Old 2nd April 2009, 08:32   #1

Locks Stuck

Hey guys,

Few minutes back, the person who cleans my car came home and said "Shaab, gaadi ka dono lock nahi khul raha hai". I thought ***, went out to check and they are actually stuck.

On closer inspection it seems that someone has played a prank and put some sort of glue in them, and my assumption is Fevi Quick as it is the easiest available.

Now this is a funny situation and I cannot help but smile, even though I am a bit irritated too. Now, Any solutions ?

Shashank
Old 2nd April 2009, 08:39   #2

For the longer term, make peace with everyone in the neighbourhood, LOL!
If it's a hatchback, get in through the hatch.
Old 2nd April 2009, 08:51   #3

Warm water?

Acetone (Nail polish remover) should help, but it may damage the paint on the process.

Which car and/or what kind of handle? The pull-up type or the pull-out type? I can't think how someone can glue a handle shut. It may be some internal mechanical problem.

The other way to open the car is to go via the window beading method (used when one locks the keys inside the car)
Old 2nd April 2009, 09:04   #4

Its an Esteem, so hatch is not an option. And handles are not stuck but the Keyholes are are.
Old 2nd April 2009, 09:12   #5

Originally Posted by Shashank.A View Post
Its an Esteem, so hatch is not an option. And handles are not stuck but the Keyholes are are.
Not sure if it may work,try to push in the keyhole with a small screw driver
Old 2nd April 2009, 09:14   #6

Put some thinner/nail polish remover by using a narrow pipe by dipping into the liquid hold it from the mouth so it will not fall and then release it in key hole. You can use straw, empty ball point refill,. Better if it is flexible. I think it will work if you guess it is fevi quick etc
Old 2nd April 2009, 10:42   #7

PJ i would say :(

Try the scale method for opening the locks.... it should work. Else i am afraid you might need to call your mechanic for opening up the Rear Qtr. glass of esteem.
Old 2nd April 2009, 12:40   #8

And Shashank, you can't squeeze through the regular window even....

And why do thing out of the ususal generally happen to you only..?

Hey guys,

Few minutes back, the person who cleans my car came home and said "Shaab, gaadi ka dono lock nahi khul raha hai". I thought ***, went out to check and they are actually stuck.

On closer inspection it seems that someone has played a prank and put some sort of glue in them, and my assumption is Fevi Quick as it is the easiest available.

Now this is a funny situation and I cannot help but smile, even though I am a bit irritated too. Now, Any solutions ?

Shashank

Last edited by gd1418 : 2nd April 2009 at 12:43.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:12   #9

Unfortunately, I was the victim of a similar prank played on my Jeep (grip lock).

What I'd suggest you do:

1. Get hold of a mechanic (preferably a tow truck pappu) and ask him to open your doors using a long ruler.

2. Remove the lock, use acetone / spirit, let the glue weaken and then have a locksmith clean the insides.

Sorry someone played such a messy joke on your car.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:43   #10

well, got a dent-paint wala to get the doors open, after that went to a door-wala mechanic, who asked me to change the locks. Instead of changing both the locks and end up using multiple keys, got all four changed (anyhow they were worn out).

OEM set of locks Rs.1375. *Jay Ushin I guess.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:49   #11

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
And why do thing out of the ususal generally happen to you only..?
Because I do not have a proper parking slot. I have to park it at a distance form my place.

And that is the reason I love my car, it takes a lot of physical abuse. As I have told earlier, its a weekend car for me, so whenever i go to pcik my car, its usual for me to find couple of more scratched, caved in (almost) roof, disoriented vipers, foot marks all over the body.

So that is the reason I do not give a damn about the physical condition of my car.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:50   #12

OEM set of locks Rs.1375. *Jay Ushin I guess.
Catch hold of the guy who played such PJ and hand over the Bill to him

Last edited by ashthedivx : 2nd April 2009 at 16:51.
Old 2nd April 2009, 17:49   #13

1375/- for the lock set this is cheep,just if it was a skoda.

lock set 25k+labour 5k you end up paying 30k for the locks.
Old 3rd April 2009, 11:14   #14

Its was a blessing in Disguise. I ended up spending around Rs. 2300 y'day. The guy who changed the locks was the door expert and he fixed my doors, aligned them properly, changed couple of joints, on os the doors was not getting locked/unlocked through central locking, he fixed that too.

Now my car is quoter by around 50%, its surprising how much noise has been eliminated, which I just took as granted because of the age of the car.
Old 3rd April 2009, 21:36   #15

On a second thought, I was wondering, wouldn't it have been nice if you had remote locking system in your Esteem.

Thus glue or no glue, prank or no prank, one could always open the doors by the remote. Keyless entry.....

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com