Team-BHP - Preview: Ford Endeavour

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Preview: Ford Endeavour (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/167920-preview-ford-endeavour-18.html)

Originally Posted by niv26 (Post 3877199)
Why they are not offering the same in 2.2-litre Titanium variant? Ideally, the variants shouldn't differ in specs when engine size changes.

Everyone does that in order to differentiate the top variant and make more people yearn for it. E.g. you get side & curtain airbags only in the AWD Santa Fe (not the FWD). Indians care more about features than the engine. If you give all the kit on the smaller engine, no one will buy the bigger one.

Originally Posted by Ragavsr (Post 3877363)
Their move is justified only if they are targetting an extremely aggressive price of 15-16 lakhs

That expectation is ridiculous. The Innova & XUV500 have variants costing more than that. Heck, the Hyundai Elantra costs 18 lakhs!

The Endeavour will be a 25 - 30 lakh SUV.

Originally Posted by JoyPangli (Post 3877488)
The only thing missing from the 3.2 Titanium is the 20" wheels, which are standard in other countries.

We should be glad they are missing. 20" wheels have no place on broken Indian roads. You'll have to rearrange your teeth after every drive. Personally, I like SUVs with small wheels & tall sidewall tyres (see this post of mine).

Thanks S2 and Thanks Ford.

I strongly believe Ford has got their goals and priorities for Indian Market pretty sorted out. They are bringing cars which can be used as benchmarks in their respective segments. On one side we see dated cars being launched at huge premiums even though they miss features available 2 segments below (I did not mentioned the Trailblazer lol:) and then we see Ford, coming with such beauties. Gosh, I need to rob a bank, any suggestions? stupid:

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 3877610)
Indians care more about features than the engine. If you give all the kit on the smaller engine, no one will buy the bigger one.

The case point being the E Class / 5 series. Very few people buy 6 cylinder versions of these cars nowadays.

While on it I feel that the 2.2L 4X2 AT Titanium variant may turn out to be the most popular variant with the Endeavor.

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 3877610)

If you give all the kit on the smaller engine, no one will buy the bigger one.

That expectation is ridiculous. The Innova & XUV500 have variants costing more than that. Heck, the Hyundai Elantra costs 18 lakhs!

The Endeavour will be a 25 - 30 lakh SUV.

[/url]).

Its a wish list, but i honestly hope Endeavour starts from 21-22L ex showroom for the base variants. If the starting range is 25L plus, then the OTR would easily cross 29-30L making it unaffordable for many like me. While i do not expect companies to be generous and charitable, considering the price sensitive indian market, i hope Ford will be reasonable.

It worries me all the more when Endeavour gets compared to the Prado. An Australian 7 Seater manual Prado costs around 27L (before taxes) but indian Prado costs beyond 90L. Hope that's not the territory Ford is aiming for. Source

^^ The Prado is a CBU while the Endeavour will be assembled via CKD kits at Ford's Chennai plant, so don't compare on those lines.

I love how this Endeavour looks, real butch like a SUV should look and I would really want to see lots of these on our roads.

Although everyone expects all features and to pay peanuts, its not going to happen. The dream of 15/16 lacs ex showroom will remain just that. Mostly the Endevour will compete price wise with the Fortuner (the 2.2 liter one) and the 3.2 liter will be at a price premium. So expect prices between 35-43 lacs on road for all versions.
Also lets not compare number of airbags on cheaper products and expect the same or higher on costlier ones. Increasing number of airbags don't make a car safe/unsafe. Ideally airbags and other passive safety features work in conjunction with active safety features, crumple zones and crash worthiness ratings of each car.
And the 2.2 with the autobox and the 3.2 liter engines will be gas guzzlers. In real life (city conditions) don't expect fuel economy greater than 7-8kmpl and highways a bit better (the 3.2 liter Endevour weighs in a hefty 2300 kgs as per some reviews).

Regarding 20 inch wheels it defeats the purpose of owning a SUV. The bigger the wheel diameter the worse the ride quality and with lesser rubber sidewalls expect fractured alloys if one drives fast over rutted roads. Ideally 15/16 inch wheels with huge sidewalls give the best ride quality over broken roads, also this looks best on SUVs

I am adoring the looks of the of upcoming Endeavour. The features it constitutes are comparable to the Range Rovers. Keeping many features standard has made all the more mouth watering. It screams a true SUV in all sense.
I am so excited for the battle between New Fortuner, new Mitsubishi Pajero and this. (which probably the japanese will win but the Ford is going to hit hard with this one).

Spotted again at a dealership:
http://indianautosblog.com/2015/12/f...er-yard-208679
Sadly, what I can see from the pics, only beige interiors might be on offer. Anyways, happy with the kit being offered and would be pleased if priced competitively.

Excellent spread of variants by Ford!

However it still doesn't have the one I would want, a 2.2 litre engine with the 4x4 AT in Titanium trim (even though S2's post mentions it. I double checked with the website and it wasn't mentioned there)! I can understand it may be in the interest of sales of the 3.2 litre engine but I still feel there is a market for both as the 3.2 may just be out of range for many at an expected 35 lacs. If the 4x2 Titanium AT is priced around 25 lacs then I will seriously consider this over the new Innova.

Dear Ford please provide a small sunroof at least on the 2.2 Titanium variants if not the panoramic sunroof and the 4x4 AT version as well. And please don't go crazy with the pricing!

This really will shake up the segment big time. I can almost foresee long waiting periods for this one. I'm sure the Toyota and perhaps Mitsubishi bosses are relooking at the launch dates for their respective steeds.

Originally Posted by S2!!! (Post 3876958)

The Endeavour will be available with a choice of 2 diesel engines - 2.2-litre (158 BHP / 385 Nm) mated to either a 6-speed manual or 6-speed AT; and 3.2-litre (197 BHP / 470 Nm) mated to a 6-speed AT only. Both these options will be available in 2 trim variants - Trend and Titanium. The 2.2-litre prospective buyers will have the option to choose between a 4x2 or 4x4 + manual in Trend trim or a 4x4 + AT in Titanium trim, while the 3.2-litre is available with 4x4 + AT in both the trim variant

I just checked ford India website, looks like 2.2L +4x4+AT is not a combination that can be bought.
If 2.2, it can be either AT or 4x4 but not both.

Originally Posted by sunishsamuel (Post 3877623)
Its a wish list, but i honestly hope Endeavour starts from 21-22L ex showroom for the base variants. If the starting range is 25L plus, then the OTR would easily cross 29-30L making it unaffordable for many like me.

If the Thailand pricing is anything to go by, the lowest variant is priced ~ 1,390,000 THB with the 3.2L 4x4 Titanium at 1,750,000 THB. Works out to be Rs. 25L to 32L direct conversion without any taxes. Is the cost of assembly cheaper in India?

If I recall correctly, the fortuner costs quite a bit more in India compared to Thailand. May be the taxes are higher in India.

Originally Posted by PrideRed (Post 3877912)
I just checked ford India website, looks like 2.2L +4x4+AT is not a combination that can be bought.
If 2.2, it can be either AT or 4x4 but not both.

Thanks for the correction. After you pointed it out, changes have been made to the thread and news article. 4x4 + AT is only available with the 3.2L. 4x2 is available with MT or AT, while 4x4 is only available with MT with the 2.2L.

When possible, can anyone confirm that the interior is only offered in beige?

Or is an all-black (hopefully leather) interior available?

Not in-station at the moment, but early this week had been trying to contact dealers and the local Mumbai Ford office - all of which had nobody intelligent to speak to...

That's an awesome line up. Something to be noted here seriously is that the fortuner from Toyota has only 2 airbags on their top end even till date.

The best part I noticed here is Endeavour comes with all 4 wheel disc brakes whereas fortuner comes with front disc brakes only. clap:

I think Ford is giving a decent spread for the new Endeavour. Of-course when you plan variants, it is impossible to keep everyone happy.

I am personally happy that they have a manual 4x4 Trend variant. Personally, I would pick the 3.2 Titanium 4x4 Automatic.