Old 23rd August 2012, 15:55   #4636

re: The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread

I need some advice here - I gave my Safari for 60,000kms service today to KHT Motors.
Received a call in the afternoon from SA that Radiator upper tank (the white one holding the coolant) has a leakage on the alternator side and so, the whole radiator and tank needs to be replaced.
He said he is checking about Warranty.
I am not convinced that a crack in that white tank means whole radiator needs replacement, he quoted around 25K for it.

Has anyone else had this problem before? Is this covered in Warranty? Kindly advise.

Anyway he said they dont have the part and it will take 10 days to arrive, but meanwhile I've to be checking the coolant level frequently.

Advise please.
Old 23rd August 2012, 16:39   #4637

Regarding steering, no matter what road, steering input has to be given. Its something like the way Rajesh khanna drove that jeep in "Mere Sapno ki Rani", with constantly giving steering input.
Well does not look normal , Was it like this from the begining in your 4 years of ownership , I had a wobbly steering once and had to replace tie rods.

Water pump stuff is expensive, and I believe this is a manufacturing defect. However, I wonder why was not a retro done on my vehicle.
I had retro done on my vehicle still ; May be the SA just fleeced me but since timing kit is so essential could not say no and forked out the money as I was out of EW by few days.

Originally Posted by verditer View Post
I need some advice here - I gave my Safari for 60,000kms service today to KHT Motors.
Received a call in the afternoon from SA that Radiator upper tank (the white one holding the coolant) has a leakage on the alternator side and so, the whole radiator and tank needs to be replaced.
I am not convinced that a crack in that white tank means whole radiator needs replacement, he quoted around 25K for it.

Advise please.
I think get it checked at independent garage looks to me like a milking exercise.
Old 23rd August 2012, 18:24   #4638

Has anyone else had this problem before? Is this covered in Warranty? Kindly advise.

Anyway he said they dont have the part and it will take 10 days to arrive, but meanwhile I've to be checking the coolant level frequently.

Advise please.
When the white elephant was barely a year old, we had radiator leak problem. The entire radiator was replaced under warranty.
So I guess the service center is trying to milk you. Do not give milk. Instead put a mail to customer care.
Old 23rd August 2012, 18:31   #4639

Agree with tanveer here and also inspect the bottle yourself and ask them how did it get cracked at the first place(if its a fresh crack and the whole coolant has vanished), did they climb on it or what.
Old 23rd August 2012, 19:35   #4640

My safari is not accelerating well. it picks up after a while. I am thinking it to be a clutch problem, Car has done around 67k. What is the typical cost of clutch overhaul?
Old 24th August 2012, 02:15   #4641

Advise please.

It is true that the white tank is not available with TASS separately and the whole radiator has to be ordered to replace it. The white tank in my truck is cracked as well, which happened during a frontal collision. Some M-Seal on the crack has fixed the problem for me. In case you don't prefer a DIY I'm sure an independent mechanic will fix the tank for a few hundred rupees.

TASS even suggesting you to change the whole radiator to fix the white tank is absurd.

Param
Old 24th August 2012, 08:17   #4642

I think get it checked at independent garage looks to me like a milking exercise.
When the white elephant was barely a year old, we had radiator leak problem. The entire radiator was replaced under warranty.
So I guess the service center is trying to milk you. Do not give milk. Instead put a mail to customer care.
Agree with tanveer here and also inspect the bottle yourself and ask them how did it get cracked at the first place(if its a fresh crack and the whole coolant has vanished), did they climb on it or what.
I spoke to Verditer yesterday evening, looks like the fault is not in the coolant tank, but there seems to be a small leak which looks like it has dried up in the radiator wall itself, the issue is being looked into and Suresh will update us as to the final diagnosis.
Old 24th August 2012, 09:58   #4643

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
I spoke to Verditer yesterday evening, looks like the fault is not in the coolant tank, but there seems to be a small leak which looks like it has dried up in the radiator wall itself, the issue is being looked into and Suresh will update us as to the final diagnosis.
Thanks Amit, TSK, Param & Hari for your valuable inputs here.
I am sorry my initial post was slightly misleading since that was my understanding - that the white tank has cracked - from what the SA told me over phone. Evening I went to collect the car and then I came to know it is not actually the white tank on top, but the actual radiator itself was slightly leaking on the right side edge. It was not liquid when I touched, but there was dried up coolant bluish on the side wall, and a little on an adjacent hose.
This is something I think I have noticed earlier and assumed to be normal.

The SA was only alerting me to the potential problem, and has promised to check on warranty, availability of new radiator and call me back. My apologies if my post was sounding against the dealer. I have a good feeling now and that they are trying to help me with this issue.

Thanks to Hari (Lukeskywalker) who called me to know the situation and offered to help if the dealer didn't assist in getting warranty.

Let me update back once I have some update from the dealer on the warranty front. I agree it is better to get the radiator replaced, like TSK, at this time though the leak at the moment looks minor.
Old 24th August 2012, 12:56   #4644

Originally Posted by ankur_gupta10 View Post
My safari is not accelerating well. it picks up after a while. I am thinking it to be a clutch problem, Car has done around 67k. What is the typical cost of clutch overhaul?
12-16K, depending on whether they find fault with the Master/Slave cylinders also, or not. Will take more than 1 day to do it, so schedule it well.

My vehicle went in just this morning for clutch replacement. Could be only the pressure plate, but didn't want to take a chance of being crippled on the road. Rear suspension bush kit replacement was also pending, as was a slow leak in the feeder tube from the power steering fluid reservoir.

<Sigh> Not having the vehicle for 2 days is more inconveniencing than the wife going to her parents' house for a week.
Old 24th August 2012, 17:10   #4645

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
12-16K, depending on whether they find fault with the Master/Slave cylinders also, or not. Will take more than 1 day to do it, so schedule it well.

My vehicle went in just this morning for clutch replacement. Could be only the pressure plate, but didn't want to take a chance of being crippled on the road. Rear suspension bush kit replacement was also pending, as was a slow leak in the feeder tube from the power steering fluid reservoir.

<Sigh> Not having the vehicle for 2 days is more inconveniencing than the wife going to her parents' house for a week.
Look at my plight. Every alternate weekend I make a pilgrimage to the service center. The car has gotten to know its extended warranty has gotten over.

An advice to people involved in the Safari design and production. Shame on you. Please take a saucer full of water and drown on it. Wait, thats too honorable. Please take a teaspoon of water and drown in that

The raidator has started losing water.
If I do not start the car for 3 days at a stretch, multiple cranks are needed to start the engine.
The drivers door does not open. I have to go inside, and manually struggle with the lock from the rear door.

The power window jams up too. Only after using for a few hours it starts to move.

And the steering! I have gotten so many suspension components replaced, yet she does not track in a straight line on the highways, requiring constant steering input.

Its not a vehicle, its a jugaad. A very comfortable, enjoyable jugaad, but one made by people who probably could not even clear first year engineering mechanics course of their Engineering
tsk1979 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th August 2012, 18:29   #4646

Hi Friends - Here is an email that i wrote to MD TATA MOtors North India Customer service Head

Hi Mr Thusoo,
Hope this email finds you in good health. My brother Mr Anant Nayak spoke to you earlier in the day today discussing about the issues that we're facing with our Tata safari DL 14 CG 0700.
This has been my dream car since it was launched in 1998 and after buying multiple vehicles i finally bought the beast thinking that i would keep it/drive it/enjoy it for many years to come however unfortunately my dreams came crashing down when this car started giving me issues and also not too good responses from the service partner autolinks ( Vasant Kunj - Bawa potteries ).
Delivery
• Although the car was delivered to me on the decided date but i had to literally struggle with the guy to clean the car properly as it had grease marks and was dirty at multiple places..Instead of the advisor doing it i was the one who went into the nitigrities of it and got it done.

• I was not given the demo of how to change the tyre in case of a puncture , how does rear wiper work etc and had to ask for a separate demo at home ( which happened after i insisted post delivery )

• I was not given the manual/service book etc for which i had to follow up multiple times and was then delivered to my place
1st Service
• A simple service of just washng and check up took my time up from 10:00 am till 7:30 pm and again i had to struggle my way into looking into the nitigrities of getting everything done..especially post washing there are grease marks etc everywhere and when you ask them to clean it they show a indifferent behaviour which pisses off the customer but since it's your car so you have to bear it and get the work done.
• The surveys are filled in a pushy manner - I was kind of forced to give atleast some good marks basis personal rapport which i've stopped doing now
2nd Service - NIGHTMARE is the word that comes to my mind
• Gave my car for 2nd Service 5 weeks back ( dont remember the date but can provide on request ) and again had to struggle till the evening to get it back and the same issue of them not cleaning it properly and me standing there and doing certain things myself cos i wanted it spic and span
• 2 Days after the 2nd service the oil started leaking and the AC water started coming into the cabin ( Drivers seat side ). I called up Autolinks and they said please dont bring it on saturday as we are already full etc ( imagine the oil leaking and water coming inside the cabin and this response on top of it..SHOULD I HAVE WAITED FOR ALL THE OIL TO DRAIN OUT/ENGINE TO CEASE BEFORE THEY COULD FIX AN APPOINTMENT?? - Anyways i pushed my way through and went there on saturday. The car was inspected and they fixed the oil leaking issue however again told me that AC issue is a big one and you'll have to come on a weekday..besides me requesting multiple times i was pushed to come during weekday to get it fixed
• Since i could not manage on a weekday so i booked the appointment for next saturday ( was also getting SMOG from the AC vents and no cooling too ) ..After i went on saturday they said that it's a BIG task and that i'll have to leave the car till monday EOD since Sunday they were closed. I followed up on Monday and they said that ISKA DASHBOARD KHUL KE SAB THEEK HOGA and that it would take 1 more day..I said OK ( as if i had a choice ) and finally got the car back on Tuesday around 5:00 pm
• All looked fine untill i switched on the lights at night and everything went dark in the car ( No cabin light , no cluster light , no back red and reverse lights were working ) - I thanked my stars as atleast the Headlights were working.
• I called up Aneesh ( autolink advisor ) again and told him that this time it would be impossible for me to come personally so please get the car picked from my house and drop it back after fixing this issue
• SO 3rd CONSECUTIVE SATURDAY/MONDAY ( dont remember ) after 2nd service my car again went to the service station and the light issue got fixed
• After driving the car for couple of days this time the rear wiper/rear water booster stopped working and this time the water started leaking from co-drivers side and reached till the back seat :(
• I again called up Aneesh yesterday and he asked me to book a fix up again and when i called autolinks booking they told me that they were booked on monday 27th Aug and the entire week and that i need to speak to their manager Mr Rupesh Pathak if i had to get things fixed.
• I called up Mr Rupesh Pathak and requested him for the same and he asked me in turn to call up Aneesh and tell him that he has approved it ( he could have very well done it himself - ISNT IT?? )
• I called up Aneesh and told him that i needed someone to pick the car/get the issues fixed & drop it back on Monday and then he finally spoke to that booking department with me online and finally it's fixed for Monday ( Luckily i have 2 more cars so i can manage but what if i did not have?? )
I'm SO FURIOUS/AGITATED and FRUSTRATED right now and don't know what to do. Imagine buying a 9 lac + vehicle and it spends half it's time in the garage and rest of the time the owner ( ME ) has to plan 1 day of every weekend for the car.
I'm sure that you'll look into my matter seriously and compensate me accordingly for the tough times that i'm going through and might go through if things don't work out well.
Looking forward for a favourable response from one of the Top TATA MOTORS MD that i'm writing to.
Harish Nayak

Last edited by harishnayak : 24th August 2012 at 18:33.
Old 24th August 2012, 18:32   #4647

Look at my plight. Every alternate weekend I make a pilgrimage to the service center. The car has gotten to know its extended warranty has gotten over.
Tanveer just one suggestion warrenty and extended warrenty is over and you are in Delhi/NCR which seems to have mecca for aftermarket spares and service.

I read up in a thread from GD Sir about Safari and Scorpio suspension overhaul at FNG and also there is another thread about rebuild of burnt Dicor 3.0 engine using components from Mayapuri so why don't you try them.
Old 24th August 2012, 21:12   #4648

An advice to people involved in the Safari design and production. Shame on you. Please take a saucer full of water and drown on it. Wait, thats too honorable. Please take a teaspoon of water and drown in that

Its not a vehicle, its a jugaad. A very comfortable, enjoyable jugaad, but one made by people who probably could not even clear first year engineering mechanics course of their Engineering
Tanveer, wait for the 'storme' in the teaspoon!
Old 24th August 2012, 22:08   #4649

Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
Tanveer, wait for the 'storme' in the teaspoon!
And again work as free R&D engineer for them. No ways! I am going to flog my elephant as much as I can. No matter how many times I have to go to the workshop, I am going to keep her running for atleast a few months more.
Old 26th August 2012, 00:28   #4650

Hi. Today morning it was raining heavily and I took out my safari lx (2 months old) to go for a meeting and the engine malfunction light was on. After the meeting, started the truck and everything was okay. The rain had stopped by now. no error light. Took her for a spin, brother also drove all evening. No error lights yet.

Is this normal? Should I be worried?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com