did you buy it your car. Can get the details of what they found was wrong with your car that would help me a lot. I would escalate it definetly but let it go through the service station procedure of what they find to be the cause of the problem.
Old 10th May 2008, 01:33   #28

Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
tyre size is printed on the sidewall of tyre. probably your alignment is not proper, get it checked asap.
Yes i am going to get the alignment checked outside maruti. But maruti service station has already checked it and it was alright.

Does any TeamBhpian from Pune know any wheel alignment specialist in Pune.
Old 10th May 2008, 13:30   #29

Yeah my car tyres are bigger and upgraded with zxi alloys, but before that some 40 kms i drove around with stock with no side pull what so ever. The other swift is still on stock tyres and rims and that also doesnt have any problem.

Goto a good alignment specialist with proper equipment and sort it out, pune guys swalpa help please.
Old 12th May 2008, 18:36   #30

The other swift with stock tyres, is it petrol or diesel? If its Diesel then its great that its not pulling to the left.