Old 16th March 2010, 11:24   #31

Kudos

Hi Dharmesh,
Thanks for starting such a fantastic and unusual thread. The facts in the links you supplied are heavy to digest at one go and will need extensive reading.
Just to further the discussion, some things I gleaned:
1. The peak oil theory article says all countries are on the declining side of the peak except Kuwait, Iraq and S Arabia (these hitting the peak within next 2-4 years).
2. The world oil (as per US Petroleum Institute) reserve may finish between 2062 and 2094 (with some assumptions regarding consumption rate).
3. Biofuel is alternate fuel to replace fossil fuel and requires land to cultivate. Even if we assume that Jatropha could grow on not-so-fertile land, we have to factor that cultivated crops would be sacrificed for profit in fuel crops.
4. As population continues to grow, more food would be required.
5. Juxtaposed, points 3 and 4 suggest that a balance would need to be arrived at, to prioritize.
My 2 cents from all this:
1. Humanity has always depended on readily available resources, coal and oil, for energy and these are limited in quantity and non-regenerative(don't know the right word).
2. Even considering conversion to Biofuels in near future, we would just switch from being dependent on an oil well to being dependent on land (cultivated with oil seeds etc) and that is limited too. The question is, is the regenerative capacity of sparable land enough (apart from already cultivated land and the land set aside taking into account growing food requirements) to act as a reliable replacement to match the crude oil extraction and supply rate? If not, what might be the difference?
3. Biofuels would be a crop and dependent on the rain, land fertility reduction over repeated crops etc (if to a much lesser extent than other crops?) and likely to sway widely in the production rate affecting economies?
4. Agriculture itself requires lot of fuel for transportation and operation of machinery and so would biofuel. Is this counted in the trade-off between requirement and availability?

With all these points, what is the viability of biofuels being the right replacement to fossil fuel on a lasting basis?

The peak oil curve has an exponential drop. This may mean a critical production drop (to trigger a worldwide crisis) well before the depletion dates of 2062-2094. Apocalyptic theories abound in this regard with books and movies (remember Mad Max?). Considering it takes us about 200 years to deplete crude oil (since the beginning of IC engine?), the most consumtion concentrated in the later years (so called development requiring energy-intensive lifestyle), what would be the fate of earth's soil if we use biofuels as an alternative?

What would be the estimated cost of technology migration to suit biofuels when most engines are designed to use the exisitng fuels? Isn't this a major lobby factor?

With the developed nations' currrent stance on climactic change to not even do the basic to cut emissions, how much importance does the oil crisis portend in politics and what is the predicted timeline when positive action (read a** saving last ditch maneouvre) to battle these may be triggered?

Many more questions come to mind but this is already a big post.

Last edited by Delta Wing : 16th March 2010 at 11:26.
Old 17th March 2010, 21:02   #32

hi,plz let me know technical & legal procediurs of starting a bio diesel fuel station in kerala region
regards manoj ambattu
Old 28th March 2010, 23:49   #33

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
Thanks man. This helped a bit.

I agree to one point that labor laws in india are not very strict and farm labor is not paid alot but think about it.
Paddy sells at 750 for 100 kilos. Its very un economical at times. The costs we expect would raise and still we get the same price.

Anyways sorry on being off topic.

@Dharmesh: Is Palm cultivable in flood regions? What about Jatropa?
Maddy: You are welcome. If I get good queries, I try to revert back with my best efforts.

Regarding labor laws & labor compensation, it depends with which other place you are comparing India. India's biggest asset is its population. We can't dream of using so many skilled people at many businesses abroad but that is possible in India due to low wages & high level of skills. We don't start our weekend on Friday & don't shout from our roofs "Thank God its Friday". If people plan properly, they will definitely earn well from land but it has to be a good piece of land. Contract farming is another good option for people who got good land & don't know how to handle it. Suggesting to tell your people back home to send someone to a good college for "Agri Management course". IIM-A offers one such PG course but admission is tough & placements are for sure

Now your specific question about Palm, what do you mean by flood regions? Though I am not Agronomy expert but I do enjoy great company of some higly experienced Agri experts & they do talk in terms of "mm of water/rains" on yearly basis. So suggesting you to be specific. I can help you than. Palm is produced normally in Malaysia/Indonesia which enjoy heavy showers.

Your next query What about Jatropha does not make a sense. I do write elaborate replies so I deserve to expect properly explained Questions
Old 25th May 2019, 12:32   #34

Re: Biofuels : Explained & explored. Must read for Biodiesel admirers

Putting a straight question -
There is this new pump in our city (Ahmedabad) selling Biodiesel for Rs. 4 less then conventional diesel.
I know that warranty will be void in new vehicles if the owner starts using Biofuel, but for vehicles that have gone out of warranty, is it advisable to use?
Are there any modifications that need to be done before switching?

Best regards
K K Vaidya
Old 11th August 2019, 11:10   #35

Government launches programme for converting used cooking oil into biodiesel in 100 cities

State-run oil marketing companies IndianOil, Bharat Petroleum and Hindustan Petroleum on Saturday launched a programme to procure biodiesel made from used cooking oil in 100 cities across the country.
At present, 850 crore litres of diesel is consumed every month in India. The government aims to blend 5 per cent of biodiesel in diesel by 2030. Thus, 500 crore litres of biodiesel is required in a year.
source
Old 13th February 2020, 14:37   #36

I was reading a local daily and below ad got me by surprise.
Biofuels : Explained & explored. Must read for Biodiesel admirers-bio.jpg

As per ad, biodeisel is cheaper , zero pollution, good power and fuel efficiency, some GST rebate and also as I understand is safe to use on existing diesel cars! Will these be a lifeline for diesel cars? The ad also claims this is first such station in entire Karnataka.

Last edited by PrideRed : 13th February 2020 at 14:42.
Old 13th February 2020, 15:55   #37

Hello Gaaij,
I recently picked up a Pajero SFX in May 2019.
The car had done around 71000 sad kilometers and needed some TLC.

However the first tankful of diesel gave me a rough idea that I was going to shell out way more on fuel than the Passat if I used this for a long drive.
Bit the bullet and tried bio diesel, which is available at 58 bucks a liter, used it with System D at their recommended 1 ml per liter dosage.
The truck now stands at somewhere around 103000 kilometers and the only thing I face every winter morning is a long cold start and a bit of white smoke for the first five minutes or so.

Mileage with diesel and biodiesel both has been a consistent 10 - 13 depending on the jaunts.

Talked to some truck drivers at the bio-diesel bunk and all they had to say was maybe 50000 kilometers down the road, the nozzles may need a reconditioning or service, other than that no issues.
With around 30000 on the odo myself and doing regular Pune - Valsad jaunts, almost every weekend or alternate weekends, I haven't faced any issues as yet.

Just wanted to share my experience.

I have also seen a lot of Maruti Dzire cab guys tanking up on bio-diesel but nobody knows what happens to the injectors since most of them have switched over recently.

As far as I know, the nozzled Pajero wont face any issues but if I even dare to think about tanking up the mighty Passat, its just gonna throw me some lights and scare the living daylights out of me. At around 10 bucks cheaper than diesel, it is a worthy fuel for the old school vehicles I guess. The only downside being a lower calorific value which would not be noticeable in a vintage Pajero or any other vehicle more suited for a sedate drive than setting the highways on fire.

My tubbits, hope this helps.
epicenter.rulez is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2020, 16:07   #38

Originally Posted by epicenter.rulez View Post

As far as I know, the nozzled Pajero wont face any issues but if I even dare to think about tanking up the mighty Passat, its just gonna throw me some lights and scare the living daylights out of me. At around 10 bucks cheaper than diesel, it is a worthy fuel for the old school vehicles I guess. The only downside being a lower calorific value which would not be noticeable in a vintage Pajero or any other vehicle more suited for a sedate drive than setting the highways on fire.

My tubbits, hope this helps.
Is this a B100? Is there any issue when biodiesel mixes up with regular diesel?
Old 13th February 2020, 16:14   #39

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Is this a B100? Is there any issue when biodiesel mixes up with regular diesel?
All I know is it is bio diesel and it is cheaper than high speed diesel and it has not caused me any issues even if I use it NEAT for the last 30K kilometers. But I am guessing it is B100.

Have not tried blending it with anything, but I am assuming the Dzire cab guys would be doing this.

Sorry couldn't help out with your query to a larger extent.
epicenter.rulez is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 10:29   #40

Speaking of bio fuels, 5 new CNG outlets were inaugurated in Namakkal in Jun'20. This is good news for potential CNG buyers in the area as Tamil Nadu yet has no plans for a CNG pipeline.

https://www.thehindubusinessline.com...e31900100.ece#

Only an LNG terminal has been planned at Ennore till date, no idea till that time it will be functional. The state needs CNG badly so that the effects of rising petrol/diesel prices does not take a toll especially on small commercial vehicles owners.

Last edited by Sheel : 26th July 2020 at 18:35. Reason: Minor typo.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com