Team-BHP - The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread

-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/43377-tata-safari-2-2l-technical-problems-thread-297.html)

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 2812061)
3l right? I got mine changed recently @ 1.02lac on odo. The bushes had gone and there was no other option. Paid 4k for whole job at a local ac guy.

Yes its a 3L. Mine lasted for 1.12lacs on the odo and I paid about 2K inclusive of fitment etc at the local AC shop.

Originally Posted by ankur_gupta10 (Post 2807925)
The safari gas has leaked. It happened last years also and the service center (autolink) changed the full condensor and fan, and make me pay 6.5k even under extended warranty. Not going to same thugs again.

Now can anybody provide a good reference for aftermarket A/C servicing center in delhi. Preferably south Delhi.

Hi Ankur,

Try looking up here:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/delhi-...new-delhi.html

I had taken a friend's Safari here and he has done a "cool" job. Even after approximately 2 years, the AC is chilling in the Delhi heat.

Originally Posted by rideon (Post 2812997)
Hi Ankur,

Try looking up here:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/delhi-...new-delhi.html

I had taken a friend's Safari here and he has done a "cool" job. Even after approximately 2 years, the AC is chilling in the Delhi heat.

I tried calling up the cooldays guy, he was out of town. Anyways I tried a local A/C guy in Savitri Nagar. Turns out valves were leaky. Good chilling now, lets see till when it lasts

My Safari is at 54,000 kms now. During the 45K service, the service advisor told me to change the suspension bushes at around 55,000kms.

What is the usual replacement time for suspension bushes? How do I know they need to be replaced? I haven't felt anything abnormal with the way she handles, but I may be overlooking something...

Pls guide...

Originally Posted by verditer (Post 2815055)
My Safari is at 54,000 kms now. During the 45K service, the service advisor told me to change the suspension bushes at around 55,000kms.

What is the usual replacement time for suspension bushes? How do I know they need to be replaced? I haven't felt anything abnormal with the way she handles, but I may be overlooking something...

Pls guide...

Suspension bushes can last anywhere from 15000-60000kms. They can depend upon lots of factors like solar storm activity, phase of the moon, Euro exchange rate, amount of rain in south china sea.. .and sometimes they also depent upon road condition.
So if you are not getting any jarring or squeaking noises be present when they visually inspect the bushes. Cracks are easily visible. 54000kms is actually quite good, considering the Euro exchange rate fluctuations.

Originally Posted by tsk1979 (Post 2815089)
Suspension bushes can last anywhere from 15000-60000kms. They can depend upon lots of factors like solar storm activity, phase of the moon, Euro exchange rate, amount of rain in south china sea.. .and sometimes they also depent upon road condition.
So if you are not getting any jarring or squeaking noises be present when they visually inspect the bushes. Cracks are easily visible. 54000kms is actually quite good, considering the Euro exchange rate fluctuations.

lol:

Ok, so if one cleans the blower, AC should be better? And its easy to?

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 2815118)
lol:

Ok, so if one cleans the blower, AC should be better? And its easy to?

Yes, the air flow increases by a great degree, and removal of grime from the coils also improves cooling efficiency. In the Indica you need to remove the dashboard. Never got such a job done in the safari, so no idea about how easy or difficult to do.

Originally Posted by verditer (Post 2815055)

Pls guide...

If the rear of your Safari pulls towards one of the sides during overtaking or rumblers(apart from the noise), its time for a change.

Originally Posted by tsk1979 (Post 2815089)

Lol, thats a funny one.

Originally Posted by SPEEDY_RACER (Post 2812244)
Yes you are understanding is correct Dadu, my safari has run a little more than 100k KMS. clap: without any major issue till now.

Originally Posted by smsrini (Post 2812256)
This is interesting. If BOSCH will service Delphi Injectors, then there is an alternative to going to TASS and replacing the injectors!

Look forward to the review after you get the car back.

cheers!
Srini

So finally got a quote and work has started at Bosch, they are charging 1500 Rupees for each injector and they require 5 days of time so the expected delivery of the injectors back to TVS is on friday/Saturday.

i have told my Mechanic & Friend in India not to be in Hurry and get this work done correctly.

Originally Posted by SPEEDY_RACER (Post 2815202)
So finally got a quote and work has started at Bosch, they are charging 1500 Rupees for each injector and they require 5 days of time so the expected delivery of the injectors back to TVS is on friday/Saturday.

i have told my Mechanic & Friend in India not to be in Hurry and get this work done correctly.

Thats Cheap considering the price of a new injector and that too if you goto TASS, they change all of them. Let us know how they work after the service is done.

Originally Posted by dadu (Post 2815221)
Thats Cheap considering the price of a new injector and that too if you goto TASS, they change all of them. Let us know how they work after the service is done.

Yes, indeed first wifey went with the beast to TASS and he said one word no repair in TASS direct replacement then wife gave an expression to the TASS guy and called me that whats happening, each injector 12,000 rupees :deadhorse( first word from wifey was lets sell the beast).

then i read in Teambhp that some one made the injectors cleaning so opted for it. finding out my mechanic who has worked on almost all the luxury cars who was in MY TVS was one big task then gave the vehicle to him and he is working all these and keeping me informed.

now i have to wait for the final result whether they work or not, once the work is completed i will take the beast to TASS and will get the pending work done(the radiator fan is slightly scraping one of the edge) which i will get it done there.

Hi, AC on my Tata Safari 2.2 has stopped working. It happened once earlier and it was due to a fuse blown out. But this time around the mechanic told me that its because of gas pressure. I read somewhere in this thread about roof AC being a problem, the hissing sounds etc. I have also noticed hissing sounds coming from about 1 month when roof AC was turned on. Could that have been a reason for leakage of AC gas?
Also, what is the fix for this. Is it a simple gas refill or should i assume that there is a leakage of gas. Would i be better off at an authorized service center or a regular mechanic would do. Would be great if someone can drop a tentative range of expected costs on this. An outside mechanic quoted about 1800 if i get it done from him and about 7k if i go to an authorized station. Any one have a clue about this.

Mandeep

The starting trouble of the safari continues. They cleaned the fuel line and no air leakage was found. It happens when I try to start the car after driving 1-2 kms and switching it off.

Please help.

I have been facing some difficulty in shifting gears to 1st and 2nd during a stop-n-go (city) driving conditions. It was very hard to slot in. The rest of the gears are smooth. During 30K service, the technicians failed to root cause, but claimed all is well. And that the same evening only I noticed its persistence.

The vehicle is back in the service center. They have drained the gear oil and refilled but still the problem is there, they have plans to inspect the clutch tomorrow.

What could have gone wrong? Anyone experienced this before?
In the last 1 month, I used to nudge the car from the 3rd gear to easily shift to 1st. Was such a pain driving in Bangalore traffic.

Mahesh
GX 2010 4x4

Originally Posted by mandeep (Post 2815311)
Hi, AC on my Tata Safari 2.2 has stopped working. It happened once earlier and it was due to a fuse blown out. But this time around the mechanic told me that its because of gas pressure. I read somewhere in this thread about roof AC being a problem, the hissing sounds etc. I have also noticed hissing sounds coming from about 1 month when roof AC was turned on. Could that have been a reason for leakage of AC gas?
Also, what is the fix for this. Is it a simple gas refill or should i assume that there is a leakage of gas. Would i be better off at an authorized service center or a regular mechanic would do. Would be great if someone can drop a tentative range of expected costs on this. An outside mechanic quoted about 1800 if i get it done from him and about 7k if i go to an authorized station. Any one have a clue about this.

Mandeep

Hi Mandeep,

i am not sure about the gas leakage was due to the Hissing sound on the roof AC, but i can say that i too had this problem and when i switch on the AC i used to get the Hissing sound and there was no cooling coming on to the roof AC.

took it to the TASS and they said the AC Motor of the Roof AC is gone and thats the reason the Hissing sound is coming and also the cooling is not happening and the GAS would have been leaked, they also said that i have to change the entire roof AC Unit or repair the Motor which might cost 7k same as your case.

But took it to a local AC mechanic in KR puram and believe it or not he did for just 1000 Bucks, and the Roof AC Motor connection was identified as culprit, and the where as the hissing sound was from the same motor which was shaking and slightly close to the vents and the guy also corrected it, he also changed the connector pin which is used to switch on the AC in the same amount lol:

also I had a small problem where underneath the body there is a small value which controls the AC Gas was gone, and the replacement value was around 2000k , and the AC guy has suggested to make the value direct which would not cause any problem and he did it for 100 rupees, along with the GAS Refill(this was in Vizag in hot summer season last year)