Old 17th January 2007, 21:31   #16

Thanx BUSA!! for the XL pics!.I'd like to see pics of the redesigned Indica hatch too!...
Old 18th January 2007, 15:57   #17

No surprise. Busa'a again managed to get the exclusive review. thanks mate, i don think i would consider it after your review. besides i do feel tat maybe tata should have offered abs/airbags in an optional package, besides i don think that 175 rubber will be too grippy...

Last edited by Mp421b : 18th January 2007 at 15:59.
Old 18th January 2007, 16:54   #18

Hmmm....gets the mind thinking:

1. WHO is going to buy this car? At close to 8 lacs, its way over-priced for a stretched Indigo. Anyone spending that kind of money expects a certain level of quality, fit & finish, refinement and brand image.

2. So the major difference is legroom? Guess what - the standard Indigo already has tons of it. Its like Maruti taking out a 1 lac rupee dearer version of the Alto whose USP is more fuel efficiency.

Thanks BUSA for the detailed pictures. Somehow you always are amongst the first to get to new cars.
Old 18th January 2007, 17:04   #19

Good pictures BUSA. Was thinking of going and taking a look but now no hurry. You pictures do show the shortcoming of the car. I doubt it would be a big hit with the individual buyer but I feel some taxi operators might pick these up since its a diesel and the low cost of diesel helps. Some non five star hotel might also take a look.

Will certainly not touch the Hondas and Optras but it could be in a fight with the Accent GLE but only just

Last edited by Dippy : 18th January 2007 at 17:05.
Old 18th January 2007, 17:17   #20

Well I mostly agree with opinions of other members, just thinking if indigo xl works well for taxi operators (some kind of semi lux segment..)?
Old 19th January 2007, 12:51   #21

Checked out Indigo XL while on the way to office. Here are some of the observations:
  • External paint job is good as usual. Mirror indicators look classy (among only few other things in the car).
  • The car has lot of goodies thrown in. It has mobile/mobile charger, electronically controlled RVMs, separate a/c vents for rear seat, factory fitted kenwood DVD player with 2 LCD displays for rear seats, all leather seats, powered driver seats. I was not too impressed with leather seats though.
  • The driver seat has 6 way adjustments, all powered by motor (or hydraulic?), which is really cool.
  • The rear leg room is humongous. No, it exceeds even Mercs. I pulled back driver's seat to the limit and the rear leg-space was still more than I have seen in any car. The rear seat incline is much better and more comfortable. Not much lumbar support was there though. I think, rear seat incline is definitely more than standard Indigo. Should be comfortable for long drives.
  • I didn't go for test drive, but the gear shift appeared to be better than what I have experienced on Indigos. But, it is rather stupid to test gear shifts while car is stand still.
  • It wears 175/65 R14 82T shoes. (JK Tyres), which should be fine. Standard alloys look nice and classy.
  • Tata loses the plot sorely on bad plastics and finish. The gaps are uneven and plastics looks rather cheap for a supposedly luxury car.
  • Now the price:
    • On Road Petrol : 723027 (Pune), 716115 (PCMC)
    • On Road Dicor : 802537 (Pune), 794849 (PCMC).
If I am in the market, would I go for this car? If only I do not like to drive myself and enjoy chauffeur driven car on long drives. On price front, it cuts into NHC territory, but it would be tough to beat the likes of NHC.

Last edited by RX135 : 19th January 2007 at 12:55.
Old 19th January 2007, 13:11   #22

The car has lot of goodies thrown in. It has mobile/mobile charger, Tata loses the plot sorely on bad plastics and finish. The gaps are uneven and plastics looks rather cheap for a supposedly luxury car.
  • Now the price:
    • On Road Petrol : 723027 (Pune), 716115 (PCMC)
    • On Road Dicor : 802537 (Pune), 794849 (PCMC)
This has always been Tata's failing. They need to understand that a person buying a car worth 8 lacs is not in the same league who buys a Indica or Indigo. I really wonder why. I am sure the suppliers would be the same who supply to other makers.
Old 19th January 2007, 14:22   #23

The goodies have been thrown in for good measure, but even thats not enough to persuade Honda or Other midsize buyers from buying this thing.
Another point here is that why have they invested in powered front seat when the car is being projected as a chaeffur driven car. Doesnt makes sense to me, because omision of this particular feature would have certainly lowered the price considerably.
Old 20th January 2007, 00:07   #24

Originally Posted by Palio_2005 View Post
The car has lot of goodies thrown in. It has mobile/mobile charger, Tata loses the plot sorely on bad plastics and finish. The gaps are uneven and plastics looks rather cheap for a supposedly luxury car.
This has always been Tata's failing. They need to understand that a person buying a car worth 8 lacs is not in the same league who buys a Indica or Indigo. I really wonder why. I am sure the suppliers would be the same who supply to other makers.
I suppose the Tata Johnson supplies the plastic components to Tata Motors. It makes no sense to continue with the same dated poorly finshed design, if they were to price the car in this range.
Its understood they dint want to redesign it because of cost incurred by vendors on new moulds...But with the price increase they should have come up with a better design/finish and maybe also a climate control system and of course atleast ABS if not airbags..
Old 20th January 2007, 06:22   #25

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
The goodies have been thrown in for good measure, but even thats not enough to persuade Honda or Other midsize buyers from buying this thing.
Another point here is that why have they invested in powered front seat when the car is being projected as a chaeffur driven car. Doesnt makes sense to me, because omision of this particular feature would have certainly lowered the price considerably.

They seem to have lost focus a bit from their cheauffer driven car theme...
Old 20th January 2007, 12:45   #26

I suppose these cars will remain unsold and will be available later with good discounts. Hopefully at much more realistic rates.

Not worth buying at these prices, goodies not withstanding.
Old 20th January 2007, 19:24   #27

Pics of the Indigo XL.Thanx to a cousin, who says the legroom in the rear is fantastic!.I believe the car will sell. A limo on the cheap for fleet operators.

Old 20th January 2007, 19:29   #28

Some more pics of the Indigo XL...

Old 24th January 2007, 10:02   #29

Just test drove the Indigo XL.
The Good points:
1) The rear seat angle and rear leg space is very, very good. I can sit with a leg over the other leg with total ease. Its even more than an Accord.
2) The leather is great and brightens up the car.
3) The power front seats work very well and very smoothly. Helps in getting your driving position spot on.
4) The power delivery is linear.
5)The Nokia phone set up is good and works well.
6) The mileage looks set to improve. Drove this car for about 150km and thought it might be in the region of 15kmpl.
7) The airconditioning is excellent.
8) The DVD player, sound and screens are quite decent.

The bad points
1) the quality of plastics seem quite iffy. The snack tray felt like it would break off anytime.
2) The nokia system is corded and not bluetooth.
3) The engine sounds coarse and intrusive. The sound is actually more intrusive than on my Dicor.

Would I buy it for 8 lakhs? No!.
Would I recommend the car to people? Well this car is for the cost conscious person who wants his comfort and does not want to pay the moon for it and is willing to make some compromises.

I do however have to mention again that the leg room in the rear is fabulous. You need to see and experience the rear seat to know what I mean!

Last edited by jyobeb : 24th January 2007 at 10:13.
jyobeb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2007, 10:16   #30

good review there..Is the engine torqueier ?? is it good to drive in the city?? what abt the ride quality??

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com