Old 12th September 2008, 09:15   #1

Cabin Light Problem in Swift

I am facing a funny situation for sometime in my swift. Probably others can confirm it if its the design / default feature on the vehicle.

Scenerio:

I have manual central locking on my vehicle. I lock the car from the drivers side. Mind you that the Cabin light is in door mode. After I lock the door, the cabin light dims itself. Thats good enough.

Now when I come to the passenger side, open the door, the cabin light comes on. Good enough till this point. Now when I close the passenger side door and lock it, the cabin light is still ON.

Is this happening with my swift only? Can anyone tell me is this a problem scenerio or any fault. MASS is not able to diagnose the problem.
Old 12th September 2008, 10:02   #2

Its probably only hooked up to the actuator of the drivers side door.

Central locking would solve this issue... there is possibly some jugaad method also but not sure if its worth toying with the wiring for all that.
Old 12th September 2008, 10:17   #3

Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Its probably only hooked up to the actuator of the drivers side door.

Central locking would solve this issue... there is possibly some jugaad method also but not sure if its worth toying with the wiring for all that.
You know what, I hate electonic central locking. Don't know why. probably being a mech guys dont like anything thats not seen.

Anyway, Can you kindly check it in your swift if it is the same ? Sorry to bother you about it, but want to confirm it.
Old 12th September 2008, 10:26   #4

This has nothing to do with central locking. Please get the door switches as well as the cabin light itself checked for any loose contacts.
Old 12th September 2008, 10:40   #5

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
I lock the car from the drivers side. Mind you that the Cabin light is in door mode. After I lock the door, the cabin light dims itself. Thats good enough.

Now when I come to the passenger side, open the door, the cabin light comes on. Good enough till this point. Now when I close the passenger side door and lock it, the cabin light is still ON.
Lambuhere, this certainly is a fault. Even if other Swifts are wired up this way, that does not make it OK.
Do have it rectified.

Last edited by anupmathur : 12th September 2008 at 10:42.
Old 12th September 2008, 12:59   #6

Nope. It does not happen in my swift. The dimming works similarly with all doors. It was the same when the car ran with Manual central locking. No change when Autocop was installed later.

Please get your car checked.
Old 12th September 2008, 13:11   #7

Eddy, Thanks for your help. Its highly appreciated. Let me get back to MASS and sit on their heads to get this thing resolved.
Old 12th September 2008, 17:58   #8

Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
You know what, I hate electonic central locking. Don't know why. probably being a mech guys dont like anything thats not seen.
You did notice though that I didnt indicate electronic
Old 12th September 2008, 18:37   #9

Let me clarify this, when you close the passeneger side door, the light stays ON forever OR do they fade out after a delay of 10-15 secs, instead of immediately fading off?
Old 12th September 2008, 19:17   #10

the cabin stays for 15 sec,and starts to diminish,as against the other cars where it turns off immediately.
Old 12th September 2008, 19:48   #11

Originally Posted by ankit.jhamb View Post
the cabin stays for 15 sec,and starts to diminish,as against the other cars where it turns off immediately.
Hey, Ankit, I think the question was meant for Lambuhere1!
Old 12th September 2008, 20:31   #12

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Let me clarify this, when you close the passeneger side door, the light stays ON forever OR do they fade out after a delay of 10-15 secs, instead of immediately fading off?
CORRECTOMONDO

i think the poster did not wait for long enough for the light to go off

Front Passenger side takes a little longer to go off, thats all.

thread closed?
Old 12th September 2008, 21:12   #13

Originally Posted by aerohit View Post
CORRECTOMONDO

i think the poster did not wait for long enough for the light to go off

Front Passenger side takes a little longer to go off, thats all.

thread closed?
If you have tried it out with your very own Swift, perhaps the thread could be closed. BUT only when Lambuhere1 confirms that there has been an error of observation on his part!
How can you expect the thread to be closed simply because you have made a statement?!
Old 12th September 2008, 22:12   #14

Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Hey, Ankit, I think the question was meant for Lambuhere1!
that was just an addition to jaggu da`s reply.

Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
If you have tried it out with your very own Swift, perhaps the thread could be closed. BUT only when Lambuhere1 confirms that there has been an error of observation on his part!
How can you expect the thread to be closed simply because you have made a statement?!
the thread owner must confirm that the problem has been solved,we should wait till he confirms it
Old 12th September 2008, 22:21   #15

Front driver door also will have the same delay, but when you insert the key it will switch off the light without the delay. In case of passenger door this might not happen, though if the driver plonk the key in, then light will dim away.

Just wanted to clarify if this was the case?