Old 11th June 2019, 22:04   #46

Re: Driven: Lexus ES 300h

Seeing increase in road rage incidents in NCR and next to no traffic sense, i wanted to make myself feel a little secure and decided to procure a dashcam. I already had Transcend Drivepro 100 dashcam purchased 3 years back, but it was powered through Li-ion battery. There is always a risk with battery powered dashcam especially with the heat we face here.

Requirements:
1. Capacitor powered
2. Dual channel
3. Wi-Fi feature for ease of data access.

After researching a lot on Team-BHP and dashcam forums, i placed order for Viofo-A129 Duo on Aliexpress. It had all the features i needed and was quite VFM. The package arrived in a little over a month as it was retained by Customs for some reason. Thankfully, i was not charged any duty.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7340.jpg

Install:
I was pretty clear that i don't want to risk my warranty with hardwire install. ES has 4 USB ports plus an additional power outlet in the central console. I decided to plug-in USB adapter that came with the dashcam inside the center console. That way i didn't need to fiddle with it daily, and it'll be quite discreet too.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7344.jpg
There was sufficient gap between the armrest and center console trim for the wire to pass through.
Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7343.jpg
I installed the power cable first from the IRVM, passing through A-pillar trim. I made sure that the cable should not hinder inflation of side airbag, incase of an unfortunate incident. I wish it never comes to that.

For this, i routed the cable from behind the airbag.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7345.jpg

Then from behind driver side dashboard trim to the under the driver side seat from the door sills.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7347.jpg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7348.jpg

As it's dual channel dashcam, i also needed to run a wire from front dashcam all the way to the back, i removed B pillar trim, and routed the wire alonside power cable all the way to the back seat, beneath the trims.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7349.jpg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7350.jpg

Installed front dashcam behind IRVM and rear dashcam on the extreme right side as it was hindering operation of powered sunshade.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7352.jpg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7371.jpg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7353.jpg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-img_7367.jpg
Dhruv29 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th September 2019, 08:10   #47

Infractions: 0/1 (99)

Question for ES owners: Is the ground clearance sufficient and how does it compare to an E (LWB)?

We are evaluating E, 6GT and the ES
Old 30th September 2019, 08:59   #48

Originally Posted by reppy View Post
Question for ES owners: Is the ground clearance sufficient and how does it compare to an E (LWB)?

The ground clearance in practise is better than the E - LWB though in exact mm it is probably the same. The difference coming from the longer wheel base of the E. We scrape badly made speed breakers about 3 to 5 times a year only when loosed with 4 pax. It almost never happens with only one or two pax. Hope this helps. All the best with your selection. I don't know about 6GT but the E and ES are both excellent cars. Our ES is now 30 months and about 35,000 kgs old.
V.Narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2019, 09:11   #49

As per my contacts, Lexus will start assembly of ES here in India at the start of 2020 Though they have categorically told the dealers that there will be No change in the Prices, I expect some reduction going forward. At present, there is a lot of ES inventory at dealerships and you can negotiate some Discounts.

Frankly, 6GT can be ignored. E Class does has its own presence and is loaded well whereas ES will give you a different feel. Tough choice
Turbanator is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2019, 09:48   #50

As per my contacts, Lexus will start assembly of ES here in India at the start of 2020 Though they have categorically told the dealers that there will be No change in the Prices, I expect some reduction going forward. At present, there is a lot of ES inventory at dealerships and you can negotiate some Discounts.

Frankly, 6GT can be ignored. E Class does has its own presence and is loaded well whereas ES will give you a different feel. Tough choice
Thanks for the tip! An uncle of mine is in the market for a mid size and he was convinced with the ES. I'll tell him to wait a few months now.

Frankly the 6GT and E350 are too expensive, close to a crore on road in Kerala. Compared to that, ES and S90 are absolute bargains for ~75L each. Add the novelty factor in as well.
Old 30th September 2019, 18:20   #51

The ground clearance is a big let down. It somewhat helps with the stance of the car as compared to LWB E class, which appears as it's on stilts. But in the end, it wouldn't bottom out like the ES.

The car scrapes pretty badly on quite a lot of speed bumps when loaded with 4 passengers as the wheelbase is increased by 50 mm compared to 6th gen ES while the GC is same. On my car the underbody shielding is shredded at 4 places due to it.

I'm thinking of upsizing tires from 235/45 R18 to 235/50 R18. It'll give me additional ground clearance of 1.2 cm.

Last edited by Dhruv29 : 30th September 2019 at 18:24. Reason: More information
Dhruv29 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2019, 18:25   #52

Infractions: 0/1 (99)

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
The ground clearance in practise is better than the E - LWB though in exact mm it is probably the same. The difference coming from the longer wheel base of the E. We scrape badly made speed breakers about 3 to 5 times a year only when loosed with 4 pax. It almost never happens with only one or two pax. Hope this helps. All the best with your selection. I don't know about 6GT but the E and ES are both excellent cars. Our ES is now 30 months and about 35,000 kgs old.
Thanks a lot! This really helps. Of course we are smitten by the E but it is becoming more and more mainstream now and having lived in the US earlier, I know that the Lexus holds it's own when it comes to the Germans.

Considering we are not bhp crazy and are really wanting a good, supremely comfortable sedan, the ES is looking more and more good as a package. I personally covet it a lot and was already sold thanks to the Mark Levinson system, but others in my family don't really care!

Edit: looking at Dhruv29's post, it seems the GC is a big issue. I remember increasing the GC of our old Civic by upsizing the tires from 205/55 to 205/60 so the GC went up by almost 20mm.

Theoretically upsizing should be possible on the ES but the I'm not sure if there is enough space in the wheel well and what cost this would entail.

Last edited by reppy : 30th September 2019 at 18:32.
Old 30th September 2019, 18:38   #53

Thanks a lot! This really helps. Of course we are smitten by the E but it is becoming more and more mainstream now and having lived in the US earlier, I know that the Lexus holds it's own when it comes to the Germans.

Considering we are not bhp crazy and are really wanting a good, supremely comfortable sedan, the ES is looking more and more good as a package. I personally covet it a lot
In terms of reliability and absolutely first class ASS I would give Lexus high marks. I didn't go for a Merc as too many of my employees had given exasperated feedback on its ASS, hydro locking and frequent breakdowns. This was the previous E not the one the current one.

Edit: looking at Dhruv29's post, it seems the GC is a big issue. I remember increasing the GC of our old Civic by upsizing the tires from 205/55 to 205/60 so the GC went up by almost 20mm.
Both experiences are correct. It is also a function of driving styles.

My owner's review over a 2+ year period is here:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...km-update.html

Best of luck with your purchase decision.
V.Narayan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2019, 19:00   #54

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
In terms of reliability and absolutely first class ASS I would give Lexus high marks. I didn't go for a Merc as too many of my employees had given exasperated feedback on its ASS, hydro locking and frequent breakdowns. This was the previous E not the one the current one.

+1, these guys ruin you for other brand's A.S.S and reliability. The procedures and protocol they follow during servicing is much better than Mercedes A.S.S, they'll return the car next day even for normal oil change. Where as the turn around time for ES is 3-4 hours. We can say that this is due to lesser number of Lexus on road but they just operate out of 2-3 service lifts in the service center.

ES is truly fill it, shut it, forget it type of car. The brake pads and discs will at least last for 40,000 km due to regen braking by the hybrid motor. Even if there is a need to replace the pads, they'll only cost around 10,000 for both front and back.
Dhruv29 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2019, 21:34   #55

Originally Posted by Dhruv29 View Post

Requirements:
1. Capacitor powered
2. Dual channel
3. Wi-Fi feature for ease of data access.

After researching a lot on Team-BHP and dashcam forums, i placed order for Viofo-A129 Duo on Aliexpress. It had all the features i needed and was quite VFM. The package arrived in a little over a month as it was retained by Customs for some reason. Thankfully, i was not charged any duty.
Congrats on the lovely car. One of my aspirations.

Looks like the entire fitment was done as DIY. Hope its as easy as you explained. Did you get the rear camera connecting wire as part of the package?. Also did you get the polarising lens cover as part of the package?. Checked in aliexpress. Price looks to be reasonable compared to Amazon. Planning to order one. Hence checking. Thanks
Karvel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2019, 21:48   #56

Originally Posted by Karvel View Post
Did you get the rear camera connecting wire as part of the package?. Also did you get the polarising lens cover as part of the package?.
Thank you!
The wire was part of the package. It値l come along if you値l select the dual channel camera. You値l have to buy the polarising lens cover separate from the camera. I was satisfied with video quality without the lens so i didn稚 order one.
Old 14th December 2019, 22:26   #57

30,000km update:
The ES has covered 30,000km so it was time for its periodic 10,000km service. Just as last time, i took car to MGF Peeragarhi for the service. I had to revert back to old suspension setup because the taller bumpstops which i got installed on the previous service schedule limited the travel of suspension quite a bit. The front of end of the car used to rebound quite strongly on plastic speed breakers and uneven joints.
Total bill came out to be Rs 31,008, which included optional interior enrichment for around Rs 6,000. Nothing more to report on the car. It’s been dead reliable.

Last edited by Dhruv29 : 14th December 2019 at 22:33. Reason: Punctuation
Dhruv29 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2019, 16:38   #58

Tire Upsize:
All the 4 tires of my car were due for replacement as the tread was nearing to wear indicator.
Few months back, one of the tire was destroyed by Petrol Pump puncture repair shop due to intentional sabotage by poking 4 hole in the inner sidewall. I got it repaired and changed it with the stepney for the time being.
Yesterday, one of the tire suffered side wall tear due to impact with a sharp pothole.
Driven: Lexus ES 300h-ce3a4fce00fc459d9ba89ee1084bf2fd.jpeg
I had to change it with stepney, and guess what? The stepney was leaking air due to punctures in sidewall. It was maintaining pressure in the boot, but the seals were not holding pressure under the weight of the car. Also, one of tire had gouged sidewall.
So that made 3 out 5 tires damaged or unsafe.
It’s well documented in the forum that Lexus ES suffers from low GC, and frequently scrapes over speed bumps.
Instead of 235/45 R18 which is the OEM size, I upsized to 235/50 R18.
Using the formula “Width x Height/100” we can determine the actual sidewall height.
235/45 gave me sidewall height of: 105.75 mm
235/50 gave me sidewall height of: 117.5 mm
That’s a healthy increase of approx 1.2 cm. The variation is above 3% but it doesn’t affect the behaviour of car as such. Instead, now the ride is cushier and the suspension is able to absorb road joints and bumps really well. I’m happy with the change.
For the tires, i had the option of Pirelli Scorpion Verde and P-Zero, and for Michelin i had the option for P4ST.
The Pirelli Scorpion was priced at Rs. 17,500 and P-zero was Rs. 15,000 without bill and warranty (Grey market)
I went with Michelin Primacy 4ST which costed Rs. 20,000 per piece (with bill and warranty).
For now, i got 4 tires changed.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-f24cacc8fe4848db9fefda14cb48f25c.jpeg

Later on, i took the car in a empty parking lot and made high speed U-Turn to see if there was any rubbing due to upsize but there wasn’t any.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-d35cadaa5a614737816149bf58d9b956.jpeg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-15df762226534029a94e59871ae45a09.jpeg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-2f33ce52d05b42b9bba0d0ae47a1d259.jpeg

Last edited by Dhruv29 : 23rd December 2019 at 16:54.
Dhruv29 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 8th February 2020, 23:17   #59

So, got the car back from the service center after 9 days.
The work done on the car were as follows:
1. Excessive noise and movement in Indicator Stalk
- Made a video and sent for warranty replacement approval from Lexus.
2. Front Left Suspension Squeak
- Was traced to cowl top, but noise again appeared after bringing the car back home. Will send it later for detailed inspection.
3. Rattles from Screen and Center console
- Removed the panels and installed them with NVH tape.
4. Sunroof Noise
- Well, this turned out to be a biggie. The noise was supposedly fixed on 6th day. But after my drive, i found it the same as it was before. Had to give car back for additional inspection. All in all, the roof liner had to be removed twice. The second time, the noise was traced to joint between roof sheet metal and B pillar. It was fixed after removing sunroof assembly and filling the joint with foam filler which hardens after being sprayed.
5. Rear Door Creak:
It was fixed after removing the panels and reinstalling the wood trim with NVH tape in between.
6. Rear Suspension Noise
This was fixed in second round. It was eliminated after greasing anti roll bar bushing and rear shock absorber bump stops.
7. Driver Seat Frame Movement:
Made a video and is sent to Lexus India for warranty approval.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-c1829fedd8d047cab8328cefb12d7e51.jpeg

Today, i noticed panel gap between front door and rear door shut line. It wasn’t there before as far as i can think. Because I’m extremely conscious about paintwork. But also there is no damage to door at all. Maybe the door sagged after sometime on its own. Whatever might be the reason, I’ll get it fixed.

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-557dbef1d61b439bba499f10d26729cc.jpeg

Driven: Lexus ES 300h-5fda139a3c6e4bc0a40b122148718772.jpeg
Curiously, i was charged 25,000 for fixing the car. It was like they are asking me to pay to fix their own product which shouldn’t be broken in the first place! I refused to pay the amount. Later on they reduced the charge to 9,000. I paid the amount but I’ve written a mail to Lexus India regarding this.

Last edited by Dhruv29 : 8th February 2020 at 23:18.
Dhruv29 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2020, 23:26   #60

Originally Posted by Dhruv29 View Post
Today, i noticed panel gap between front door and rear door shut line. It wasn稚 there before as far as i can think. Because I知 extremely conscious about paintwork. But also there is no damage to door at all. Maybe the door sagged after sometime on its own. Whatever might be the reason, I値l get it fixed.
Did you door rattling squeaking from this door? They might have adjusted the door catcher to stop rattling but now the gap is not correct. The door catch is adjustable and I'm sure this was not set correctly. This needs to be aligned to make sure the shut lines match up.
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ゥ2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com